We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ragged edges”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Ranked #13 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“ragged edges”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Ah Hotel Equatorial, you were probably the height of sophisticated accommodation in the 80s, but what happened? Was the cost of maintaining your property too high for you?

This is your average "international" hotel room, except with chipped paint, cheap furniture and stained carpets. It's not bad, just a bit shabby and standards of bathroom hygiene are a bit low,

On the plus side, the pool is nice, breakfast is good and the location is excellent. You can easily walk from here into the heart of Melaka.

Room Tip: At the moment there's a lot of construction around this hotel, so rooms facing the pool will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CreativeSpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    846
    271
    74
    43
See reviews for
611
405
66
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I am glad that we choose to stay at Hotel Equatorial Melaka. we stayed in the delux room. The room was not very spacious but clean/neat with a balcony facing the pool.It had the all the basic requirements like hair dyer, iron and ironing board, coffee maker, shampoo/gels/soaps, locker, charging points etc
The location is perfect!you have 7-Eleven just opposite the Hotel, 24hrs McD, Datwan shopping Mall and a lot of restaurants serving Portuguese, Peranakan, chinese and Indian food.
Equatorial has a coffee corner serving good pastries and also a Japanese and Seri Nonya Perankan restaurant. It also has a swimming pool,fitness center and a tennis court.
We started out our walk from Equatorial and kept walking straight towards all the attractions..on the way we stopped at the St. Paul's Hill,Porta de Santiago (A'Famosa Fort),Menara Taming Sari, Melaka fort , Melaka fort, Christ church and walked up to jonker street. It took us over 30 mins to reach jonker street because we stopped at many places/clicking pictures.
On the way back we took the colorful-bicycle-rickshaws ride back to Equatorial for 15RM.
overall a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saashuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batu Gajah, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

It's like you're staying right at the heart of the historical complex of A'Famosa. The mall next to the hotel serves as a good walkway to reach entrance of St Paul Hill and other historical attractions. Hotel is fine except that I got a room and floor that were just painted recently. The smell was intense.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAS3812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Though a regular visitor to Melaka, I have not stayed at the Hotel Equatorial for a few years mainly because the last time I stayed (in 2007 or 08), the rooms were rundown and in dire need for a touch-up. Also, I wanted to try out the other hotels in Melaka. So, I was presently surprised to find the rooms have been renovated recently. It was a nice change from the old Peranakan theme. It seems the bathroom was not included in the renovation but is was clean and functional. The beds were very comfortable and my hubby who normally has problem sleeping in hotels was able to get a good night's sleep. Hope they can maintain the rooms and not let it get too rundown again. Breakfast was good with a spread of local and western dishes. Only problem we had was with the television. The cable channels were so soft, we could hardly hear (and we had the volume set to maximum). The free-to-air channels were loud and clear. So, if you are switching between channels, you have to remember to lower the volume first. We booked 2 rooms and both television sets has the same problem. I am not sure if they do this intentionally so you do not disturb the neighbouring rooms. Service at the hotel is not exceptional, but it is acceptable. Both checking in and out was a breeze.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LibraGalSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

After reading so many good reviews on this hotel, we decided to give it a try for our short family getaway in June. We're glad that indeed it's a good choice and we had a pleasant stay at Hotel Equatorial Melaka. The location is excellent as it's just a minute walk to the mall and 5-10 minutes stroll to most of the places of interest in Melaka. Breakfast selection is excellent as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justin_nys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed in Hotel Equatorial 3 times in the past 2 years. The last being August 2012. This hotel is usually a safe choice for those who are new to Melaka. It is located next to a shopping mall and there's a total of 3 major shopping centres within walking distance of the hotel. Brands such as NIKE, VINCCI, FOS, PADINI etc... can be found there. There's also a movie theatre next to the hotel if you want to watch a late night movie.
The room is bright, functional, comfortable and adequate in space. Everything is clean and functional. There's a sofa day bed in Premier rooms which is good for those who want to chill in the room. The premier rooms have been renovated last year, so it looks new, bright and clean. Toilets are adequate in size and kept clean. Everything about this hotel is efficent and functional. The staff are competent but not exactly friendly. I was given a deluxe room instead of a premier room on my last stay despite the reservation stated premier. The issue was sorted out quickly with no fuss.
Location wise, jonker street is not within walkable distance. Nearby the hotel, however, there are places for body and foot massage, food places and such. It is a good starting point to explore the area around Hotel Equatorial before moving on to other parts of Melaka. If you do not drive in Melaka, this hotel is very convenient. If you do drive, the traffic around the area might be a little challenging during peak hours. The are sufficient carpark lots (under and above ground) for guests who drive. However, the underground carpark can use with some renovation. There are security guards around in the carpark and it does help a little to ease anxiety of parking there.
Breakfast at the restaurant is really not up to expectations. The local fare for the buffet breakfast fared better than western. Even then, it's not that great. It would be better to sample the breakfast foods around Melaka instead.

Room Tip: Always choose Premier room. Deluxe rooms are smaller, dark and on lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoltonBrownCow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I had 3 nights at the Hotel Equartorial. I liked the location, 10 minute walk to the centre of town and near some lovely local resturants. The hotel is lovely, expansive entrance, friendly service and nice rooms.

The highlight for me was the Cooking course. I was very fortunate to be able to do the course and cannot thank management enough for making it available to me at short notice. Make sure you book ahead to ensure you can do the course.

You enter a room with tables set up for the chef and for the student(s). You are given your hat, apron and gloves. You watch and then cook two dishes. These dishes are then preented to you at lunch or dinner along with a number of other dishes. You are given a feast.

The chef and her helpers coudl not be more helpful, as soon as you finish with an ingredient the dish it was in is taken away. You have plenty of opportunity to ask questions.

I also purchased the cookbook (plus a few extra copies for gifts) published by the hotel which includes the dishes I cooked.

This was the highlight of my trip to Melaka.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussieAl_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,325 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 166 in Melaka
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#14 of 166 in Melaka
757 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#9 of 166 in Melaka
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Property: Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Address: Jalan Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Melaka, Hotel Equatorial Melaka is a 5-star international business hotel with 496 elegantly furnished guestrooms and suites offering stunning views of the Straits of Melaka and St. Paul's Hill, whilst providing our guests the most luxurious comfort and service. It is ideally located within a few minutes' walk from historical sites and trails, shopping complexes, night spots, financial institutions as well as the ever famous Jonker's Street - a haven for antique collectors and bargain hunters. Featuring guestrooms ranging from the modest Deluxe room to the Presidential Suite, the hotel rooms are tastefully furnished along elegant and contemporary designs. Each room features an ensuite bathroom, and comes equipped with a flat-screen television, mini-refrigerator, coffee & tea making facilities, in-room personal safe, IDD telephone line, individually controlled air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet access, hair dryer, cable channels and iron/ ironing board. Relax, take a swim, or simply keep in shape when you stay in Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Equinox Fitness Centre located on Level 3 offers state-of-the-art gym equipment and also includes a steam room, sauna, cold plunge pool and indoor Jacuzzi. Whereas, sun worshippers will appreciate a relaxing dip in the outdoor swimming pool located on Level 4, whilst the kids can enjoy the children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing