We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Atmosphere and Comfy Bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Ranked #15 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I was here for a business retreat. Most of the time were spent in the meeting room. The meeting room was quite small for us that time.

Nevertheless, the room is superb. The floor and bathroom were clean and I really like the additional bed/sofa next to the window. Its a great concept. I would definitely come back here if I have the opportunity again next time.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashrufzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,001 - 1,007 of 1,684 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Equatorial Melaka from the 5th to the 9th of June, as part of an annual church retreat in an old standard room on the lower floors. My room was rather small compared to the rest due to the awkward curvature of the building. Location was good, hotel was in fact less than 30 seconds by foot to Dataran Palawan, which would link to other malls like Mahkota Parade. Staff were attentive and pleasant. Rooms, although a little old, were still clean. A disturbing fact about the rooms was that rooms on the upper levels had different furniture and carpeting (which could be due to the hotel's ongoing upgrading program). Do ask for a room on the higher floors. The hotel provided good views of either the Straits of Malacca or Melaka City itself. Compared to other hotels in the vicinity, Equatorial stands out by having good service and better amenities. Hotel does not provide free wifi or LAN access, but charges 8 USD or 10 SGD. Would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFabian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed from 27-28 May, 2013. As I was told by our guide, Equatorial is one of the two 5* rated hotels in Melaka. The next 5star hotel will be the buiding accros the street which was under construction.
Equatorial just a minute walk from Dataran Pahlawan shopping malls which is in front of the hotel, 5 minutes walk from Starbuck Cafe :)
We got room with is large enough to see the Melaka city, with attached sofa bed. There are ironing board, iron, hairdryer, newspaper every morning, nice breakfast. Don't forget to try the chicken porridge, it's very delicious!
Prepaid WIFI on room using wireless device or using a cable socket.
Tourist who likes to track the old Melaka heritage walking tour, just need to turn right from hotel's gate. There are many historical building like :
- St. Francais Institution Melaka (Sekolah Kebangsaan Melaka) since 1880
- Sacred Heart Canossian Convent
- Proclamation of Independence Memorial
- Istana Kesultanan Melaka
- St. Paul Church, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for the city view like at 15 floor, very peacefull at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heni888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Stayed from 30/5 to 1/6 in a Premier Room. As mentioned by other reviewers no lift from car park to entrance so put down luggage at the entrance before going to the car park if you have a lot of luggage.

Checked in at around 4pm on 30/5. Took just 5 minutes. Was given room 1712. Do be careful entering the lifts as there is a slight slope with the lifts being lower.

Room was clean with all the amenities expected. TV channels slightly limited and surprisingly HBO and a couple of channels were actually following the timing in India! Had fun time watching some of the commercials.

The Premier Rooms are well worth the extra bucks as the have an extension day bed that can easily fit in an adult or even 2 young children. The daybed also has a curtain for a little added privacy if needed. My daughter basically took over the whole day bed as a play area and sleeping area.

The king size bed was comfortable (I liked it as it was firm enough) and with sufficient pillows. Bathroom came with bathtub and shower combo. Clean and with amenities expected. (No shaver or toothbrush).

Breakfast starts at 6.30am at the rest house cafe and the spread was a mixture of Eastern and Western cuisine. Overall quality and quantity was more than sufficient. It has basically a little of everything for everyone.

The swimming pool is definitely worth a visit as it is a multi-tiered lagoon styled pool with 2 deeper areas (1.2m) and 2 childrens pool in the middle. Wasn't over chlorinated. Surrounded by good landscaping.

Location of hotel is very strategic being just next to A Formosa Fort. It takes about 20 minutes to walk to the start of Jonker street. Stadhuys, Quayside all within walking distance (for adults). Do take into consideration the humidity and heat. Right in front of hotel is Dataran Pahlawan Mall that has a skybridge linked to Hatten Square and to Mahkota Parade so retail therapy or fast food fix for the kids are easily catered for. Give the Classic Kopitiam Chicken Rice Ball outlet at Dataran Pahlawan a miss. Absolutely lousy.

Wi-Fi not free at the Hotel (RM25 for 24 hours) however you can get free wifi at McD, Starbucks and a host of other outlets at Dataran Pahlawan Mall / Mahkota Parade. Mahkota Parade food court is a place you can freely get Wifi.

Overall one of the old dame hotel in Melaka which all the amenities you can expect and good for a short stay or on business.

Room Tip: Go for the premier rooms and higher floors. Check out the pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vwongwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The location is good. Rooms are a bit old but has good views. Service is normal. Location is ok, not the fault of the hotel but it is on a one way street. Missed it and you drive another round. There are a lot of shopping areas around it and will offer a nice stroll to the nearby attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allantanbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Equatorial Melaka for two nights from 12th May 2013. First impressions were not good as there is a huge building site getting underway just across the street. Check-in was quick and with a smile. Our room was on the 14th floor facing the building site. Fortunately we were not bothered by noise during the stay as we were mainly out during the day. The room was clean and very comfortable and of the high standard expected from this chain. I used the beautiful swimming pool on the 4th floor and then sampled the 3rd floor spa which was free to guests. The steam room and sauna were complimented by hot and cool Jacuzzi pools. Breakfast was pleasant with an excellent egg station and a good selection of food items. As ever in South East Asia the tea was tantamount to hot water and the baked beans were somewhere between tepid and cold. Public areas were spacious, airy and sparkling clean. We tried the Nyonya restaurant for dinner and enjoyed a truly delicious meal accompanied by excellent service. The Durian Cendol for dessert was a new experience for me and it was scrumptious. The hotel is handy for the Dataran Pahlawan Mall and just a little further away the Mahkota Parade Mall. Each offer plenty of food choices for snacks and larger meals. The touristy spots including the Taming Sari tower ride (10 Ringgit) the riverside, museums and Jonker Walk are within walking distance, taking about twenty minutes or so from the hotel. The main 'niggle' with the hotel is the lack of free Wi-Fi in either the room or the public areas. 24 hours of Wi-Fi cost 25 Ringgit and 60 minutes cost 15 Ringgit. I have stayed at two star hotels which offer free Wi-Fi and consider these charges to be not in keeping with a hotel of this standard and cost. Other than that I can recommend the Hotel Equatorial to any tourist or business traveller staying in Melaka.

Room Tip: While the building work is on request a pool facing room for peace.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Arrived at the hotel on a public holiday (24 May, Vesak Day) around 3pm+. Bell boy was helpful to carry our luggage. Proceed to check in and room is ready. The hotel staff informed us that our extra bed will be sent shortly to our room.

We booked the premium room.. it was spacious, modern and nice. It was clean too. I really like the day bed! If you don't feel like going out.. could totally just laze in the day bed to read, watch video/TV and enjoy the sun/view at the same time.

The premium room could sleep 3 person (without additional bed). The toilet was clean too.

Please bring your toothbrush as they do not provide.

Housekeeping staffs were quite efficient and friendly.

The breakfast provided by the hotel was not bad, but I feel it could be better for a 5 star hotel, love the fluffy pancakes though.The nonya restaurant at 2nd level was quite good too. The service for this 2 restaurants were excellent.

Swimming pools looks nice but crowed with kids.. Heard from my cousin the spa/jacuzzi wasn't working.

Location of this hotel was awesome.. just next to it, there's a shopping centre.. can walk to many attactions or shopping place. 7-11 is just opposite the hotel as well. Cab to jonker street at 15RM.

The only thing I wish it could be better was the wifi at the lobby or provide free wifi for guest in their room. Their wifi is chargeable at 25RM for 24hours, it is not expensive but most of time people will be out of their room so it doesn't seem worth it. During my 1st night of stay, my cousin and I went down to the lobby to try if i could go online. Both of my mobile can't connect to the wifi, check with the staff they say the internet is down and not sure how long it will take to fix. The next day, I could connect to the wifi but it does not load anything.

Other than the wifi, I really like this hotel, though it looks old from the outside but the room is good!

Room Tip: Premium room if you doesn't have a low budget, request for non-smoking level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vieon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#14 of 169 in Melaka
2,525 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 169 in Melaka
1,519 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 169 in Melaka
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#20 of 169 in Melaka
914 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 169 in Melaka
1,479 reviews
1 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#12 of 169 in Melaka
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Address: Jalan Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $49 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Melaka, Hotel Equatorial Melaka is a 5-star international business hotel with 496 elegantly furnished guestrooms and suites offering stunning views of the Straits of Melaka and St. Paul's Hill, whilst providing our guests the most luxurious comfort and service. It is ideally located within a few minutes' walk from historical sites and trails, shopping complexes, night spots, financial institutions as well as the ever famous Jonker's Street - a haven for antique collectors and bargain hunters. Featuring guestrooms ranging from the modest Deluxe room to the Presidential Suite, the hotel rooms are tastefully furnished along elegant and contemporary designs. Each room features an ensuite bathroom, and comes equipped with a flat-screen television, mini-refrigerator, coffee & tea making facilities, in-room personal safe, IDD telephone line, individually controlled air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet access, hair dryer, cable channels and iron/ ironing board. Relax, take a swim, or simply keep in shape when you stay in Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Equinox Fitness Centre located on Level 3 offers state-of-the-art gym equipment and also includes a steam room, sauna, cold plunge pool and indoor Jacuzzi. Whereas, sun worshippers will appreciate a relaxing dip in the outdoor swimming pool located on Level 4, whilst the kids can enjoy the children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing