We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Ranked #14 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed May 23, 2012

The reason for choosing this hotel is the good location, shopping is within walking distance, near to Jonker Street. The booking was make thru Luxury Tours and Travel at Concorde Hotel Singapore.The check-in process takes about 5 minute and we were asigned with a high floor room with city view from our balcony. They do serve complimentary drinks at the Flo Lounge. The room is reasonably cleaned and well kept. The service is excellent! start from the front drive to the reception. The Buffet Breakfast @ Rest House is good too! plenty of food selections. Overall, it is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: A room with the city view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Csfedwin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,150 - 1,156 of 1,655 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

The hotel has a great location. It is an easy walk to the old town and the river and there is a huge shopping mall steps from the hotel.

The hotel itself is beautiful and the corner rooms are spectacular.

The service in the hotel was excellent and the breakfast buffet offered a great selection.

I would rate it very good value for money.

Room Tip: All the rooms on higher floors have a great view ......any direction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alistair_MacDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

The biggest plus point for this hotel is the fact that it is in the main shopping district - where various food joints and amenities are in easy reach. It is a stone's throw away from the cultural and historical sights as well.

The hotel itself has all the standard amenities you would expect from a 5-star hotel. I was a little surprised that the toothbrush-toothpaste pack is not available in the bathroom - I gather you need to specifically ask for it.

I stayed in adjoining rooms which comfortably hosted 4 Adults and 3 Children. Collectively the rooms were equipped with a King-sized bed and 2 single beds. There was an ample day bed snugged nicely at the bay window in the room and could be comfortably used as a bed by a child or even a wee-sized adult.

There could have been more channels on TV but it's probably a good thing. There's lots to experience in Malacca itself and it would be a waste to spend too much time and money in a hotel.

Room Tip: Quick tip: If your hotel stay comes with optional breakfast package at RM35 per head - give it a mis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank F71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We did a cooking course at Hotel Equitotial in Melaka and it was outstanding.
It was just so difficult to find a place to learn nyonya cooking here but once we did we were delighted with the choice....cannot believe they do not advertise this more as it was wonderful.
We cooked a chicken dish, a prawn and pineapple stew and desert of palm sugar pancakes ...all just so delicious and when we sat down to eat another 4 courses together with homemade chendol appeared..just too much to eat but excellent value at just $35 aud
It was a minimum of 2 People but my husband was a good sport and despite his reservations he really enjoyed it too
loved it and have returned home with recipes that I have recreated again already
Just do it!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love2cookandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I stayed in this hotel many times over 10 years because they have one of the best convention hall in Malaysia and there are not many choices then beside Reinnassance. And with 2 children, a swimming pool is good. But given a choice now, the relatively new Holiday Inn nearby is our top list. It's a family oriented hotel with games to entertain kids&table tennis table which Equatorial lacks. If I'm on budget & stay just a day or without kids with me, I'll go for Pagola hotel. We drive, so that's a consideration. If you don't, Equatorial is ok.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank May-Tong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

i had good experience staying here..
its strategic in terms of location.
sit in the middle of the town..
walking distance to nice spots and malls
price is expensive for me but cnsidering its a tourist place so its understandable.. again i think the pricing can be slightly lower as its not a new hotel
well maintan hotel anyway..

Room Tip: a nice hotel if ur looking at roaming around the city. strategic location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krockz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stay in other hotels in Malacca before, but Equatorial will always be our 1st choice. It is so popular and often full if we only call 1-2 weeks ahead for a long weekend holiday. Book early if possible. The reason why we love it so much :
- good centralized location, all attractions, shopping, good food within walking distance
- convenient & secured parking for our car throughout the stay
- comfortabe bed, clean and spacious room. For this stay, our rooms are refurbished!
- friendly service, although breakfast are usually a little too crowded and crazy
- familiar comfort of a 5* star hotel with reasonable price in Malacca. (Without promotion, our rating will drop to 4 star in TA. ^_^)

We had 2 deluxe rooms on the 12th flr this trip. One with balcony facing the shopping mall and sea view; one facing the pool and city view. There were fireworks one night and only the room with balcony can see it. Checkout the photos for the different views. We don't spent much time in the room so the view is not that important. The quality of bed & pillows, bathroom, tea making facilities, lightings and high floor are more important in our opinion.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PoppyJn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 168 in Melaka
2,456 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 168 in Melaka
1,462 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 168 in Melaka
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 168 in Melaka
1,456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#16 of 168 in Melaka
852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#10 of 168 in Melaka
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Address: Jalan Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $50 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Melaka, Hotel Equatorial Melaka is a 5-star international business hotel with 496 elegantly furnished guestrooms and suites offering stunning views of the Straits of Melaka and St. Paul's Hill, whilst providing our guests the most luxurious comfort and service. It is ideally located within a few minutes' walk from historical sites and trails, shopping complexes, night spots, financial institutions as well as the ever famous Jonker's Street - a haven for antique collectors and bargain hunters. Featuring guestrooms ranging from the modest Deluxe room to the Presidential Suite, the hotel rooms are tastefully furnished along elegant and contemporary designs. Each room features an ensuite bathroom, and comes equipped with a flat-screen television, mini-refrigerator, coffee & tea making facilities, in-room personal safe, IDD telephone line, individually controlled air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet access, hair dryer, cable channels and iron/ ironing board. Relax, take a swim, or simply keep in shape when you stay in Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Equinox Fitness Centre located on Level 3 offers state-of-the-art gym equipment and also includes a steam room, sauna, cold plunge pool and indoor Jacuzzi. Whereas, sun worshippers will appreciate a relaxing dip in the outdoor swimming pool located on Level 4, whilst the kids can enjoy the children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing