We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the location....”
Review of Hotel Puri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Puri
Ranked #11 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Right in the middle of Chinatown, which is the place to be here. We had the suite, and it's fabulous. I agree that there's no fancy service here, and some things are a tad basic, but it has good courtyards and its a relaxing escape in the centre of things.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

The only fault I can find with this hotel was the unfriendly older woman at reception. Maybe she was just having a bad day. All the other staff were lovely as was the hotel itself. We were on the third floor and were lucky enough to have a small balcony which was great for drying our clothes. The location is excellent and the rooms are very clean. The shower had excellent water pressure and the whole room was large and spacious.

Room Tip: If you can ask to look at the rooms before choosing one. We booked a delux room and were shown two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Nice boutique hotel. Room is small, simple and clean, no hotel fancy service. Can only accomodate 2 person. Fortunately we managed to get 2 connecting rooms for 2 adults and 3 children.
Price is reasonable which include breakfast. Breakfast is nice and good.
Nice environment within hotel to let us understand the history of the founder and penerankan culture.
Good location, walking distance to other major attractions in Malacca.
Only negative remarks - no elevator. So we have to carry out luggage up to the 3rd storey and down ourselves as the porter did not turn out after a long wait.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawnals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

It's a bit like staying at two different hotels here. You have the rather nicely done courtyards downstairs, with a lovely spot for breakfasts in the mornings and an interesting history room. There is also a little room where swallows make their nests - all very interesting and charming. However, once you ascend the staircase (six flights for us) the hotel changes markedly - nondescript rooms open off drab, dank hallways, and suddenly you have journeyed from an old-world shop house to a cheap, soulless chain hotel.

The hotel's branding as 'boutique' is quite misleading. This is a medium sized hotel instead. Our 'deluxe' room was disappointing. In this price bracket I don't expect five star luxury, but in a UNESCO Heritage City you'd think they'd take some pride in the history and culture of their hotel. Instead, the room lacked any of the little thoughtful touches that I have seen in so many other, similarly-priced restored houses. Furniture is drab and mismatched, functional but not stylish and certainly not in keeping with the potential here.

That said, the bed was comfy, the shower worked fine and the aircon kept the room cool. It's okay as a place to sleep.

We found service at the hotel mixed. The ladies who checked us in were surly and unwelcoming, not what you expect when you are paying good money to stay somewhere. When we queried why they had added a surcharge to our room bill, they were defensive and accusatory rather than explanatory (a public holiday surcharge and 'eve of holiday surcharge'). That said, one morning after the okay breakfast an older woman called Joginder approached us and offered us a wealth of information about the local area and sites. A 'Melaka girl', Joginder was a fountain of knowledge, warmth and personality. Look out for her!

Overall, it does the job if you need a bed to sleep in and the downstairs is quite nice, but the rooms leave quite a bit to be desired. It's also in an excellent location with Chinatown on the doorstep and good parking facilities.

Room Tip: Families with children, or those with mobility issues should request rooms on the lower floors as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrsExpat_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Location is great, facade and lobby beautiful, breakfast nice, but rooms (lots of them) in back are a al Motel 6, if that. No charm, no beauty, very basic. So, value depends on where you stay. If you get one of the few old rooms up front, fine, but not if you are stuck in the maze out back, which is probably 80% of the rooms, then the value shapely declines.

Room Tip: Request only one of the older section rooms. Don't just take what offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuzTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is one of those Baba Nyonya heritage buildings and it is like walking into a mini museum. But don't fret, although the facade looks a bit jaded, the rooms are very livable and reasonably priced. We stayed in the deluxe rooms which are bigger but if you are on tight budget, their standard rooms also have exact same stuff except for space! Ok, the plus points:
1) Location, location, location - perfect for tourist as Jonker's Walk is one street behind
2) Free wifi in all rooms and good speed wifi - one pulling factor for us as we were on business trip and need to work at night
3) Great buffet breakfast - give them 100 points for being so conscientious to change the menu on a daily basis...and it taste good too!!
4) Parking is free on both sides of the road but fm 6.00 pm to 8.00 am onwards. Hotel also provides free parking to its guests but a fair walk away.

Minus points:
1) Service is erratic - sometimes you will get a grumpy "auntie" who cannot be rushed...well it is Melaka after all...all done at their own pace!
2) Rooms are a bit tired but functionable - not really a super minus issue

All in all, a good place to stay for tourists but heck, they also caught us who are on working assignment...

Room Tip: Be sure to book early as getting rooms here could be a BIG problem during the weekends!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taipei101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Met at the door by friendly staff - had not booked but staff went out of the way to accommodate us. The hotel only had one vacancy for the two nights of our stay (in different rooms) but they cheerfully shuffled us between them. Because we had no choice we only got standard rooms but they and the linen were clean. Lovely, serene and cool public spaces with a couple of free computers for Internet browsing - placed quite high with no seats which made sure people didn't have lengthy sessions. Able to purchase basic cafe items in this area. Breakfast, both western and local cuisine was fine and the on site restaurant food (what we selected was limited) was also fine. We had a great couple of days here and the location is brilliant. Free off road car parking was very useful.

Room Tip: Book ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 168 in Melaka
647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 168 in Melaka
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 168 in Melaka
1,462 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 168 in Melaka
2,455 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 168 in Melaka
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Address: Hotel Puri Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#8 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: $39 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade & the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing