We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little paradise in a street that's too small !”
Review of Hotel Puri

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Puri
Ranked #11 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Hotel Puri Melaka is a very cozy hotel in the centre of Melaka.
There is a warm welcome and the interiors are very beautiful and serene.

The rooms are standard, but they have everything you want for your stay in this historical city: comfortable beds and a clean bathroom with shower and toilet.

The hotel has a nice garden where you can talk with your friends/family and there is also an internetroom where you can use the internet. Besides this room there is also WiFi in the whole hotel.

Breakfast is included and there is a wide range of delicious morning-snacks.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3MTT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

726 - 732 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2011

Hotel Puri has a perfect location, in centre Chinatown. From the hotel different attractions and musea are easy to reach. Also the local market is so close, you only have to cross the street.

The hotel itself is very caracteristic and beautifully decorated and has a lot of facilities, like a lounge, café, garden etc.

The rooms were big and had a nice bathroom, big TV screen and very comfortable beds. Unfortunuately we got accompanied by soms bugs (a cockroach, salamander and a spider)

We also had some trouble with the locker, which did not work all the time, but the employees fixed the problem very fast.

I must say that it was a pleasant stay at the hotel, and going back to Melaca, it wil deffinitely be worth another visit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTT-team-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in Hotel Puri with a group of students. It is a nice hotel with a beautiful garden inside. Their breakfast was basic western and asian tastful food. They cleaned our room and we got clean towels everyday. For more information about Melaka and what to do, go to the reception. They have a lot of brochures on their desk and you can always ask the staff for some details.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brigiit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

The Puri Melakka hotel looks very small but it has more rooms then you would expect when you see the entrance. The service was good. Whenever you have questions they are happy to answer them. The rooms were pretty basic but the bathroom had a very good shower. The hotel has wifi which was also available in the rooms.
The hotel is located on the Heerenstreet, which is in the centre of Melakka. We had our breakfast included which was good. There was asian food but also western food.
They also had a nice garden in the hotel where you could order drinks and/or food.

Room Tip: The rooms that we have seen did not have any view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talithateam22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

Hotel Puri is located next to Jonker Street, which is the central location of all cultral attractions and food chains. the hotel is also located within 10 mins walking distantace to the 2 big shopping maill in Melacca. The car is safely and secured in an enclosed private carkpark. The hotel room is clean, However, there isn't any swimming pool facility.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khoo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This historic hotel has it all: friendly staff, good food, well maintained rooms (not too spacy, but with airco, t.v., safe and coffee/tea in the room) and even an indoor museum. Well, actually the whole hotel IS a museum. It is located in Chinatown, where you find restaurants, shops, temples and mosques. It takes about ten minutes to walk to the old historic center around the Stadthuys.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik_Utrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Hotel Puri is in Chinatown in Melaka and is a lovely, clean, well-kept boutique hotel in a great location. Although central, it was very quiet too. We loved Melaka and Chinatown in particular - so much so we extended our stay here. We'll hopefully be back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelEd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 168 in Melaka
647 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 168 in Melaka
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 168 in Melaka
1,462 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 168 in Melaka
2,455 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 168 in Melaka
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puri

Address: Hotel Puri Jalan Tun Tan Cheng Lock, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Melaka
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melaka
#8 Best Value Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: $39 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Puri 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Puri Melaka is a boutique hotel in the heart of the old city of Malacca. The hotel is a carefully restored Peranakan house which once belonged to the decendants of an eminent philanthropist and rubber plantation owner, Tan Kim Seng. Extending 100 metres long, its distinct characteristics are its beautiful and intricately decorated façade & the impressive length of the house. Retaining its old charm, Hotel Puri Melaka provides modern amenities to its hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Puri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Hotel Melaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing