We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Ranked #14 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed January 16, 2013

this hotel always be my family favorite choice if we back to melaka. 7 of us (4adults, 2kids 1 toddler) travelling together and we took 2 premier rooms (connecting room). the rooms spacious.the kids can sleep at the day bed.in term of location, it is very near to tourist attractions & shopping complexes such as St Paul Hill, A Famosa, Dataran Pahlawan, Mahkota Parade etc..you can even walk frm hotel to Jonker Street.well that's the great way to explore melaka town..the room service are good.. there's plenty of choices for breakfast spread..there's plain/chicken porridge for your little ones..

the drawback is we have to pay for the internet..but it would be great if the hotel offer free wifi to its guests..

of course im coming back to this hotel for every Hari Raya or school holiday or even weekend getaway...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chentalib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,036 - 1,042 of 1,655 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

I stayed there over the new year period for 2 nights and I must say I am pretty impressed with their premier rooms...they renovated them and turned the usual balcony into an enclosed couch area where you can sit on the couch and relax, while enjoying the beautiful scenery. I stayed on the 15th floor so it was really nice overlooking the whole city. The location of the hotel is very good sine is very near to many shopping malls and eateries. It is quite near (10-15mins) to all the historical sightseeing and Jonker Street as well. We were able to do a good massage nearby, watched a midnight movie (and movies are so cheap there!) and come back to the hotel in the middle of the night for a good sleep.

But I think they should improve on is their breakfast, which wasn't too appetizing, but still there are many good food around Malacca to make up for it. But beware the inefficiency of their lifts can spoil your holiday at the very end, after everything is well done. Most likely because everyone checks out at the same time, the lifts were jammed packed and almost impossible to get to the lobby. It was especially difficult for people with trolleys and kids. My suggestion is either you check out way before the stipulated or just leave 30mins later, because I bet the lifts will still be crowded and the queue for checking out will be just as long.

But overall, this hotel made my Malacca trip enjoyable and safe. Thank You!

Room Tip: Get a top floor and great if they can upgrade your deluxe room for free to premier room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennyzbz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

According to me the following reasons make Hotel Equatorial Malacca an excellent place to be in:

Location:
- Located a few minutes walk from the prime tourist attractions
- Most of the tourist buses leave from this location
- Taxis / trishaws at doorstep
- Close to shops

Rooms:
- The executive club suite is very spacious with all modern amenities - great if you're visiting with your family (it's pricey, but look for offers/promos)
- The deluxe room is standard, but I loved the balcony with an open wide city view

Food:
- The hotel has a few good restaurants catering to all types of taste buds, from local to international
- K5 and Resthouse Cafe are worth mentioning for the very good food and service

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sagnik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Very centrally located among shopping malls and eateries . Most popular hotel with Malaysian VIPs and tourists. Rooms have Internet but we have to pay for it. Comfortable rooms . Courteous staff and grand lobby . The room rate is pricey due to its 5 star n location .

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feledoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here in connection with a detour from our holiday to Singapore. Had booked one of the superior rooms and it had a very nice and very big window seat where we could sit and look at the view . Actually the seat was so big that the kids slept there instead of with us. The hotel is very close to all the major sights. The pool is nice and big although it can be a bit windswept.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henriksh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed there at the deluxe room during new year's eve. Although the queue at the check in counter was quite long, the check in process was quite effective and fast. The hotel is a rather aged one but overall, it's quite well maintained. The room wasn't extremely spacious but it's comfortable enough for you to relax in. The bed was solid enough and the toilet and bathtub were really clean and dry when we got there. Furthermore, you can get great view of malacca from the balcony. The gym was very fully equipped and the equipment was well maintained. The pool looked nice too but we didn't get a chance to swim there so no comment about that. Food at the hotel can be a bit pricier, but who would want to eat at the hotel when you are in Malacca? The location of the hotel is remarkable. It's just next to dataran pahlawan (if you want to catch a movie or find somewhere convenient to dine at) and a 5-10 min walk from Stadhuys and all the other major attractions. It's only a 15 min walk or so to Jonker where you get all the good food and good buy. If you are driving and you want a place to park your car, I suggest you stay here instead of at the boutique hotels at jonker as it can be quite a burden to look for carpark. In some ways, the hotel is not too far away from the crowd, but not too near either. Throughout our trip there, we didn't drive out even once. However, there's no wifi provided in the room. The free internet provided is only a free cable internet.

Room Tip: get a room on a higher floor for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yingoying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Good location and nice hotel. Walking distance to Dataran Pahlawan and Mahkota Parade. If you do not have transport. There are cabs/taxi just in front of the hotel

Clean and comfortable beds.

Lovely pools

Downside is that the road have high traffic during peak hours and that there is no Lift directly from the Carpark to the Lobby. Kinda tedious.

Room Tip: get higher floors , less noise from the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathychy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 168 in Melaka
2,455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 168 in Melaka
1,462 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 168 in Melaka
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 168 in Melaka
1,455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#16 of 168 in Melaka
852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#10 of 168 in Melaka
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Address: Jalan Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $50 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Melaka, Hotel Equatorial Melaka is a 5-star international business hotel with 496 elegantly furnished guestrooms and suites offering stunning views of the Straits of Melaka and St. Paul's Hill, whilst providing our guests the most luxurious comfort and service. It is ideally located within a few minutes' walk from historical sites and trails, shopping complexes, night spots, financial institutions as well as the ever famous Jonker's Street - a haven for antique collectors and bargain hunters. Featuring guestrooms ranging from the modest Deluxe room to the Presidential Suite, the hotel rooms are tastefully furnished along elegant and contemporary designs. Each room features an ensuite bathroom, and comes equipped with a flat-screen television, mini-refrigerator, coffee & tea making facilities, in-room personal safe, IDD telephone line, individually controlled air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet access, hair dryer, cable channels and iron/ ironing board. Relax, take a swim, or simply keep in shape when you stay in Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Equinox Fitness Centre located on Level 3 offers state-of-the-art gym equipment and also includes a steam room, sauna, cold plunge pool and indoor Jacuzzi. Whereas, sun worshippers will appreciate a relaxing dip in the outdoor swimming pool located on Level 4, whilst the kids can enjoy the children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing