We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Ranked #13 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Pulau Ubin, Singapore
Level Contributor
230 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good location.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed 4 nights. Rooms have been upgraded with new Tvs. Staff service also seems to have improved.
Overall a decent return stay. Its convenient given the proximity to the 2 malls, food across the street and Jonker nearby.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank leong34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Equatorial_Mel, General Manager at Hotel Equatorial Melaka, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review and we are very pleased that your stay has been pleasant.

We certainly cherish your patronage and we look forward to welcome you back to Hotel Equatorial Melaka.



Yours sincerely,
Adrian Chung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    833
    265
    71
    41
See reviews for
589
397
66
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
77 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I stayed at the equatorial for one night. The check in was efficient as I had arrived early, however the room was ready and so I was able to check in straight away. The room was very spacious and had a sea view. I paid for the breakfast which was fine and had everything I needed. I made use of the pool which was really nice and had towels provided.

The location was perfect and central for all the sites.

Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eckersangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I was here for a business retreat. Most of the time were spent in the meeting room. The meeting room was quite small for us that time.

Nevertheless, the room is superb. The floor and bathroom were clean and I really like the additional bed/sofa next to the window. Its a great concept. I would definitely come back here if I have the opportunity again next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashrufzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Equatorial Melaka from the 5th to the 9th of June, as part of an annual church retreat in an old standard room on the lower floors. My room was rather small compared to the rest due to the awkward curvature of the building. Location was good, hotel was in fact less than 30 seconds by foot to Dataran Palawan, which would link to other malls like Mahkota Parade. Staff were attentive and pleasant. Rooms, although a little old, were still clean. A disturbing fact about the rooms was that rooms on the upper levels had different furniture and carpeting (which could be due to the hotel's ongoing upgrading program). Do ask for a room on the higher floors. The hotel provided good views of either the Straits of Malacca or Melaka City itself. Compared to other hotels in the vicinity, Equatorial stands out by having good service and better amenities. Hotel does not provide free wifi or LAN access, but charges 8 USD or 10 SGD. Would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFabian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed from 27-28 May, 2013. As I was told by our guide, Equatorial is one of the two 5* rated hotels in Melaka. The next 5star hotel will be the buiding accros the street which was under construction.
Equatorial just a minute walk from Dataran Pahlawan shopping malls which is in front of the hotel, 5 minutes walk from Starbuck Cafe :)
We got room with is large enough to see the Melaka city, with attached sofa bed. There are ironing board, iron, hairdryer, newspaper every morning, nice breakfast. Don't forget to try the chicken porridge, it's very delicious!
Prepaid WIFI on room using wireless device or using a cable socket.
Tourist who likes to track the old Melaka heritage walking tour, just need to turn right from hotel's gate. There are many historical building like :
- St. Francais Institution Melaka (Sekolah Kebangsaan Melaka) since 1880
- Sacred Heart Canossian Convent
- Proclamation of Independence Memorial
- Istana Kesultanan Melaka
- St. Paul Church, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for the city view like at 15 floor, very peacefull at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heni888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed from 30/5 to 1/6 in a Premier Room. As mentioned by other reviewers no lift from car park to entrance so put down luggage at the entrance before going to the car park if you have a lot of luggage.

Checked in at around 4pm on 30/5. Took just 5 minutes. Was given room 1712. Do be careful entering the lifts as there is a slight slope with the lifts being lower.

Room was clean with all the amenities expected. TV channels slightly limited and surprisingly HBO and a couple of channels were actually following the timing in India! Had fun time watching some of the commercials.

The Premier Rooms are well worth the extra bucks as the have an extension day bed that can easily fit in an adult or even 2 young children. The daybed also has a curtain for a little added privacy if needed. My daughter basically took over the whole day bed as a play area and sleeping area.

The king size bed was comfortable (I liked it as it was firm enough) and with sufficient pillows. Bathroom came with bathtub and shower combo. Clean and with amenities expected. (No shaver or toothbrush).

Breakfast starts at 6.30am at the rest house cafe and the spread was a mixture of Eastern and Western cuisine. Overall quality and quantity was more than sufficient. It has basically a little of everything for everyone.

The swimming pool is definitely worth a visit as it is a multi-tiered lagoon styled pool with 2 deeper areas (1.2m) and 2 childrens pool in the middle. Wasn't over chlorinated. Surrounded by good landscaping.

Location of hotel is very strategic being just next to A Formosa Fort. It takes about 20 minutes to walk to the start of Jonker street. Stadhuys, Quayside all within walking distance (for adults). Do take into consideration the humidity and heat. Right in front of hotel is Dataran Pahlawan Mall that has a skybridge linked to Hatten Square and to Mahkota Parade so retail therapy or fast food fix for the kids are easily catered for. Give the Classic Kopitiam Chicken Rice Ball outlet at Dataran Pahlawan a miss. Absolutely lousy.

Wi-Fi not free at the Hotel (RM25 for 24 hours) however you can get free wifi at McD, Starbucks and a host of other outlets at Dataran Pahlawan Mall / Mahkota Parade. Mahkota Parade food court is a place you can freely get Wifi.

Overall one of the old dame hotel in Melaka which all the amenities you can expect and good for a short stay or on business.

Room Tip: Go for the premier rooms and higher floors. Check out the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vwongwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

The location is good. Rooms are a bit old but has good views. Service is normal. Location is ok, not the fault of the hotel but it is on a one way street. Missed it and you drive another round. There are a lot of shopping areas around it and will offer a nice stroll to the nearby attractions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allantanbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,216 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#14 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#9 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Property: Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Address: Jalan Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Melaka, Hotel Equatorial Melaka is a 5-star international business hotel with 496 elegantly furnished guestrooms and suites offering stunning views of the Straits of Melaka and St. Paul's Hill, whilst providing our guests the most luxurious comfort and service. It is ideally located within a few minutes' walk from historical sites and trails, shopping complexes, night spots, financial institutions as well as the ever famous Jonker's Street - a haven for antique collectors and bargain hunters. Featuring guestrooms ranging from the modest Deluxe room to the Presidential Suite, the hotel rooms are tastefully furnished along elegant and contemporary designs. Each room features an ensuite bathroom, and comes equipped with a flat-screen television, mini-refrigerator, coffee & tea making facilities, in-room personal safe, IDD telephone line, individually controlled air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet access, hair dryer, cable channels and iron/ ironing board. Relax, take a swim, or simply keep in shape when you stay in Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Equinox Fitness Centre located on Level 3 offers state-of-the-art gym equipment and also includes a steam room, sauna, cold plunge pool and indoor Jacuzzi. Whereas, sun worshippers will appreciate a relaxing dip in the outdoor swimming pool located on Level 4, whilst the kids can enjoy the children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing