We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, beyond expectations”
Review of Hotel Puri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Puri
Ranked #10 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, beyond expectations”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Arrived Friday midnight and stayed one night in Hotel Puri and one night at Baba House. The facade of Hotel Puri is very well maintained and breakfast had a better spread than other hotels in the area although seats were limited in the courtyard. Staff were helpful and knowledgable. Room
was however much smaller than the one we had in Baba House for the same price. It was basic but clean. Room isn't luxurious but suffice for a short stay. Overall value for money, especially since for location, service and the fact that u are staying in a heritage house, not just a normal hotel. We love the beautiful lobby and courtyard. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingGiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    602
    192
    42
    18
See reviews for
299
461
84
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I was introduced to the Hotel Puri by Malaysian friends from KL, and stayed a second time last weekend with my husband. It is a charming old building just off Jonkers Street, so a great location for exploring the old parts of the city on foot. Our experience with the staff was fantastic (I have seen reviews commenting otherwise). Breakfast was included and substantial (good choices for either western or Malaysian tastes). The spa is also a wonderful sanctuary, although I didn't find time to go this time around. Highly recommended for those who want a real Melaka experience rather than 5 star pampering.

Room Tip: no lift, so ask which floor your room is on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chipsmom54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My experience at the Hotel Puri: a very average room in an otherwise above-average hotel.

Hotel Puri has a lot going for it: the hotel lobby is beautiful, the location is terrific, and the staff is friendly and accommodating. Everything about this hotel would get a Very Good from me. But Superior Double we stayed in was average.

There was nothing wrong with it. The beds could have been firmer, the bathroom could have been better lit, the towels could have been softer. Totally clean. Totally adequate. I picked their lowest-price room, and I got what I paid for.

The rest of the hotel really was quaint, and the breakfast buffet was terrific. The selection combined the kind of breakfast food this Westerner was used to — eggs, potatoes, pastries — with Malay and Thai dishes, and the dining area was wonderfully well appointed. The staff was friendly and helpful.

The location is great — a quick walk to Jonker Street's restaurants and shops, but far enough away that the room was quiet. It's a terrific launching point for a walking tour of Melaka.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetbippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have stayed her a few times over the past 5 years. Obviously we love it as we keep going back. Lovely architecture, simple but comfortable rooms, and great location.
Reception is friendly, they also found a place for car to be parked for free. Great food and Jonkers walk nearby.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for one night. The breakfast is excellent for the price we paid for the hotel room. The only downside is that there is no lift so we had to carry our luggage up the stairs. I love the decor of the hotel. This hotel is very near jonker street. Jonker street is a good place for shopping and food.

Visit my blog (http://www.missvanillabeanz.com) for more details on my malacca trip!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

My third time at Hotel Puri in last eight years, I have seen this hotel changing over the years. The basic but charming boutique hotel that it was has turned, with addition every time of new wings and more and more rooms, into an accommodation-selling machine.

Today they have (I believe) more than 80 rooms the majority of which totally plain and charmless, to the point that I would agree with one of the previous reviewer this is not an history hotel but an average modern hotel with some historical features. Add that at rush hours, due to the crowd, the breakfast lounge looks like a canteen, with guests fighting for a sit and the staff clearing your place as soon as you step for a second out your chair, and the charmly-decorated peranakan lobby the departing area of a bus station, with people and luggage sitting everywhere.

We booked two weekend nights and first night we got a room which is probably as bad as it can possibly get at the hotel: aircon blowing straight on the bed made our night sleepless, noise from the kitchen next door kept us awake from the early morning hours. The next day they changed us to another room which, basic but functionally, worked out fine. The premium suite we were offered at a surcharge was a total nonsense for the price. Breakfast boring and average at best. Location is probably as good as it can get in Melaka, in a quite block one street off Jonker street, no doubt excellent from this standpoint.

Under a certain perspective Hotel Puri is victim of their own success. Still one of the most popular hotels in Chinatown Melaka, still good enough but, unfortunately, become in the facts an average 3-star room-selling machine. We will probably look somewhere else next time in Melaka.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdilieto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toensberg
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A very special place: a beautifully restored 200 years old Peranakan house! The rooms were newer though, and very comfortable. Good beds, aircon, tv, fridge, equipment for coffee-making, a shining white bathroom attached. Everything spotless and clean.
Add a helpfull and friendly staff and a good breakfast in a garden atrium - what more can you wish? (Oh - and the price was reasonable too!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 166 in Melaka
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,325 reviews
0.8 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#9 of 166 in Melaka
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Property: Hotel Puri
Address: Hotel Puri Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melaka
#6 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade & the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing