We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lowered my expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Ranked #13 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lowered my expectations”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Firstly, I choose this hotel because it was convenient since its location was a strategic place. However, this was the worst experience. There was a hair on the toilet bowl since we just entered our room, so it shows that they did not clean thoroughly for the toilet . Then, the overall room furnitures (bed,bedsheets)were not maintain. The toilet environment too was upsetting. At night, when we went to sleep, the air-conditioner were very loud and it disturb us. To conclude, what I experience staying in this hotel before this was not excellent as recently. The experience just upsets me and my expectations decline. Moreover, I brought my friends to stay there for their first time but it just upsets me.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonnymous83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

Cleanliness is certainly paramount and must be kept at its level best at all times and I have done a thorough review with my Executive Housekeeper on the cleanliness.

I have noted on your comments of the air condition and immediate action has been taken to address the issue.

I sincerely apologize that the stay was somewhat not flawless, rest assured we will make every effort to improve on our shortcomings and we certainly look forward to welcome you back again to Hotel Equatorial Melaka. .

Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    841
    271
    74
    43
See reviews for
607
404
66
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The hotel was quite close to many shopping areas and had a good relaxing ambience. As I and my friends have come there on a bus tour, we reached much earlier than the usual check-in times. However, the friendly staff was able to arrange room maintenance earlier for our stay. The buffet breakfast was awesome with a huge variety of items to choose from, both western and local cuisine.

The one error they committed was to not provide the connecting rooms despite prior request. But overall, a good and affordable alternative to other properties in the vicinity.

Room Tip: Try checking the hotel prices online before booking a tour package.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globe_trotterSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

I am pleased that you have experienced friendly and efficient service provided by our staffs and it is certainly pleasing to know that they have made every effort to ensure you had a pleasant and comfortable stay.

We certainly cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed towards end of December for 2 nights. Lobby seemed to be overrun by mainland tour groups most of times, yet the bellmen did their very best to lift the standard by calling the elevator for guests and generally being very helpful.
Room was a bit outdated and especially the bathroom seemed to have seen better times. Had breakfast on the first day, nothing exciting, service a bit slow.
Hotel is walking distance to everything there is to see in Melaka however if you feel lazy, do opt for those decorated cycle taxis available in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for higher levels to enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KL_Traveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and I am very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I have noted on your comments on the condition of the rooms. We are currently embarking on refurbishment of our rooms and other areas. Rest assured every effort will be made to improve.

Once again, our sincere appreciations to you for taking the time to provide us with your kind review. We look forward to welcome you back.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Value for money, Staff are friendly and helpful.

The lobby are comfortable and spacious for waiting for tour bus.

Walking distance to major attraction and mega mall.

However breakfast could be better and should have baby diaper changing room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 00daniel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been enjoyable. I am glad that the service, room and hotel facility has met to your expectation. Rest assured every effort will be taken to improve further on our breakfast offerings.

We do actually have baby diaper changing room available which is located on the lobby level.

We certainly cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here during the peak Christmas period and yet the staff were cheerful, friendly and warm. The concierge team made us feel like we were returning home each day with their greeting and smiles

Special mention must go to Johnny, who seemed to be the F & B Manager. He and his team worked through the long breakfast queues very efficiently, always with a "good morning" and a smile. No frazzled nerves.

The breakfast spread was generous and we found the food very good. Almost everything we tried was worth the while.

The room was a typical 4-star hotel room but the bay window took the cake! The seat beneath it was large enough to sleep one, so no need to order an extra bed if you are a family of three! Our room looked out to the city. Quite breath taking as from that height, we could see the old part of Melaka merge in with the new. Quite fascinating.

The hotel is very conveniently located and within walking distance of The Stadthys, the museum row, the waterfront and the compulsory mall - massive Dataran Pahlawan. Good and cheap food abound in its food court if you get tired of hotel food or the numerous peranakan restaurant fare.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

I am pleased that you have experienced friendly and efficient service provided by our staffs and it is certainly pleasing to know that they have made every effort to ensure you had a pleasant and comfortable stay.

We certainly cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My extended family and I stayed for two nights over the Christmas 2013 weekend. It is our hotel of choice whenever we are in Melaka as the property is generally clean and the location is good.

Although the hotel was filled to the brim, checking in and out was smooth.

Our connecting rooms were spacious and bed linens and towels were clean. The bed mattress is one of the best as it was kind on my back and my skin did not suffer any allergy to it. Bathroom amenities were sufficient. Although the room itself appeared somewhat refurbished, the bathroom looked dated and tired. Our water closet choked badly but maintenance came to the rescue in less than ten minutes despite the holiday crowd.

Breakfast spread was good and so was the coffee. Compliments to the staff who were so friendly, polite and helpful even as the coffee house was overflowing with guests and a long queue formed each morning waiting to gain entrance to breakfast. The service staff were efficient and cleared tables as quickly as they could to accommodate the people lining up outside the coffee house. Throughout both breakfast sessions we attended, we noticed the staff worked very well under pressure and were always calm and professional.

Overall, our stay was pleasant and we will definitely stick to this property for our next trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ac2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

I am pleased that you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us and I thank you for making us your first choice of stay every time you visit Malacca.

It is always gratifying to receive compliments and I will surely share these with all my staff. Rest assured we will continue to strive to provide the best level of service.

Once again, thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
346 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Checked in with family last minute for a weekend in town and couldn't have picked a better hotel. Right down in the heart of the action and in walking distance from anywhere. Friendly concierge and efficient check in. 100% clean room and bathroom. Loved also the window lounge balcony with a view over the city. Also used the fitness room each night I was there - pretty good equipment and free weights. Efficient check out as well.

Love it! Highly recommend

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robby321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been enjoyable. We are glad that the service, room and hotel facility has met to your expectation.

We certainly cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,299 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#14 of 166 in Melaka
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 166 in Melaka
558 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,401 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#10 of 166 in Melaka
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Property: Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Address: Jalan Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Melaka, Hotel Equatorial Melaka is a 5-star international business hotel with 496 elegantly furnished guestrooms and suites offering stunning views of the Straits of Melaka and St. Paul's Hill, whilst providing our guests the most luxurious comfort and service. It is ideally located within a few minutes' walk from historical sites and trails, shopping complexes, night spots, financial institutions as well as the ever famous Jonker's Street - a haven for antique collectors and bargain hunters. Featuring guestrooms ranging from the modest Deluxe room to the Presidential Suite, the hotel rooms are tastefully furnished along elegant and contemporary designs. Each room features an ensuite bathroom, and comes equipped with a flat-screen television, mini-refrigerator, coffee & tea making facilities, in-room personal safe, IDD telephone line, individually controlled air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet access, hair dryer, cable channels and iron/ ironing board. Relax, take a swim, or simply keep in shape when you stay in Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Equinox Fitness Centre located on Level 3 offers state-of-the-art gym equipment and also includes a steam room, sauna, cold plunge pool and indoor Jacuzzi. Whereas, sun worshippers will appreciate a relaxing dip in the outdoor swimming pool located on Level 4, whilst the kids can enjoy the children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing