We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Equator Club Lounge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Ranked #13 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Equator Club Lounge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Business trip with 2 colleagues.

Upon arrival, assistance with luggage could have been better. We checked in at Level 21 where the lounge is located. Lounge has a decent mini-spread of food. Alcoholic drinks not on display but available upon request. A meeting room available for complimentary use.

Clean spacious room with a living area. Had a great view of Melaka city, and the A' Famosa. Disappointed with water quality in the toilet. Perhaps time to renew the piping? Hot water temperature consistency not great. Water pressure could be better.

Supper food available within the hotel cafe and opposite McDonald's.

Breakfast spread at the Rest House disappointing in terms of quality. Ramada better.

Check out was smooth. Staff responsive.

Parking floors disappointingly connected to the lobby only by stairs and not lift.

Overall, an above average business stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerning78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. I see that your stay was not all that flawless and certainly with a better attentive luggage service would have made the welcome experience better. I have spoken to our concierge team to ensure a better attentive and anticipative luggage assistance at all times.

We did have an upgrading work on our water system which was completed on 10th July, 2013 but the upgrading work was planned in a way that it should not affect guest’s experience which certainly is not the case. I sincerely apologize for the poor water experience. On a positive note, when you next visit us you will be pleased with our water system after having done the upgrading work.

I have also addressed your disappointment on the breakfast buffet spread at Rest House Café with our Director of Food and Beverage (who recently joined us) and he will be reviewing our offerings and make improvements.

Yes, it is true that all our lifts do not serve the basement and this is purely for security reasons. We do not wish to put our guest’s safety at risk by allowing non registered guests / visitors accessing the guest floor directly from the car park.

Once again, I sincerely apologize for the shortcomings, rest assured we will make every effort to improve and we certainly look forward to welcome you back again to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    833
    265
    71
    41
See reviews for
589
397
66
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Perfect location and found everyone friendly and helpful. Local food in the hotel yes was much more expensive than outside but one can't argue. Nice pool and spa also. Rooms were clean with excellent view. Hotel was perfect for business or leisure

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant. I am glad that the service, room and hotel facility has met to your expectation.

We cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City of Greater Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Came from a disappointing stay in singapore at mbs, this place more our style, older, much better value and in a great location. Very helpful staff,rooms old perhaps but really clean, great beds & pillows, huge swimming pool, good breakfast, small balcony but great view...all at 1/4 price of the place in singapore. If you want to explore melaka, you could do a lot worse than the equatorial. If you want a bland experience, go to the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfagtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and I am very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am pleased that you have had a helpful service and the room and facilities has met to your expectations.

We certainly cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Fulfilled all that was expected of this hotel, ie. Clean sheets, good sized rooms, good shower, friendly staff, and a complimentary newspaper in the morning. The hotel is a good 10-15 mins walk from the old town, but quite close to contemporary shopping malls.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SupraLibra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and I am very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am glad that the room had met your expectations and I truly appreciate of your comments towards our friendly staff.

We certainly cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Equatorial was a well-known chain of hotels in Malaysia years ago and still retains some of its charm. The best feature of this hotel in Melaka was its location - top tourist attractions such as the A'Famosa fort and Istana (Palace) Museum was a walking distance away. There is a huge mall located just next to the hotel which is also convenient as you can shop for/ buy any items which you require at short notice. I did like the large bath tub and overall spaciousness of the room and the balcony.
What could be improved is the overall cleanliness and upkeep of the hotel. If you are looking for a very swanky environment then this is not the place for you. This hotel is rather old-world. We spent one night and two days there - and there were issues with the water supply at the time. In terms of services - i did feel the front desk services could be faster; also every time i looked for the concierge (to ask for guidance on moving around the town) i couldnt find him! The hotel is pricey and to consider it value for money, the hotel needs to invest in its upkeep and improve its services.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the sea - the sight of the sea and the port, is a delight and transports you to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sumita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

Cleanliness is certainly paramount and must be kept at its level best at all times and I have done a thorough review with my Executive Housekeeper on the cleanliness.

On your comments of the water supply, my sincere apologies for experiencing the poor water supply. We did have an unusual snag in early June where our water pump mechanism tripped causing the interruptions.

I sincerely apologize that the stay was somewhat not flawless, rest assured we will make every effort to improve on our shortcomings and we certainly look forward to welcome you back again to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.

Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Me and my husband, we stayed here for our weekend getaway. The check in and check out process is very smooth.
We requested a room at a higher level and they gave us a room at Level 17. We were happy with the room and the day bed. The room was clean and we had nothing to complaint. It was so nice to relax at the day bed, reading some books or even playing Candy Crush. Our room facing the side of the hotel. We can see old houses, few schools and even the Melaka Straits.
The location is very strategic. Walking distance from few historical buildings and shopping mall.
After a tiring day, exploring and walking around Melaka, you 'll be more than happy to have a good night rest with a comfy bed and pillow. This is a great hotel to stay.
Highly recommended and we will be back again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at higher level; the view are nicer comparing to the room at the lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NurulAlfian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and I am very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.
I have received numerous positive comments on our daybed feature.

We certainly cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Me and my friends stayed here for weekend and we we're given Equator Room 1904. We are happy with the room. As we have informed front office that we need addidional bed, they respond quickly even we arrived late at night. We explored the area and to our surprised that some of the ruins and markets are just walking distance. There's also an Indian Restaurant that is really good closeby. Good food!
Lif Bomba which means bomb in the lift, in some language, caught my attention but i seached it means fire department I think.
Breakfast is included in our package and it ok. Food around the area is a must try.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Soleil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant. We are delighted to know that your request for an additional bed was immediately attended to.

We cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,217 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#14 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#9 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Property: Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Address: Jalan Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Melaka, Hotel Equatorial Melaka is a 5-star international business hotel with 496 elegantly furnished guestrooms and suites offering stunning views of the Straits of Melaka and St. Paul's Hill, whilst providing our guests the most luxurious comfort and service. It is ideally located within a few minutes' walk from historical sites and trails, shopping complexes, night spots, financial institutions as well as the ever famous Jonker's Street - a haven for antique collectors and bargain hunters. Featuring guestrooms ranging from the modest Deluxe room to the Presidential Suite, the hotel rooms are tastefully furnished along elegant and contemporary designs. Each room features an ensuite bathroom, and comes equipped with a flat-screen television, mini-refrigerator, coffee & tea making facilities, in-room personal safe, IDD telephone line, individually controlled air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet access, hair dryer, cable channels and iron/ ironing board. Relax, take a swim, or simply keep in shape when you stay in Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Equinox Fitness Centre located on Level 3 offers state-of-the-art gym equipment and also includes a steam room, sauna, cold plunge pool and indoor Jacuzzi. Whereas, sun worshippers will appreciate a relaxing dip in the outdoor swimming pool located on Level 4, whilst the kids can enjoy the children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing