We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in Equator Club room, great location, would visit again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Ranked #13 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stayed in Equator Club room, great location, would visit again.”
Reviewed April 21, 2011

At first I tried to get a reservation at a cute shophouse boutique hotel but I am glad that we wound up at the Hotel Equatorial. For the same price we got a Equator Club room, which means it's on a high floor with separate check-in. Breakfast for this room was included so don't pre-pay for it on the website. We were very happy with the corner room, including a plain outdoor patio that was nice to have and a large bathroom. The room was non-smoking and it did not smell of smoke at all (some rude guests smoked in the hallway but that's not the hotel's fault). If you drive here you'll be able to leave the car in the carpark while you sightsee Jonker St etc.

The location is great. Just far enough away from the tourist areas to avoid noise but close enough to walk (to Jonker Street etc.). We saw later that many of the small boutique hotels are located on small streets with very heavy traffic, one place was located above an outdoor karaoke stage!

We would definitely stay here again. We only have two small things to point out: the hotel lobby has a mildew smell that is being masked by a nicer scent. I know it's really tough to get rid of in the tropics but maybe it can be done. The second thing I noticed is that our floor had fire safety doors between the hallway and the elevators that are kept open even though the signs on them say to keep closed. We felt very safe in the hotel but the truth is that on a high floor...well, safety is important. I don't know what the solution is -- I hope the solution is not to get rid of the sign but figure out a way to keep the building safe! Maybe automatic closing safety doors? Again, we felt safe here and have stayed at hotels all over Southeast Asia. But it caught my attention.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    853
    272
    76
    43
See reviews for
613
408
66
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Stayed there for 3 nights. Next to shopping centre. Front desk was bad. Checked in an hour later because they claimed that room was not ready.Breakfast was normal. Good location! Bellboy was great courteous.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virgo1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

My kid lost his white teddy bear after the housekeeping. I reported the matter to the housekeeping and within a short time, 2 housekeeping staff appeared and assured my kid that they would try their very best to search for it. For the next 1 day, the housekeeping kept us informed of the search status. Unfortunately, the bear was not found. Upon check-out, my kid wrote an appeal letter to search for his missing bear and handed it to the front desk.

I was very surprised to receive a phone call from Equatorial Hotel the next day. The hotel requested me to email them a photo of the white teddy bear so that they could try to find an identical one to replace it. On Christmas eve, my kid received a parcel from Equatorial Hotel. Inside was a bigger sized white teddy bear !

I am truely moved by the sincere gesture from the hotel as some other hotels might have just ignored the feeling of a child with a missing teddy bear.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SingaporeFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Excellent location, as far as Melaka goes. Premium room was good size, with an excellent transformation of the balcony into a large day seat which was the place to be in the room. Beds were ridiculously hard, not comfortable.

The swimming pool is very well suited for children.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KlaasH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2011

As the other reviews have pointed out, this hotel is in an EXCELLENT location if you want to be near the historic St. Paul's Hill & shopping (10 min walk max). To me, it beats some of the other sea-facing hotels.

What also impressed me about this hotel is its good management - we were a traveling group of 9 and had side-by-side rooms on the same floor (non-smoking - there was a child among us). The next morning, there was a long table waiting for us at breakfast - all without us having to make any special requests. So thumbs up for excellent service.

Yes, the hotel is dated, but the staff are well-trained and all 4 rooms were clean, well-maintained and roomy. Nice artwork too. But even on the 20th floor, I could hear the children getting ready for school, though.

Service wise, there is a 24-hour bistro at the street level (the only one in Malacca - or so they claim) plus a posh Japanese restaurant, but in the end we chose to walk across to the Korean BBQ place (5 mins walk). Excellent service and food.

Internet connection in the rooms is pretty steep but there's free wifi elsewhere in the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leavethewritingtome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

I stayed in an Equator club room - huge, airy, light with two balconies. Really excellent king size bed with high quality sheets and pillows. Sitting are, huge bathroom with sep large shower and bath, dressing area, fridge, safe, desk with wired broadband.
Pity no seats or table on the balconies - would have been nice to sit out and the in room furniture not really suitable for taking out there. Internet access, free in many hotels for club/exec rooms is an expensive RM25 per day - although free in some public area. Bathroom, although huge, is dated and the bath scuffed and plug mechanism didn't work. Shower good but old - whole bathroom could do with replacing. The hotel was full and the wait for lifts long, the Equator club lounge isn't big enough - I twice went for the free drink and nibble session but there was nowhere to sit. Great pool area, but westerners may feel uncomfortable as most ladies there were in Muslim style swimming costumes - covering neck to knees and in some cases ankles, with swimming caps covering head and neck. If you're spending some time in Malaysia it's worth buying one - any mall or department store sell them. Food and drink in the hotel quite expensive - a small bottle of beer MR24 inc tax and service charge, can of coke RM 11 inc - go for a wander to the nearby mall where there are lots of food options and a supermarket or better a 15 minute stroll to chinatown for better value, and buy beer in a convenience store in Chinatown. Location is superb - 10 min walk to historic centre, 5 mins further to chinatwon and if you don't fancy that then there are always loads of gaudy, pop playing trishaws waiting to take you around - ~RM15 to the centre of Chinatown, RM50 for an hour twon tour - tacky but an essential Melaka experience and great fun! Local people really friendly, but do think about dress - you will fit in better if your knees and elbows, better still wrists and ankles, are covered. Strappy tops and shorts are not welcome and sometimes attract negative attention.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentflyerSeaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2011

Stayed there with a friend for a night. Its walking distance to the Dutch fort and Jonker street and a couple of shopping malls. However, the hotel looks like its aged and would have been grand when it opened. Stayed in a standard room. Shower was broken. There was a fridge, coffee making facilities. The air freshener used was too strong. The room also had a balcony. Breakfast was pretty standard but service was good. My friend and I chose this hotel because of its 5-star and location. I would say that I've been to better hotels in Melaka but for location, this is the best!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bably80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#12 of 166 in Melaka
2,362 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,385 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 166 in Melaka
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,421 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#14 of 166 in Melaka
776 reviews
0.3 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#9 of 166 in Melaka
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Melaka

Property: Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Address: Jalan Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Melaka, Hotel Equatorial Melaka is a 5-star international business hotel with 496 elegantly furnished guestrooms and suites offering stunning views of the Straits of Melaka and St. Paul's Hill, whilst providing our guests the most luxurious comfort and service. It is ideally located within a few minutes' walk from historical sites and trails, shopping complexes, night spots, financial institutions as well as the ever famous Jonker's Street - a haven for antique collectors and bargain hunters. Featuring guestrooms ranging from the modest Deluxe room to the Presidential Suite, the hotel rooms are tastefully furnished along elegant and contemporary designs. Each room features an ensuite bathroom, and comes equipped with a flat-screen television, mini-refrigerator, coffee & tea making facilities, in-room personal safe, IDD telephone line, individually controlled air-conditioning, complimentary wireless internet access, hair dryer, cable channels and iron/ ironing board. Relax, take a swim, or simply keep in shape when you stay in Hotel Equatorial Melaka. Equinox Fitness Centre located on Level 3 offers state-of-the-art gym equipment and also includes a steam room, sauna, cold plunge pool and indoor Jacuzzi. Whereas, sun worshippers will appreciate a relaxing dip in the outdoor swimming pool located on Level 4, whilst the kids can enjoy the children's pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing