We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Ranked #12 of 161 Hotels in Melaka
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
119 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Nice hotel, amazing staff, great location.
Room i got was a little rundown but had a great view and i just went to the pool most of the time i was in the hotel anyway.
Only negative is that they charge for everything! The internet is 40 ringit a day. That's crazy in Malaysia! Went to McDonalds opposite which has free wifi.
Also if you want to use the fitness club you have to pay 10 ringit. Maybe this is why it was always empty. The steam room and jacuzzi where filthy.
These should be included at this price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinginasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    741
    221
    58
    36
See reviews for
502
337
58
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

Above expectations, clean, well located, lovely rooms

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed there for a day & We really fell in LUV with this hotel!! Thank you very much that someone recommend us to stay in their premier room, which juz cost a bit more!! I tell you, you will be so pleased with their service, the rooms & everything!! Room is new & spacious! View is juz Superb!! Service is efficient too!!

Hmm, ok..., now for their bad points... 1) we ordered chendol as Chendol is a MUZ-Eat thing when you are in Melaka, the Chendol is juz average... if U really wanna eat this, go Jonker Street, which is near to the hotel too!! 2) they dun even hv any umbrellas to lend out when it rains!! BAD!! this is real Bad & really dampen our "Hotel Equatorial-Melaka" spirit, as it was raining really heavy, & I really mean very heavy!! I ran bk to the hotel (drenched) to ask if we could borrow any umbrellas as we have an elderly & a baby with us, but no luck at all!! In the end, we have to hide the baby under our clothes & the elderly ran bk to the hotel (almost slipped too). We had no choice, as we have to catch a plane that day itself (it was not raining when we left to do some last minute shopping). So, I hope the management of the hotel could look into it & provide some solutions.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolman7528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed here for 3d 2n, the hotel was rather close to Jonker Walk and Fort Famosa, which are THE must-sees when in Meleka. The pool was gorgeous and we spent lots of time reading here. The rooms were a bit disappointing, though. The furniture and wallpapers need a serious makeover. The TV was tiny and the toilet was badly stained. However if you are going to be out exploring all day, these things wouldn't really matter because what's more important is LOCATION. Hotel Equatorial is located where the museums and must sees are. Service at the breakfast buffet was top notch. I was impressed by the efficiency of the wait staff as they constantly came around to refill our coffee cups and clear our plates.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WJMSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

We stayed in one of the newly renovated Premier rooms. They are very nice, clean, comfortable. The hotel is in perfect location, in the old city and within walking distance to everywhere in town, including ChinaTown. No free wifi (incredible, considering the level - and price - of the hotel).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VaSb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Stayed here for two nights whilst driving up from Singapore to Penang. Used the Parking Service which was very efficient,. The car was parked up for us and then brought to the door on departure. The staff on Reception were polite and the room was ready even though we were a little early. The room was an adequate size for the three of us. We had to ask for the extra bed to be set up, and that was rather small for a teenager. The decor and furnishings were quite shabby although it was quite clean. One thing to note - the water is a brownish red colour, which can be quite off-putting, especially in the toilet, or when taking a bath.
The best thing about the Equatorial is its location, right in the centre of town and next to a modern mall complete with air - con, Starbucks and a Carrefours supermarket, in case you need a bit of respite from full-on Asia. Directly outside the hotel you can pick up a trishaw, for a fixed price of 40 MR for an hour's tour. These are absolutely fabulous - the owners seem to be in competition to decorate them in the most kitsch way possible. We took a ride at night, when they are lit up with fairy lights, and ours had a speaker with pop music blaring out. Careering round the streets of Melaka whilst being serenaded by Lady Ga-Ga was a truly memorable experience! The slight downside to the location was that our room overlooked a large school, and we were woken each morning at about 7am by the tannoy system blaring out information for the students arriving. No need for an alarm clock.
We booked the hotel through Simply Malaysia, who are brilliant, especially Danny who arranged our quite complicated itinerary and gave us excellent advice and support.
If you want a budget hotel for a short stay, the Equatorial is a good choice, but don't expect luxury.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

I stay at Hotel Equarotial Hotel in the middle of May 2010. Just a 3D2N short trip... Overall the hotel is quite clean with perfect location...

Once we stepped out from the hotel, right hand side is already a shopping mall (2 mins walk)... Alot of shopping mall around and a lot of eatery place as well...

This hotel is quite suitable for family with kids.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry_Tam78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.8 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#11 of 161 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 1,821 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 161 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 913 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 161 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#13 of 161 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 161 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#10 of 161 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Property: Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Address: Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 161 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Melaka, Hotel Equatorial Melaka is a 5-star international business hotel with 496 elegantly furnished guestrooms and suites offering stunning views of the Straits of Melaka and St. Paul's Hill, whilst providing our guests the most luxurious comfort and service. It is ideally located within a few minutes' walk from historical sites and trails, shopping complexes, night spots, financial institutions as well as the ever famous Jonker's Street - a haven for antique collectors and bargain hunters. Featuring guestrooms ranging from the modest Deluxe room to the Presidential Suite, the hotel rooms are tastefully furnished along elegant and contemporary designs. Each room features an ensuite bathroom, and comes equipped with a flat-screen television, mini-refrigerator, coffee & tea making facilities, in-room personal safe, IDD telephone line, individually controlled air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet access, hair dryer, cable channels and iron/ ironing board. Relax, take a swim, or simply keep in shape when you stay in Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Equinox Fitness Centre located on Level 3 offers state-of-the-art gym equipment and also includes a steam room, sauna, cold plunge pool and indoor Jacuzzi. Whereas, sun worshippers will appreciate a relaxing dip in the outdoor swimming pool located on Level 4, whilst the kids can enjoy the children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing