We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Nearby Hotels
$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa del Rio Melaka(Melaka)
$176
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
$70
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
$39
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Puri(Melaka)
$73
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Majestic Malacca(Melaka)
$136
$119
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,727)
Filter reviews
1,727 results
Traveler rating
398
897
295
87
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
398
897
295
87
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub roomequator clubpremier roomseri nyonyarest houseday bedjonker streetwithin walking distanceshopping mallnonya restaurantswimming poolhigh floorcoffee housedataran pahlawanhistorical sitesbaby cotconnecting rooms
Filter
Updating list...
1,015 - 1,020 of 1,727 reviews
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Service staff were courteous, helpful and efficient. General décor was pleasant and environment was clean. Room was spacious, bright and clean. Facilities were good, especially swimming pool which was amazing. Centrally located, amenities and food are plentiful and within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoeyTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. I am very pleased that your stay was an enjoyable one and that the services and facilities has met to your expectations.

We certainly cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Best thing about this hotel is location. Great restaurants, shopping, even Jonker Street... all within walking distance. I would stay in this hotel again, if just for the convenience. The rooms are okay, and comfortable enough for short stays. Breakfast and food at the cafe so-so; compared with the fantastic food you can get just outside the hotel, I would recommend eating out anytime. It is almost impossible to get a taxi at the hotel; suggest you go to the shopping mall next door to find one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLEESingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and I am very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I have shared your comments on our breakfast with our Director of Food and Beverage who will urgently review the quality.

Yes, it is a little difficult in getting taxis during the festive period. We are currently looking at collaboration with local taxis companies to serve our guests better especially during festive holidays.

I sincerely apologize that the stay was somewhat not flawless, rest assured we will make every effort to improve on our shortcomings and we certainly look forward to welcome you back again to Hotel Equatorial Melaka. .


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed at the Equitorial for 1 night as part of a tour of Malaysia and whilst visiting Melaka.

The Equitorial is a very large hotel a short walk from the old historic part of town and the fort/ruins. Offers everything you would expect yet fails to impress nor stand out from other either more intimate (the Lakehouse in Cameron Highlands) or comparable large hotels (the Rennaisance in Kota Bharu). All the staff were very pleasant and courteous throughout the hotel, with a welcome smile and greeting. Breakfast was fine offering a good variety of types of food though was very busy as obviously the hotel is one of the preferred locations for most large coach tours.

We stayed on the 11th floor with a good view back towards the old town. The hotel has a good size outdoor pool though we didn't use it.

Melaka has some lovely historic buildings and would highly recommend the tour of the Baba Nyonya museum (Shirley had a lovely wit and charm as she described the history and workings of the old Chinese house). The Chinese temple is also attractive. A river cruise will show some incredible wall paintings on the riverside houses (watch out for the water monitor lizards that reach 6ft).

The streets are filled with market stalls (and karaoke !?) mainly selling phone cases, toys, etc rather than souvenirs although there are some great shops to get these - my love is wooden local masks - a must is 'Beyond Treasures - House of Masks' on Jonker Walk (57 Jalan Hang Jebat) the lady owner is a delight as is the vast display of Asian masks.

The Equatorial served a purpose as a stopover on our tour with no issues though could be easily forgotten alongside many better hotels of its type (was the only hotel of 9 we used in Malaysia that didn't offer free wifi !).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

It is certainly pleasing to know that we have met with your expectation.

I thank you for your compliments on our staffs. Rest assured we strive to always provide the best product and services to all our guests. You will be pleased to know that we are embarking on upgrading works and at your next visit hopefully you will see it in a different light.

On to your comments of our Wi-Fi service, you will be pleased to hear that we have just upgraded our internet services and free Wi-fi is now available throughout the hotel.

Once again, I thank you for your support and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Hotel Equatorial across the Hari Raya/Singapore public holiday long weekend. Whilst busy, we found this the perfect base for Melaka. The staff seemed to manage the public holiday surge in both check in and check out.

As mentioned by many other reviewers, it is central to shopping centres, all the museums along Jalan Kota and the Peranakan restaurants along Jalan Merdaka. So throughout our trip, we would set out in the morning before returning to the hotel to refresh/shower/rest before setting out again in the early evening.

The added convenience, was that we used Luxury Coaches which picks up/drops off from the hotel lobby - This saved us the trek from the Melaka bus station and allowed us to stow our luggage away for the day of departure after check out.

The hotel is not quite 4 star and definitely not a resort however it cannot be faulted for being a clean no-nonsense base to explore Melaka by foot.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and I am very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

We certainly cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel for a few times both business and family trips and never failed to please my trip. The location is very good, shopping malls are next to the hotel and walking distance to famous Jonker Street and historical attractions. The room have a day bed which I especially like so much. My son loved to sleep there although we requested an extra bed. The last stay was in Chinese new year and we received chocolates as surprise gift. The breakfast was wonderful. The staffs are friendly. I would always recommend and will go back there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevilishAngel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

It is certainly pleasing to know that we have met with your expectation every time you visit us.

I have shared your compliments with our staffs and they are thrilled to know that their efforts are noticed and appreciated.

Once again, I thank you for your support and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews