We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,423)
Filter reviews
1,423 results
Traveler rating
403
706
234
51
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
403
706
234
51
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small museum jonker street boutique hotel standard room location is great the river christ church cafe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
687 - 692 of 1,423 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Booked the Heliconia Suite, room's not too clean especially the bathroom, spotted a couple of dead spiders and cockroaches on the floor and bath tub. Perhaps room was seldom cleaned because not many people stay in it?

Breakfast provided with the room was quite average, ambience wise is very quaint, outdoor area reminds me of the 60s.

Spa experience in this hotel is the only highlight, five stars on that.

Location is right good, right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of Malacca's famous Jonker Street (one street back). It can get noisy at night for this room as it is facing the main road, with the occasional trishaw with their super loud blaring music riding by.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zicron
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel surroundings esp its lobby and cafe area maintained its rich peranakan cultural heritage on its architecture and decorations. The rooms itself were pretty simple but clean and decent. Breakfast provided by the hotel were so so.

There are a number of coffee shops, bakeries, food stalls and a couple of bars etc in the nearby area of Jonker Walk, some of which are open till midnight.

Date of stay: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xfelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Better than average, but nothing amazing - my family of 4 just stayed here in 2 superior twin rooms. We really liked the feel of these renovated old buildings with a touch of history and within very easy walking distance to Jonkers Walk. The rooms are comfortable & clean & the breakfast was ok with a competent egg chef. The big let-down was the Galeri Cafe, which was truly awful. We decided to eat there 1 night for the convenience as my daughter wasn't feeling well enough to walk to anywhere. The place was empty & there was no atmosphere with excessive air-con, & service was lacklustre at best. We had tom yam soup, chicken curry, Melaka fried rice & spaghetti bolognese - none of which were good, total bill $87 (including 4 juices) the most expensive meal we'd had in Melaka, we would have been better getting takeaway chicken rice from Jonkers! Avoid Galeri Cafe & the rest of your stay at Hotel Puri will be pleasant enough.

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LennyA68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

There are over 485 reviews or more todate and most of them range from good to very good. That's good an indication you can get on the hotel.

Been here thrice over the years and my views remained unchanged - 'between good and very good'. However if you are prepared to shell out more to get junior suite or a duplex than a standard. For those whom commented fair to good, they are not wrong as i took a standard room in the old wing and the coffee table looks well worn/frayed. i have 3 persons and roll on bed was terrible as mattress was thin and make sleep uneasy.

The hotel has character but is not heritage as in hundred of yearshistory (except age of building) etc but with hotel over 20 years so some of the furniture are bound to be worn out except in new wing

Other comments: food - with cheap food in the next street, you find excuse to venture out next street and try local food.

Buffet breakfast : other than omelette or fried eggs the other dishes are nothing short of good eg fried noodles, sausages, beans, some sweets, cordial (masquarading as fruit juice), teh tarik (very sweet tea), weak coffee, some papaya. i reckon if you can money burn go to the next street and have local delicacies.

The location of the hotel is great, with Jonkers St next door, the Nyonya Museum 50 m up street, 150m to Stadhuy and river bank but having said that walking to the hotel on a narrow street, foreign visitors will the lack of footpath dicey but not to worry, the ongoing traffic would not make you a video game hit target.

Overall a better than average hotel in view of the charm, sufficiently clean.There are enough pixes here to give you an idea of what this hotel is like. what you pay is what you get. Have a good stay

Room tip: next to a few eateries
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Highadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This hotel is situated in the heart of the Chinese area, and if you come to Malacca this is where to be. Having said that we had the most expensive room and found it a little disappointing. It was a little dated but did have some nice furniture. The bathroom and shower were OK, but the whole did not seem to be enough for the price.
Breakfast was dull and a bit hectic in the numbers using the room....not a tranquil start to the day. The food was very Chinese....cant complain about that I suppose, but not hugely appealing.
Our airport car pre-arranged with the hotel did not arrive after 45 minutes so we took a taxi, could account for the frosty reception at the check in!
Great location but with new hotels opening you might do better.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews