We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with a History Room”
Review of Hotel Puri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Puri
Ranked #10 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hotel with a History Room”
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Was there for 2nights with family of ten (2 superior & 2 deluxe double room). It's a beautiful hotel with a history room. The check in was smooth although two of our four rooms was not ready upon check in at 3pm. Breakfast are simple. The room size of 1 of the deluxe room is similar to superior room, our feedback from the manager was that it due to the furniture in the deluxe room (antique/original furniture passed down for a few generation). The staff are generally helpful & friendly. Overall, had a good stay at Puri.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giantbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    608
    195
    42
    18
See reviews for
307
465
84
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Staines, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
683 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,771 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

A fantastic colonial Hotel close to all facitlities in Malacca. I have stayed here twice now, firstly as part of a group when we had rooms in the main hotel which were fantastic! Second time with family when we were in the new and more modern wing which was very pleasant but did not have the atmosphere. The staff were very helpful, recommending restaurants and places of interest.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the original building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SurreyGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We made a last minute decision to visit and called up for reservation, the receptionist was very helpful in taking reservation but feels a bit insecure to have to provide the credit card details over the phone...

They reserved the school nearby to extend their parking facility so that was great help especially in the busy strip of town. The common area was nice with lovely heritage decorations, and amazing garden. The pool (not for swimming) in one of the airwell is amazingly cooling for the house.

We had a room on 2nd floor, it was clean. Could have been helpful if there were more decorations in the room, after the lovely decorated common area. The wooden floor is a nice touch but over times you heard the door banging etc noise from the corridor or downstairs so the soundproofing was not that good.

Not all staff at the reception provide good service so its just a luck. Often the desk is empty as they seems to be hiding at the room behind, and they don't really greet the guest as they walk past. The concierge staffs are very helpful though.

In all, I would stay they for the convenient location and the historical common area decoration, but please don't expect great service.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top floors might leave you out with less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Got a good deal to stay with Hotel Puri in November with attach double bed & queen bed room for the family. We were really impress with the herritage architecture design of the boutique hotel.
every inch of the building were herritage...of all the antique furniture, setting & gardening were amazing. You may be supprise that we are sharing the hotel with the "swallows", by night you may see most swallow laying on them nets within the Lobby halls without interfere the guest.

It's rall value for money, as most herriatge you may find here at Puri Hotel and it's just walking distance to most happening night market(JOnker Streets) as well as near by place of interest/entertaiment areas/restaurants anything you name it, you may find it within distance reach.

If any of you lucky enough to meet Ms Joey(the house keeper) ...just approach her, she(always with the smiling face) will most happy to give you a hotel tour with her creative mind set to assist to snap a remembrance photo at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manwkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

A lovely colonial style hotel located only a few minutes walk from Jonker St. Room was comfortable and overlooked the internal courtyard. Breakfast was impressive and the atmosphere of the hotel was delightful.
Our BIG disappointment was the reception staff -pedantic and unhelpful when we arrived just after mid-day -yes we had to come back after 2pm to check-in. It would have been nice to have been acknowledged by the reception staff (just a greeting even!) at some stage on the numerous times we walked through the lobby over our two day stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenmkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The staff here were excellent. We were travelling with an infant who got sick in the middle of the night. When we asked for help finding a doctor late at night, they sorted it out immediately and without any fuss. They arranged a car to wait for us and called ahead to make all of the arrangements for us. Couldn't have been better.

The hotel itself is in a charming building in Chinatown. If you want to stay in this area, this place is a good bet but it has probably suffered from the same fate as the rest of Melaka's Chinatown in that it is something of a parody of itself. A biscuit tin version of a bustling old district.

That being said, the room was nice, the breakfast was great and there were pleasant courtyards for our little child to play around in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wigandgown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

There are many boutique hotels located in Jonker Street, but this hotel stands out from the rest because of the friendly services. The rooms are pretty standard & clean (nothing to shout about)but the lobby; the garden cafe; and the breakfast lounge are very impressive. And, I must say the breakfast is suprisingly good - a mini buffet set up (for the price you paid for the room that includes daily breakfast). Love the toasts and kueh kueh (savoury/dessert)! In general, the ambience of the hotel is beyond your expectations.Oh..try their SPA too! Additionally, it is just a stone throw away from the weekend markets (Fri-Sun)!

Room Tip: Rooms at the ground level and 1st level are cooler! By the way, there are no lifts in this hotel. 3r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BB2015LWT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 166 in Melaka
626 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 166 in Melaka
725 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,360 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Property: Hotel Puri
Address: Hotel Puri Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#7 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade & the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing