We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Boutique Hotel in Jonker Street”
Review of Hotel Puri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Puri
Ranked #11 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night during a business trip. When we arrived at the front, the car jockey helped us to park our car. They do not have their own parking, so the jockey would park our car at the school parking area which is 5 minutes walk from the hotel. They would however take the car for you whenever you want to go out. No extra charges but it would be nice to tip them for the trouble.

We entered the lobby area and the decor was modern with traditional baba nyonya elements. They even have a mini museum behind the reception area next to the outdoor garden terrace. The hotel interior makes us feel like we are in a traditional baba nyoya building with modern facilities.

We stayed in a standard room, 2 single beds. The room was actually quite ok, worth the money. Bed was comfortable, good air-conditioning, and bathroom was clean. Breakfast was included, at the outdoor garden terrace. Buffet style, food was ok, considering the reasonable price we paid for the room + breakfast.

At night, we walked out of the hotel onto Jonker Street (about 5 minutes walk behind the hotel) and there is a night market selling traditional malacca food, clothing, crafts. We recommend you try their authentic nyonya food: otak-otak, pai tee and laksa which can be found at many food vendors at the night market. There is also a well-known chicken rice ball sold at the chung wah restaurant. It is about 15 minutes walk from the hotel.

We would definitely recommend our friends to stay here, as the hotel is located in jonker street, where it is lively at night (night market) and close to museums.

Room Tip: Go for the superior room instead of the standard room as it costs only RM20 extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank muddie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

647 - 653 of 1,238 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2012

Not a large hotel, which adds to the intimate feel of this good value Hotel. There are many surprises within the hotel itself! Historical and regional artifax festoon around the hotel give the feel of almost staying in a museum. There is a mixture of reactions from the staff, with some not too interested, and this is the only reason that I down-mark it from being excellent! I think this disinterest is a regional occurrence and is not too off-putting! The breakfasts offer good variety, and is offered as a buffet style. Rooms are well fitted out, with comfortable beds, and good facilities within the rooms, with en-suite being excellent! A lot of character in the hotel, the location results in some of the window views not offering the best views. It is located directly across from one of the most beautiful residences in Malaka. It is positioned well for access to near-bye places of interest. I enjoyed my stay here, a good base to access all the history of Malaka!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WakeyonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Melaka has transformed since my last visit and boutique hotels like this are one of the key reasons the city is definitely worth driving two hours from Kuala Lumpur for. (The food and shopping are the others.)

Puri, which means sanctuary, is on one of the world heritage city's oldest streets, formerly known as Heeren Street from the days of Dutch rule, The hotel is a thoughtful amalgamation of three historic `Peranakan' shop houses from the nineteenth century - redolent of the mixed Chinese-Malay culture of the time. Yet it has all mod cons, including free wi-fi and cable channels in your room in case you can't miss your football.

The staff were very helpful (I brought my parents, but note there are no lifts and the ground floor rooms have less character than the others) and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Letranger90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We had a weekend here in deluxe double with balcony overlooking the lovely gardened courtyards. Loved the authentic Straits Chinese furniture and history. Breakfast included some Baba Nyona delights. Only issue with the breakfast was the bread. It was thin-sliced supermarket bread. The front desk was friendly and efficient. I loved that it was in the heart of the historic Chinatown district of Melaka.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordiereid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I suggested my friends to make this place our stay for the weekend trip and we never regretted my recommendation.

Yes, it is a little steep on the rates (considering the selection of backpacker inns just around every corner of Jonker Street) but this is worth your money if you have that extra cash to spend. You are in Malacca and no better way to add to that experience by staying the Peranakan style. The exterior looks old but in a good way. The interior is well maintained and the staff are friendly. Location is not right at the heart of Jonker Street as it's sitting quite further inside. But this is perfect for me because we can get the peace we want during day and night, away from the hustle and bustle of the street market. Plus we sure can burn off some of those extra calories from those extra cravings when you're in this gastronomic town! It's not that far of a walk anyways.

I particularly like the little alfresco gardens where we can just chill out and enjoy a few cold drinks on a hot day. During the night, it's nice and quiet too. The breakfast area is also an open space and the spread is decent. They serve continental breakfast as well as some local cuisines like nasi lemak and porridge. We did not have any problems with the rooms at all. Everything was in order and the view out the window sure perks up our morning.

For those who have never been to a Peranakan house before (like myself), this will provide for an interesting experience. I was surprised at how much space it houses on the inside when its exterior seems to suggest just the complete contrary. For those who have never seen a bird's nest (those expensive delicacies usually consumed by the Chinese people), you may check it out in the room behind the reception desk. These birds are out during the day but you can watch them sleep in the evening. Their nests, which look like small saucers, are sitting on the higher walls of the room.

In summary, I would definitely come back here to stay and would certainly recommend this place for families, friends and couples. Hope this helps.

Room Tip: There is no elevator service running. So be sure to ask for lower level rooms if you prefer so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onefinesunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Clean, comfortable, spacious, quiet... I couldn't say much negativities in it
Though I'd say it is a bit pricey for what you get, the stay was more or less, hassle-free and satisfying!

The fact that it is in a bustling street adds plus points to it as it is in close proximity to many places ^^

They even had a good spread of choices in their breakfast buffet and not to mention, yummy food :)
It is a place to consider for me when I go back to Melaka again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

my husband and i had a stop over in Malacca from singapore to seremban just for night....we just wanted to have another night out of our home... ;)....
finding a room for the weekend was difficut...after walking in and out of almost all the hotels in jonkers...thank god we had one here in hotel puri....
Rooms was nice and authenthic...it feels very peranakan...
the bell boy (an elderly man actually) was very nice towards us...( i think he was the only one i felt was not biased in greeting the visitors)
breakfast was at the courtyard...ambience was great...
all the hotel gives a very malacca feel....it sits right in the heart of hostorical malacca....its in jonkers street...everything is just a walk away...
now for the cons:
i wished the hotel staffs have the courtesy to treat all visitors the same!!! more over we are MALAYSIANS and i don think we are any lesser than any foreigners....this attitude is the only thing i felt a little upset...
another things is the bath room was really small...my husband and i are both small sized and yet we felt it was a little cramped in the bathroom, even when we shower alone....wat more if together?! ;)

otherwise its at great location...nice place...i woukld return again...hoping the staffs are better behaved this time...

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manorekha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 168 in Melaka
655 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 168 in Melaka
745 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 168 in Melaka
1,488 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 168 in Melaka
2,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Address: Hotel Puri Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: $40 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade & the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing