We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“not bad at all” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Ranked #12 of 165 Hotels in Melaka
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not bad at all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

The main feature of the Equatorial are big rooms with spacious bathrooms and the big pool.
We had a great breakfast there with wide choice of meals. Me and my hausband also took a massage at the hotel spa, it has been far too energic in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasna111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am glad that the service, room and hotel facility has met to your expectation. We certainly value your patronage and we look forward to your visit again soon.

Once again, our sincere appreciations to you for taking the time to provide us with your kind review.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    788
    239
    63
    37
See reviews for
541
368
59
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
selangor
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in deluxe room ..high floor with town view.. service is very friendly and fast check in and room is newly refurbished. Love it. Recommend. The hotel is situated next to few shopping malls but quite far from the famous Jonker street. I would recommend for family to travel in their own transportation. There are basement parking and is free for hotel guest. Local food can be found in walking distance. There a street with shops n local food restaurants.. so quite convenient.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank boo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am certainly very pleased that we have met to your expectation. We will always make every effort to provide the best level of service to all our guests.

Once again, our sincere appreciations to you for taking the time to provide us with your kind review.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel previously. It's nice, clean and the rooms are comfortable. It's just getting a little tired from use and could use some sprucing up. Restaurant had a nice breakfast buffet but not enough seating and crowded areas for service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I have taken a serious view on all your feedback and rest assured we will make every effort to improve on all the areas mentioned. We certainly look forward to welcome you back again to Hotel Equatorial Melaka. .

Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed April 2014. This hotel has many positives but it is not secure as we had both our locked suitcases stolen from the room as it was being cleaned. Anyone off the street can easily gain access to the room corridors via the lifts. Following this incident we were looked after well by the staff and were accompanied to the police station to help with the statement. They also offered us a free meal and were not charged for the room. That was appreciated but we would prefer to have our suitcases back.

Room Tip: The higher up ,the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.
After reading your review, firstly I would like to sincerely apologize again for the unfortunate incident that you have experienced during your stay with us.

This certainly was unusual and has never happen before. Security is paramount and we certainly do not take it for granted. We will make every effort to further step up our existing security procedures.

I do hope that this isolated incident encountered will not deter you from returning.
Once again, thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.

Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuantan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

I'm arrived at the hotel on 22nd April 2014 at 6:45pm from Kertih, Terengganu using the Kuantan-Segamat Highway. After 4 hours drove car, I felt so happy when the receptionist greet me with warm smile and address my name correctly.

She quickly check my booking by referring to my identity card and confirm all the details within split second. She also offered a complimentary baby-coat and prayer matt for our convenience.

That was a great check-in experience and it meet my expectation.

I follow one of the visitor advise in TripAdvisor by unload all my belonging at the entrance before proceed to car parking area at the underground of the hotel which was NO lift services. The bellboy did a great job!

When I enter the room 1201 at level 12, I'm being surprise with the specious room and a nice view of Melaka City. I feel happy went I saw my two kids and spouse smile happily. The room arrangement was good with king's bed, mini sofa set, tv.

At that night we had our dinner at Kopitiam Restaurant in Pahlawan Mall next to hotel building. It is just 3 minutes walking distance! The hotel was strategically located near with all attractive places.

Breakfast in the hotel was just a complimentary moment and similar like other hotel and nothing to surprise. Recommended if you are on business travel which have a tight schedule.

Dinner for my second night at Seri Nyonya Restaurant (at Level 3) was awesome. The ambiance, foods and services was great (read my details comment at restaurant review).

Hotel have full facilities with free WiFi service, gym, swimming pool, tennis court and other amenities.

Late check-out experience was easy and fast. The process was simplified by the bellboy services. Again, The bellboy did a great job!

In conclusion, my family very happy after 3 days 2 nights stay and we plan to come again on family vacation trip at the same hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank visitoradvise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am certainly very pleased that we have met to your expectation and we will always make every effort to provide the best level of service to all our guests.

Once again, our sincere appreciations to you for taking the time to provide us with your kind review.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel with only positives. Great location, walking distance to the historical sites. Opposite a shopping mall. Friendly staff. Perfect breakfast. Amazing pool. Very nice and clean rooms! This cocktail of ingredients should make this your hotel of choice when staying in Melaka.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank twofinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am glad that the room had met your expectations and the opportunity to experience friendly service from our staffs.

It is always very pleasing to receive compliments on our products and services. Rest assured we will continue to strive to always provide the best level of service.

Once again, thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

After arriving in the mouldy smelling lobby we arrived at the check in. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the location is great. That's where the positives end. The rooms are old, tired and don't look particularly clean. The bed sheets were stained, the water runs yellow (lovely!) and the walls are paper thin. The bed is hard and the construction over the road, although not the hotels fault is noisy so if you get a good nights sleep court yourself lucky. The hotel is not worth what we paid and we will not be staying here again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MartynNm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the time taken to post your review. I see that your stay was not all that flawless, I have taken a serious view on all your feedback and rest assured every effort will be made to improve where we have fallen short.

Once again, our sincere appreciation for taking the time to provide us with your kind review.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.8 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#11 of 165 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 165 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 165 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#13 of 165 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#8 of 165 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 165 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Property: Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Address: Jalan Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 165 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Melaka, Hotel Equatorial Melaka is a 5-star international business hotel with 496 elegantly furnished guestrooms and suites offering stunning views of the Straits of Melaka and St. Paul's Hill, whilst providing our guests the most luxurious comfort and service. It is ideally located within a few minutes' walk from historical sites and trails, shopping complexes, night spots, financial institutions as well as the ever famous Jonker's Street - a haven for antique collectors and bargain hunters. Featuring guestrooms ranging from the modest Deluxe room to the Presidential Suite, the hotel rooms are tastefully furnished along elegant and contemporary designs. Each room features an ensuite bathroom, and comes equipped with a flat-screen television, mini-refrigerator, coffee & tea making facilities, in-room personal safe, IDD telephone line, individually controlled air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet access, hair dryer, cable channels and iron/ ironing board. Relax, take a swim, or simply keep in shape when you stay in Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Equinox Fitness Centre located on Level 3 offers state-of-the-art gym equipment and also includes a steam room, sauna, cold plunge pool and indoor Jacuzzi. Whereas, sun worshippers will appreciate a relaxing dip in the outdoor swimming pool located on Level 4, whilst the kids can enjoy the children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing