We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, rooms, service, food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Ranked #13 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent location, rooms, service, food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

According to me the following reasons make Hotel Equatorial Malacca an excellent place to be in:

Location:
- Located a few minutes walk from the prime tourist attractions
- Most of the tourist buses leave from this location
- Taxis / trishaws at doorstep
- Close to shops

Rooms:
- The executive club suite is very spacious with all modern amenities - great if you're visiting with your family (it's pricey, but look for offers/promos)
- The deluxe room is standard, but I loved the balcony with an open wide city view

Food:
- The hotel has a few good restaurants catering to all types of taste buds, from local to international
- K5 and Resthouse Cafe are worth mentioning for the very good food and service

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sagnik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    833
    265
    71
    41
See reviews for
589
397
66
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Very centrally located among shopping malls and eateries . Most popular hotel with Malaysian VIPs and tourists. Rooms have Internet but we have to pay for it. Comfortable rooms . Courteous staff and grand lobby . The room rate is pricey due to its 5 star n location .

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feledoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here in connection with a detour from our holiday to Singapore. Had booked one of the superior rooms and it had a very nice and very big window seat where we could sit and look at the view . Actually the seat was so big that the kids slept there instead of with us. The hotel is very close to all the major sights. The pool is nice and big although it can be a bit windswept.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henriksh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed there at the deluxe room during new year's eve. Although the queue at the check in counter was quite long, the check in process was quite effective and fast. The hotel is a rather aged one but overall, it's quite well maintained. The room wasn't extremely spacious but it's comfortable enough for you to relax in. The bed was solid enough and the toilet and bathtub were really clean and dry when we got there. Furthermore, you can get great view of malacca from the balcony. The gym was very fully equipped and the equipment was well maintained. The pool looked nice too but we didn't get a chance to swim there so no comment about that. Food at the hotel can be a bit pricier, but who would want to eat at the hotel when you are in Malacca? The location of the hotel is remarkable. It's just next to dataran pahlawan (if you want to catch a movie or find somewhere convenient to dine at) and a 5-10 min walk from Stadhuys and all the other major attractions. It's only a 15 min walk or so to Jonker where you get all the good food and good buy. If you are driving and you want a place to park your car, I suggest you stay here instead of at the boutique hotels at jonker as it can be quite a burden to look for carpark. In some ways, the hotel is not too far away from the crowd, but not too near either. Throughout our trip there, we didn't drive out even once. However, there's no wifi provided in the room. The free internet provided is only a free cable internet.

Room Tip: get a room on a higher floor for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yingoying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Good location and nice hotel. Walking distance to Dataran Pahlawan and Mahkota Parade. If you do not have transport. There are cabs/taxi just in front of the hotel

Clean and comfortable beds.

Lovely pools

Downside is that the road have high traffic during peak hours and that there is no Lift directly from the Carpark to the Lobby. Kinda tedious.

Room Tip: get higher floors , less noise from the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathychy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
79 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

You definitely can't beat the location. You can practically walk to all the major historical sights, Jonker Walk Night Market and the many shopping malls and restaurants from the hotel.

We went with the kids during the busiest weekend of the Malaysian school holidays so was expecting the worst. However, check in was relatively smooth. Although our room was only given after 30 minutes, we were shown the waiting area that comes with complimentary coffee and tea. There will some long faces but understanable due to the high occupancy. Had a newly refurbished Premier Room and it was nice enough. The large day bed doubles up as a day bed where I slept comfortable (I am a six footer by the way).

Had breakfast outside so cannot comment on restaurant service and quality of food.

The security staff manning the parking area and entry into the basement parking area were extremely pro-active. Due to the high occupancy and also wedding function one night, there was heavy traffic into the hotel, the security staff raced up and down to ensure each and every guest has a parking spot. Superb.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feibeesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed in a Premier Room with king size bed. Very spacious. At one point, my other relatives came and visit. The room had 5 boys running around, happily.

There is a day bed that is about 3 ft wide and 5.5 in length. I slept on it with my 23 month baby. There are 2 extra pillows, 1 blanket and 1 bed sheet in the closet which we used them on the day bed. My husband and 2 older kids (age 6 & 4) slept on the king size bed. The king size bed has 4 pillows. We put a chair at one end to prevent my son from falling off during sleep.

A kettle for boiling the complimentary tea & coffee. Didn't see pure (white) sugar in the tray, only sweeteners and brown sugar. complimentary 2 water bottles which you can ask for more if you see the house keeping. We also ask for more towels which is also free. Didn't ask for a baby cot but room is big enough for one.

Toiletries is basic - shampoo with conditional, shower gel, bar soap, lotion and tissue paper. Bring your own shaving stuffs, tooth brush and paste. If not, 7-Eleven is just across the street. Glass for holding water to brush teeth, if you have young children, perhaps, you want to bring some disposable cup.

Free parking. They even let us keep our car there after checking out. Food was quite good there. Didn't get a package with breakfast, but we did have credit to use in the restaurant. You can try the BIG donut for RM 2.8. It is the size of a adult's hand palm. Or the fruit danish, also the size about 7-9cm, for RM 3.20 at E.T.C on the ground level. We bought 3 donuts and 1 danish for breakfast on the last day. Should have bought only 2 donuts as my son (who love donut very much) couldn't even finish one. Yes, they are really huge and very cheap!

Heard that their high tea is very delicious but we didn't get a chance to try it.

The hotel is next to Dataran Pahlawan Shopping Mall's east wing. This shopping mall is about 10 min walk from one end to another. There are kids zones on the 2nd level where my children went there 2 days in a row to play. It cost only RM10 for unlimited time. After they had some jump (and me some shopping), we cross the small streets and headed back to the hotel, where children took their nap. Very convenience location for both children and adults.

Across the other street are quite a few local restaurant. Ate one dinner there for RM92 for 4 adults and 5 children with delicious 4 dishes and rices, tea. Very cheap again! However, this main street could be very crowded with vehicles. Do hold on to children when crossing.

You can also walk to the other end of Pahlawan Shopping mall where the A Famosa fort is. We came back from there to the hotel with tri-cycle (RM15). And the kids had great fun riding on the tri-cycle. It seems like the hotel does not allow the tri-cycle to enter, they stopped us just outside the hotel.

One disappointment is that their staffs are not very knowledge. I asked 3 people in coinage and check-in counter about going to Giant Supermarket. They all told me that it was like a few minute drive away. However, I found one in Pakson (another shopping mall that is just around the corner too). Yes, the supermarket at the basement of Pakson is Giant Super Market. This store does sell diaper if you need. All you need is to follow the bridge link from Pahlawan Shopping Mall to Hatten Hotel and to Pakson.

Nevertheless, I still recommend this hotel, especially for family with young children. The kids zone next door will sure keep your children busy while you can go for some shopping.

Room Tip: Family with at least 2 young children, highly recommend their Premier Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,217 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#14 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#9 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Property: Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Address: Jalan Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Melaka, Hotel Equatorial Melaka is a 5-star international business hotel with 496 elegantly furnished guestrooms and suites offering stunning views of the Straits of Melaka and St. Paul's Hill, whilst providing our guests the most luxurious comfort and service. It is ideally located within a few minutes' walk from historical sites and trails, shopping complexes, night spots, financial institutions as well as the ever famous Jonker's Street - a haven for antique collectors and bargain hunters. Featuring guestrooms ranging from the modest Deluxe room to the Presidential Suite, the hotel rooms are tastefully furnished along elegant and contemporary designs. Each room features an ensuite bathroom, and comes equipped with a flat-screen television, mini-refrigerator, coffee & tea making facilities, in-room personal safe, IDD telephone line, individually controlled air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet access, hair dryer, cable channels and iron/ ironing board. Relax, take a swim, or simply keep in shape when you stay in Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Equinox Fitness Centre located on Level 3 offers state-of-the-art gym equipment and also includes a steam room, sauna, cold plunge pool and indoor Jacuzzi. Whereas, sun worshippers will appreciate a relaxing dip in the outdoor swimming pool located on Level 4, whilst the kids can enjoy the children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing