We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Four nights at Hotel Puri”
Review of Hotel Puri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Puri
Ranked #11 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Four nights at Hotel Puri”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We chose the Puri as we wanted to stay in a heritage hotel in a central location - and we were not disappointed. It is a very attractive building, inside and out, and full of interesting Peranakan furniture. Since the extension, it has even more gardens and courtyards to enjoy.

Our Deluxe Room, on the top floor, was very quiet but a bit smaller than the website pictures, but had all the facilities as described and was comfortable and spotlessly clean, as was the rest of the hotel.

Breakfast was taken in one of the courtyards, a delightful setting. The buffet was not very exciting but the dishes were kept topped up and there was certainly plenty of food available.

The staff were all very pleasant, helpful and friendly, and everything was attended to without delay.

All in all, very good value for money, and yes, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aandlkch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    595
    190
    42
    18
See reviews for
293
456
84
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I am now lying on my bed in my room at Hotel Puri Melaka. It is in a restored 1822 home of rich Chinese businessman and philanthropist and is chock a block full of antiques and paintings and gardens and fountains and courtyards and marble and tiled reception and public areas. We are on the third floor in the more modern wing of the hotel, but the first floor public areas are like living in a museum and a spa and a botanical garden all rolled into one. The hotel is located right in the heart of this Unesco World Heritage City on one of the oldest streets in the settlement. At one time it was called Millionaire’s row and most of the old mansions are still standing and are being restored. There are restaurants, clubs, a night market, an area of shops that are reportedly an antique hunter’s dream come true, Chinese and Indian Temples, mosques, old forts, old churches, and old municipal buildings.

Our room is nice and clean, the bed is large and comfortable, the bathroom is clean and everything works. We even have a room safe and a minifridge and a kettle. Just like uptown! Breakfast is included.

I love this hotel. I love all the gorgeous interior courtyards and gardens, I love the swallows that have built nests in one of the museum rooms, I love all the old wooden shutters and the mosaic tiled floors. If you get a chance, check out the pictures. I was pleasantly surprised to find that the included breakfast was a very large buffet with lots of fresh fruit and yogurt (my favorite) and for those who wished, an omelet station, real coffee with real milk, fruit juices, a number of sweets and pastries, and a nice variety of western and local main dishes. Even better was the location in one of the beautiful courtyards. Each day we had a wonderful and relaxing breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissKimBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I left my macbook pro charger in their room on 16th May, they called me up and offer me to mail my lost item back to my house in Kuala Lumpur.
Now THAT is service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jasonsheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This is a stunning old shop house which has been beautifully restored with lots of love...The taxi driver told us only white people stay here??/ so what maybe us white people have good taste!!! this hotel is exceptional...from the amazing brekky to the little swallows in the history room.We were told that the swallows return because of the harmony in the house and thats exactly how we felt too....in total harmony with the house...it is just lovely.
What a perfect place to stay in such a perfectly beautiful city as Melaka.
We expect to only stay here in the future if we are ever lucky enough to stay in Melaka again.
Is perfect in every way!!!!
We thought of upgrading after reading the reviews but our superior room was perfectly adequate and also extremely moderately priced....loved everything about it!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank love2cookandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The hotel is charming, although the front looks small, it goes back quite a way, with serveral garden courtyard areas. The ground floor has charm. The rooms are simple and plain and not decorated in the peranakan style. There was an empty fridge (a couple of bottles of water only) that we could put our fruit and own drinks into. Bathroom, basic but clean and looked reasonably new.
It's in a fantastic location as others have said. Breakfast was basic but enough, cereal, and an egg station. The were some noodles, sausages, fruit, and a few other things. There was freshly made Teh Tarik which made my day!
I would recommend this place as a clean, affordable and well positioned hotel. I was on a "girls trip" however if I had brought my husband I may choose somewhere else where the rooms have more atmosphere and decoration.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orchidgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We drove there up from Singapore so parking was quite needed, especially since the road it was situated at, was a 1-way street with parking on both sides.

A valet met us at the door, and quite quickly, whizzed the car into the next block a mere few minutes away, it's a closed door guarded car park so that was quite a comfort.

Check in was quick, and the hotel interior decor and service was slow paced, but not inefficient. THey got us checked in quite quickly, and its decor was quite relaxing, more of a pernankan feel. Lobby was un-air conditioned, but fans kept the place cool, chairs were available and the general feel was quite laid back. A bit of contradiction at the start of the paragraph, so to clarify, the service staff were relaxed, and hence, timing wise is slightly slower than another establishment, but when they got to you, you were their 100% focus, which got you in quickly even though there was a queue.

Room was clean, but features wise it's rather limited. Fridge wasn't cold, but not really a problem. Showers and facilities, were somewhat old, but functionary. Not really a problem as after all, it's a boutique hotel. Rooms were dimly lit, and view was overlooking a back alley. For the price, it was actually quite a worthwhile balance.

Location would be this hotel's key selling point, it really is just a few minutes (< 10 minutes for a leisurely pace) from the night markets and shop houses of Malaca fame. To the shopping mall, should you wish to go, a cab ride would cost under RM10. So all in all location-wise, it's pretty convenient for a centralized hotel without the noise.

Amenities wise, nothing really much, I don't remember any pool/gyps or stuff like that, so I can't comment there.

All in all, for the price of the hotel, it's location and spaciousness of rooms would more than suffice if you're planning to spend more time on the shopping strips. Otherwise, this may not be suitable as it's more of a clean room to rest, than a place to spend your entire day.

Room Tip: Try to book from Fri-Sun, as there are night markets along the streets on these nights. Rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trader7891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

What a little Gem this hotel is , don't be put off with the view from the outside it is like a Tardis.

A boutique hotel with lots of History lovely artifacts etc, very clean, good food excellent staff.

Anyone wanting a couple of nights in this busy place could not ask for anything better. Car Parking too and very very reasonable!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PendleWitchFence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 166 in Melaka
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 166 in Melaka
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,315 reviews
0.8 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#9 of 166 in Melaka
366 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Property: Hotel Puri
Address: Hotel Puri Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
#6 Family Hotel in Melaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade & the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing