We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Facade; rooms in back "Motel 6"”
Review of Hotel Puri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Puri
Ranked #11 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Location is great, facade and lobby beautiful, breakfast nice, but rooms (lots of them) in back are a al Motel 6, if that. No charm, no beauty, very basic. So, value depends on where you stay. If you get one of the few old rooms up front, fine, but not if you are stuck in the maze out back, which is probably 80% of the rooms, then the value shapely declines.

Room Tip: Request only one of the older section rooms. Don't just take what offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuzTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

608 - 614 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is one of those Baba Nyonya heritage buildings and it is like walking into a mini museum. But don't fret, although the facade looks a bit jaded, the rooms are very livable and reasonably priced. We stayed in the deluxe rooms which are bigger but if you are on tight budget, their standard rooms also have exact same stuff except for space! Ok, the plus points:
1) Location, location, location - perfect for tourist as Jonker's Walk is one street behind
2) Free wifi in all rooms and good speed wifi - one pulling factor for us as we were on business trip and need to work at night
3) Great buffet breakfast - give them 100 points for being so conscientious to change the menu on a daily basis...and it taste good too!!
4) Parking is free on both sides of the road but fm 6.00 pm to 8.00 am onwards. Hotel also provides free parking to its guests but a fair walk away.

Minus points:
1) Service is erratic - sometimes you will get a grumpy "auntie" who cannot be rushed...well it is Melaka after all...all done at their own pace!
2) Rooms are a bit tired but functionable - not really a super minus issue

All in all, a good place to stay for tourists but heck, they also caught us who are on working assignment...

Room Tip: Be sure to book early as getting rooms here could be a BIG problem during the weekends!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taipei101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Met at the door by friendly staff - had not booked but staff went out of the way to accommodate us. The hotel only had one vacancy for the two nights of our stay (in different rooms) but they cheerfully shuffled us between them. Because we had no choice we only got standard rooms but they and the linen were clean. Lovely, serene and cool public spaces with a couple of free computers for Internet browsing - placed quite high with no seats which made sure people didn't have lengthy sessions. Able to purchase basic cafe items in this area. Breakfast, both western and local cuisine was fine and the on site restaurant food (what we selected was limited) was also fine. We had a great couple of days here and the location is brilliant. Free off road car parking was very useful.

Room Tip: Book ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

In September 2012, it is my first time to stay in hotel Puri. I was introduced by my sister. It is located just one street beside jonker street. A very crowded location and the carpark usually is full. But you need not to worry about it because, the hotel itself have it own private carpark so those customer with car can have a place to park. It is a very convenience location. Most important the hotel provide free WIFI ^^

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 10Kelly2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have always been fascinated with Melaka's history and melded culture so was delighted when I got the chance to stay over whilst i was staying with friends in KL.

I was looking for a one night only experience in Melaka to soak up the night markets atmosphere after having spent my Saturday cruising the historical sites and architecture. I had looked for a hotel prior to arrival but many places we're booked due to school holidays (same story all over the world!!).

I cruised the main streets in "downtown" Melaka and stumbled across Hotel Puri. I was staying on my own so price was a consideration. The foyer is spacious with many local images and artifacts. The ladies on the front desk were helpful, knowledgeable and very welcoming.

The room I chose was on the 2nd floor overlooking the courtyard near the Spa. All rooms have shutters as well as double glazing, air con etc The room had two single beds (all doubles/queens were taken). However the bed was roomy and comfortable as was the pillow,which is often where hotels overlook comfort! The basics were provided re kettle, iron, tv, hair dryer etc

Breakfast was included in the price. The breakfast was as expected- fruit, toast, western eggs and some Malayasian food like Nasi Lemak, all served up in a lovely open courtyard.
There are about 4 separate chill out areas in such a well designed small hotel - all courtyards a alfresco with fountains. I did not try the Spa but it looked lovely-maybe next time!

One of the unique aspects of the hotel Puri is its long term relationship with the local Swiftiets.
These tiny, delicate birds have been building (regurgitating) their nests for the past 15-20 years in Hotel Puri. They are nestled into the high walls and build their nests daily, to be harvested by the locals 3x a year. The hotel have never interrupted their pattern and has allowed them to become a very special and delicate attraction. Of course these are sold for birds nest soup - which is very expensive due to its supposed healing properties!

Hotel Puri is in a prime location for the night markets, walking over to the Dutch/Portuguese quarter and access to the river for a stroll. The town takes on a new identify at night with music and market mayhem everywhere including pensioner karaoke in the town square -something to be seen and heard!!!

My room cost approx $60 which is great value considering the interest and attraction of Melaka itself. I would recommend this hotel to All travellers, including families.

Ps. Don't miss out on a unique, sound blasting, color dazzling Trishaw experience- especially at night. Truly different!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our stay in this quaint hotel was pleasant. Our standard room is small with twin beds, the windows look into the inner courtyard garden. The bathroom was tiny but clean. Breakfast was simple and basic. The location is great, walk to the historic sites, interesting shops and the river walk in the evening is beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maclinksgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights here and found the location excellent. The hotel is situated in a beautiful restored house with many antique furnishings of a previous age. We had been told to expect service at the hotel to be poor; but were quite pleasantly surprised as hotel staff although not as friendly as in other Malaysian hotels we stayed in were perfectly pleasant and helpful.

Our room was on two levels; the bedroom being up open stairs and shower, toilet and wardrobe downstairs. Not the easiest configuration. Also, the shuttered windows from the bedroom only looked on to roof tops; and the downstairs shuttered windows looked on to the inside of the hotel so could not be opened. This felt very claustrophobic.

The breakfast was described to us as simple and simple it was. However, there were no adult cereals apart from cornflakes and no yoghurt other than sugary fruit ones. The tea was already made and was thick builders tea and the coffee not really drinkable. However, the egg station was good and there was a limited fresh fruit selection. The breakfast was set out in a beautiful courtyard and there was another courtyard offering light snacks and drinks in the evening.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel but with some reservation for the lack of windows and limited breakfast. However, the historic building made up for it if the stay is for no longer than a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows that do not just look out on to roof tops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerriekhowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 169 in Melaka
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 169 in Melaka
755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 169 in Melaka
1,538 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#14 of 169 in Melaka
2,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Address: Hotel Puri Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
#6 Spa Hotel in Melaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: $43 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade & the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing