We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel with very helpful and friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Puri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Puri
Ranked #11 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming hotel with very helpful and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at hotel Puri at the beginning of our 3 week holiday in Malaysia and it was a great start. Located in the Chinese quarter of the town the hotel is in a beautiful traditional house and is really attractively decorated with traditional furniture. The rooms are spacious and simply furnished. There is a beautiful garden to sit and relax in - we had a drink and played cards in there several nights. The staff are SO helpful and looked after us like VIPs - even teaching us some of the language. If you have the time and a bit of spare cash use the spare - my daughter and I had the best massage We have ever had in there - magic hands indeed! Lots of good places to eat within walking distance and the most beautiful Chinese temple we saw in the whole of our time here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    577
    187
    40
    17
See reviews for
285
444
80
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Excellent location, amazing decor, beautiful lobby. Good service. Rooms are very standard and basic. Breakfast ok. Worth staying her for the rest and location. I would recommend it. Easy to walk to main attractions.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This hotel is located on a road that is parallel to the famous Jonker Street market and is close to lots of interesting restaurants and watering holes.

It looks small from the front but the layout of the hotel will surprise you when you walk in and explore. The rooms are small, yet functional and clean. There is complimentary in-room coffee & tea and mineral water. Do note that some rooms may experience noise from the nearby pubs but mine was on the 3rd floor and I didn't hear anything. There is free wifi for guests in the hotel and the lobby has 2 iMacs for public use. The staff are friendly and courteous.

The hotel also has a spa as well as a small display room showcasing Melaka's rich heritage and history. The public areas of the hotel are peppered with antiques and provide great photo opportunities. Beware that there are resident swallows (birds) that nest on the ceilings which gives it a unique ambiance.

Breakfast is served in an open air area which is really nice in the mornings (when there is no rain).

Getting to the other attractions in Melaka is just a short walk away. Love the location!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ihawk98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Perfectly situated, near the animated streets. Large rooms, wonderful spa. Great food, nice buffet breakfast. Charming hotel decoration as it is in an old chinese house. The prices are VERY reasonable.

Room Tip: High room, big bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MEM2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

I am frequent traveler to Malacca. I have heard so much about the traditional Baba-Nyonya house that i wanted to try one of these days. Finally in April, 4 of us stayed in a quad room, i am not excited at all. Well, room is clean but that's it. we didn't expect 2 queen sized beds, i guess we have overlook when we book the room. the lobby looks much better than the room. Breakfast was included, but i'm not a big fan of hotel buffet breakfast, it's okay to start to start off the day. The street food outside the hotel, is always more exciting and delicious.

For those who drive, they do have 3 private parking down the road. Location is GREAT as it is just next to jonker street.

Will i come back again? no, it's just to fulfill my curiosity of staying in a Baba-Nyonya house.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geektravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Located in historic Chinatown, this hotel offered excellent accommodation in traditional Baba-Nyonya house. The room I stayed was clean. The house was taller than surrounding properties and people had good view on the neighbourhood from windows on its top floor. Reception and house keepers were helpful and the service was also brilliant. Breakfast was included and it was a buffet breakfast with common food of British breakfast. In addition, Chinese porridge, several kinds of cakes, and some more were also available.

The disadvantage is its proximity to old town square. It was about 15-20 minutes walk from old town square where town buses from Melaka Bus Station dropped people off. The road to the hotel was actually not wide, and without pedestrian. It means people had to share a narrow road with motor-vehicles.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weeburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great hotel ideally located for exploring the old part of Melaka. Efficient, friendly staff, clean rooms and extensive breakfast. A word of warning about eating places in Melaka (especially during the month of Ramadan) - Monday to Thursday, restaurants can close early at totally unpredictable times - Friday to Sunday they tend to stay open later.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#5 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
0.8 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#9 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Property: Hotel Puri
Address: Hotel Puri Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade & the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing