We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Ranked #14 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend trip with family. Had 2 rooms with connecting door, seaview and pretty high floor. Definitely very good value for money.
I particularly loved the sofa cum bed at the window side. Great for relaxing and a very good view and also no extra bed needed. (Staff brought immediately additional blankets, etc.).
Location is a plus, next to shopping malls and a short walk from most major attractions of Melaka. I will be back ...

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nemoinkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

We sincerely thank you for your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

882 - 888 of 1,668 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

Quite a nice hotel & the room had a lovely balcony but not the best view as my room wasn't facing the road front. A lot of construction going on in Malacca but I didn't hear any noise, I just affects your view. Great swimming pool but note that females in Melacca cover up; I was the only grown woman in swimwear, nevermind a bikini! Great food offerings with restaurants & a 24/7 cafe but the bar was empty, although it was nice with friendly staff.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank Nuzza11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am glad that the service, room and hotel facility has met to your expectation. We certainly value your patronage and we look forward to your visit again soon.

Once again, our sincere appreciations to you for taking the time to provide us with your kind review.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Firstly, I choose this hotel because it was convenient since its location was a strategic place. However, this was the worst experience. There was a hair on the toilet bowl since we just entered our room, so it shows that they did not clean thoroughly for the toilet . Then, the overall room furnitures (bed,bedsheets)were not maintain. The toilet environment too was upsetting. At night, when we went to sleep, the air-conditioner were very loud and it disturb us. To conclude, what I experience staying in this hotel before this was not excellent as recently. The experience just upsets me and my expectations decline. Moreover, I brought my friends to stay there for their first time but it just upsets me.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonnymous83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

Cleanliness is certainly paramount and must be kept at its level best at all times and I have done a thorough review with my Executive Housekeeper on the cleanliness.

I have noted on your comments of the air condition and immediate action has been taken to address the issue.

I sincerely apologize that the stay was somewhat not flawless, rest assured we will make every effort to improve on our shortcomings and we certainly look forward to welcome you back again to Hotel Equatorial Melaka. .

Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The hotel was quite close to many shopping areas and had a good relaxing ambience. As I and my friends have come there on a bus tour, we reached much earlier than the usual check-in times. However, the friendly staff was able to arrange room maintenance earlier for our stay. The buffet breakfast was awesome with a huge variety of items to choose from, both western and local cuisine.

The one error they committed was to not provide the connecting rooms despite prior request. But overall, a good and affordable alternative to other properties in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Try checking the hotel prices online before booking a tour package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globe_trotterSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

I am pleased that you have experienced friendly and efficient service provided by our staffs and it is certainly pleasing to know that they have made every effort to ensure you had a pleasant and comfortable stay.

We certainly cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed towards end of December for 2 nights. Lobby seemed to be overrun by mainland tour groups most of times, yet the bellmen did their very best to lift the standard by calling the elevator for guests and generally being very helpful.
Room was a bit outdated and especially the bathroom seemed to have seen better times. Had breakfast on the first day, nothing exciting, service a bit slow.
Hotel is walking distance to everything there is to see in Melaka however if you feel lazy, do opt for those decorated cycle taxis available in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for higher levels to enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KL_Traveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and I am very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I have noted on your comments on the condition of the rooms. We are currently embarking on refurbishment of our rooms and other areas. Rest assured every effort will be made to improve.

Once again, our sincere appreciations to you for taking the time to provide us with your kind review. We look forward to welcome you back.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Value for money, Staff are friendly and helpful.

The lobby are comfortable and spacious for waiting for tour bus.

Walking distance to major attraction and mega mall.

However breakfast could be better and should have baby diaper changing room.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 00daniel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been enjoyable. I am glad that the service, room and hotel facility has met to your expectation. Rest assured every effort will be taken to improve further on our breakfast offerings.

We do actually have baby diaper changing room available which is located on the lobby level.

We certainly cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here during the peak Christmas period and yet the staff were cheerful, friendly and warm. The concierge team made us feel like we were returning home each day with their greeting and smiles

Special mention must go to Johnny, who seemed to be the F & B Manager. He and his team worked through the long breakfast queues very efficiently, always with a "good morning" and a smile. No frazzled nerves.

The breakfast spread was generous and we found the food very good. Almost everything we tried was worth the while.

The room was a typical 4-star hotel room but the bay window took the cake! The seat beneath it was large enough to sleep one, so no need to order an extra bed if you are a family of three! Our room looked out to the city. Quite breath taking as from that height, we could see the old part of Melaka merge in with the new. Quite fascinating.

The hotel is very conveniently located and within walking distance of The Stadthys, the museum row, the waterfront and the compulsory mall - massive Dataran Pahlawan. Good and cheap food abound in its food court if you get tired of hotel food or the numerous peranakan restaurant fare.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

I am pleased that you have experienced friendly and efficient service provided by our staffs and it is certainly pleasing to know that they have made every effort to ensure you had a pleasant and comfortable stay.

We certainly cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 168 in Melaka
2,474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 168 in Melaka
1,480 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 168 in Melaka
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 168 in Melaka
1,461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#16 of 168 in Melaka
869 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Address: Jalan Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $49 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Melaka, Hotel Equatorial Melaka is a 5-star international business hotel with 496 elegantly furnished guestrooms and suites offering stunning views of the Straits of Melaka and St. Paul's Hill, whilst providing our guests the most luxurious comfort and service. It is ideally located within a few minutes' walk from historical sites and trails, shopping complexes, night spots, financial institutions as well as the ever famous Jonker's Street - a haven for antique collectors and bargain hunters. Featuring guestrooms ranging from the modest Deluxe room to the Presidential Suite, the hotel rooms are tastefully furnished along elegant and contemporary designs. Each room features an ensuite bathroom, and comes equipped with a flat-screen television, mini-refrigerator, coffee & tea making facilities, in-room personal safe, IDD telephone line, individually controlled air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet access, hair dryer, cable channels and iron/ ironing board. Relax, take a swim, or simply keep in shape when you stay in Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Equinox Fitness Centre located on Level 3 offers state-of-the-art gym equipment and also includes a steam room, sauna, cold plunge pool and indoor Jacuzzi. Whereas, sun worshippers will appreciate a relaxing dip in the outdoor swimming pool located on Level 4, whilst the kids can enjoy the children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing