We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Nearby Hotels
$50
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wayfarer Guest House(Melaka)(Great Value!)
$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travellers Planet Hostel(Melaka)(Great Value!)
$16
$8
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$58
$48
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Puri(Melaka)
$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa del Rio Melaka(Melaka)
$180
$121
Casa DelRio Melaka
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,744)
Filter reviews
1,744 results
Traveler rating
401
906
299
88
49
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
401
906
299
88
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclub roomequator clubpremier roomseri nyonyarest houseday bedjonker streetwithin walking distancenonya restaurantshopping mallswimming poolhigh floorcoffee househistorical sitesdataran pahlawanbaby cotconnecting rooms
Filter
Updating list...
1,045 - 1,050 of 1,744 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Me and my husband, we stayed here for our weekend getaway. The check in and check out process is very smooth.
We requested a room at a higher level and they gave us a room at Level 17. We were happy with the room and the day bed. The room was clean and we had nothing to complaint. It was so nice to relax at the day bed, reading some books or even playing Candy Crush. Our room facing the side of the hotel. We can see old houses, few schools and even the Melaka Straits.
The location is very strategic. Walking distance from few historical buildings and shopping mall.
After a tiring day, exploring and walking around Melaka, you 'll be more than happy to have a good night rest with a comfy bed and pillow. This is a great hotel to stay.
Highly recommended and we will be back again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at higher level; the view are nicer comparing to the room at the lower level.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NurulAlfian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and I am very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.
I have received numerous positive comments on our daybed feature.

We certainly cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Me and my friends stayed here for weekend and we we're given Equator Room 1904. We are happy with the room. As we have informed front office that we need addidional bed, they respond quickly even we arrived late at night. We explored the area and to our surprised that some of the ruins and markets are just walking distance. There's also an Indian Restaurant that is really good closeby. Good food!
Lif Bomba which means bomb in the lift, in some language, caught my attention but i seached it means fire department I think.
Breakfast is included in our package and it ok. Food around the area is a must try.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Soleil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant. We are delighted to know that your request for an additional bed was immediately attended to.

We cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife, daughter and me stayed from 9th June to 11th June,. Not much expectation about the room as the hotel looked dated from exterior. But it was more than expectation when came to the interior. The premier room we got was superb, Newly renovated, spacious, fresh, nice deco,a big sofa bed and a paronamic view of city and sea. Thanks also for hotel staff, front desk especially for the quick and smooth check in/out.

Enjoyed our stay and looking forward to enjoy the same quality of stay and service the next time.

By the way, there was this simple but nice Chinese zi char stall at Meleka Raya that served very nice oyster hokkien noodle (dark gravy type). Just a five minutes walk from the hotel, go straight into Meleka Raya and the first side road on the left after that,. Opened only in the evening :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and I am very pleased that your stay has been pleasant. I am glad that the room condition met with your expectation. We will be embarking on more upgrading work especially on the public area.

We truly appreciate your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.


Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

It was our first trip out together and for sure, we were quite impressed with the room.

When we arrived, at the lobby, it gave us a pretty good impression with a cafe at the left side which displayed yummy cakes and cookies. I'm a sucker for them and my partner had to pull me away. It was pretty well furnished and clean. At the reception, they were nice and helpful as the smile is always on their faces.

The room was clean, ample space for us to put our luggage and a big wardrobe with iron and ironing board. They had a bath tub with great hot water system. Room was clean and nicely packed to welcome us. We had nothing that we were not satisfied in.

After a long day, we always look forward to return back to hotel to catch a good sleep and for sure, we did. We enjoyed our stay there, it was comfortable and quiet.

Room Tip: Non-smoking room for sure if you're not a smoker!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icecreamegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

We cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I attended a church camp held at the hotel recently. The room is comfortable and the location is very good as it is very near to all the shopping malls and walking distance from Jonker Street.

The check-in and check-out was quick and smooth and although we were all affected by the haze in Melaka, we could still enjoy being confined inside the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a non-smoking room if you are allergic to cigarette smell.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soohiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

I am pleased to read that the check in and check out was smoothly done and you had enjoyed your stay despite the haze.

We cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews