We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not sure which hotel everyone else stayed at?!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Puri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Puri
Ranked #11 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not sure which hotel everyone else stayed at?!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Puri on Saturday night in room 316 and experienced a thoroughly average stay. Am aware that this is only a budget hotel however I have stayed at backpackers of better quality!

My major bug bears were:
1. Paper thin walls. Be prepared to hear everything your neighbour is doing - shower, tv, conversation... and also the maintenance carried out in the hallway at 7 on a Sunday morning.
2. Terrible bed.
3. Security - we arrived at 2pm, before the stated 3pm check in time. We had no problem leaving our bags in storage however I did feel some concern at leaving them in the main lobby. When we returned at 6.30pm, these were the only two bags sitting by themselves in the lobby and it would be very easy for someone to pick up. Surely there could be a storage room?
4. Disorganised front desk and not overly friendly.
5. As others have said, be prepared for the stairs - wasn't bad for us but worth noting.
6. The communal areas present much better than the rooms.
7. Very very very dated decor in the rooms.
8. Because of the haze, which was in turn regurgitated through the air con (not Puri's fault mind you), we slept without the air con on. However I was attacked by mosquitos through the night (no windows open) and woke in the middle of the night with 10+ bites.
9. Poor wifi coverage

What we did like:
1. Breakfast spread decent for the price
2. The communal areas are charming and quaint
3. Map handouts for food and tourist attraction recommendations
4. Great location parallel to Jonker Street

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwimeerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    577
    187
    40
    17
See reviews for
285
444
80
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Clare, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Hotel Puri is a big concern - its small entrance is not indicative of its 70+ rooms, spa & numerous lovely courtyards. I didn' realise how big the hotel is; group tours will stay here (as a group did during my stay recently). I probably would've preferred a smaller establishment but I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there. I booked a deluxe double room which was roomy. Came with bar fridge, complimentary bottled water, tea/coffee making facilities, TV & a/c - the ensuite was equally roomy & it came with a swag of complimentary toiletries. Wifi was readily available in my room (115). Breakfast was a bit of a bunfight as there were so many guests (happened to be a weekend & Malaysian school hols) - I felt that the staff weren't coping with replenishing the breakfast buffet supplies. There were children staying on my floor & their excited chatter & running footsteps could easily be heard but I will admit that my husband & I had a good night's sleep for each of the 3 nights that we stayed. Generous buffet of Malaysian & western food. The hotel is located on Heeren St which is parallel to Jonker St & its famous night market on Fri, Sat & Sun. Close to all the tourist sights of Malacca's Chinatown & recommended eateries. And a do-able walk to Mahkota Shopping Mall. The reception staff were courteous & helpful. Highly recommended if you don't mind staying at a large hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernvale
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Sweetest little hotel in a beautifully restored old house. My husband and I purchased a Golf Package ( so he could play golf!) and I availed myself of a lovely spa session instead. On his return from a golf game on a course next to where monkeys live, it was obvious he had been smoking. His story was that the monkey who took up residence on the golf buggy seat, and could not be removed, lit up cigarettes from his stash and insisted that my husband share a recreational cigarette with him. Only then did the monkey then depart!
Don't you just love a hotel where the staff are lovely, the boutiqueiness is apparent and lovely, and the memories of the stay are truly humorous and wonderful!
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

A very clean and unique hotel with the few baby swiftlets inside one of the hall and you could see mother bird come back from hunting food to feed the baby. The management also put out a part of Malaysia history in one of the room for visitor to read. To me this is very thoughtful 'coze they have put turn this valuable room into guest room to get extra money. From outside it look like a very ordinary motel but when i enter inside i have to ask the reception is it a hotel?. I love this hotel and i have enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank explor a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights and were really pleased with the Puri. Great value for money and only one street back from Jonker St - walk to attractions in the old part of town steeped with history. Plenty of restaurants close by. Little things like free local information available and morning news paper, good breakfast selection make it a nice place to stay. Front staff are helpful and take an interest in you.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kesub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This Peranakan style boutique hotel is located just at the back of Jonker street and yet away from the noise. shops are avail around during day time to satisfy your shopping needs. Do note that this location is far away (20-25mins walk) from the big shopping mall.

I gotten a superior double room while my friends gotten a standard room (apparently rooms are limited). Disappointing part is that I have a much smaller bathroom compared to a standard room! Room was nice though.

Would definitely choose to stay in such boutique hotel again when i am in Melaka.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower level room if you cannot climb the stairs as there is no lift avail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R_How
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
133 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Puri. It is a boutique hotel in a beautiful old Peranakan (mix of Chinese and Malay influence) house which is lovely from the outside and has a lot of nice features inside, including a garden and antique mother-of-pearl inlaid furniture. It is great to stay here because you really get to experience some of the culture of the area. We took a taxi from Melaka Sentral train station and the driver had no trouble finding the hotel.

The room was great. Our room was in the newer wing of the hotel, not in the old house part so it didn't have some of those features, but it was still quite nice. The air conditioner worked well, there were 2 free bottles of water in the mini fridge, and there is a large safe in the room. The room was spacious and clean. It was nice to have free wi-fi in the hotel. It always worked in the lobby and breakfast area, but was more intermittent in our room. There are computers that guests can use for free in the lobby too.

One of the best things about the hotel is the location (the other best thing being how cheap it is!). It is right off of Jonker Street so it is right near everything but is a bit quieter than being in the midst of Jonker St. It is within walking distance to everything you would want to see in Melaka, and a lot of great restaurants. We especially recommend Pak Putra (best chicken tandoori we've ever had, seriously) and Calanthe Art Cafe (try all of the flavors of Malaysian coffee and the food is good too), but there are tons of options.

The hotel breakfast is nice as well, offering a variety of dishes from eggs and fruit to laksa and other local specialties. The service at the hotel was great. One of the days, one of the ladies who worked at the hotel gave us free tickets to go see the swiftlet house, where they cultivate birds nests.

We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Melaka. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PoorestTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#5 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,370 reviews
0.8 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#9 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Property: Hotel Puri
Address: Hotel Puri Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade & the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing