We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is fantastic hotel for family, relaxation and sight seeing in Melaka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Ranked #117 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Jurong, Singapore
1 review
“It is fantastic hotel for family, relaxation and sight seeing in Melaka”
Reviewed January 29, 2011

It is located walking distance to shopping malls and tourism spots. There were friendly staffs making our family trip warm. With a lot of facilities (notable that pool facilities is surrounded by greenery) provided free, we were encouraged to pick up various activities at ease and flexible (and multiple short rounds). I can understand that a lot of family group guests during school holiday seasons (which demanded more cleaning works), the cleaning staffs would be short handed to handle it perfectly. As long as they are trying their best to provide good service to all rooms, I still appreciate their service.
I rate the hotel “Above expectation”

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    122
    172
    121
    141
See reviews for
335
61
18
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2011

We went there over for christmas.. we along with our friends family drove from Singapore.. we booked two units of 2 bedrooms each.. we arrived at 2.00 pm round about the checkin time.. reception staff looked quite exhausted and overloaded.. not a pleasing sight.. our rooms were facing each other on level 4.. outside of the hotel looks five star.. but when we took the lift we know we are in for a surprise.. filnally we arrived on the level 4 and all our hopes of having a good holday were doomed.. then we checked in the rooms.. couldnt believe the rooms were given to us without cleaning and the rooms were dirty as it was used by some else before us.. no housekeeping done!! then we called up the reception and the response was again lousy.. they came probably an hour later.. well the day went by.. next morning when we woke up, our friends in the other room told that they didnt have electricity supply since 4 am.. and it was 9 am already.. 4 hours without power.. cant believe it.. and none had come till 10 am to fix it.. I mean these are some of the basic amenities that we take for granted when checking in any hotel room let alone a 4 star hotel.. our holidays were ruined.. Final verdict.. I wouldnt go there again neither would I recommend anyone..

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank singtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Outside looked really lovely as we were driving up to the hotel. Reception we thought was reasonable, and then we got into the lifts to our room... The lift was slow, and we were afraid that it was going to break down on us. Then we got out, and there was a Malay family camping outside the lift. We then walk down the hallway to our room, and it was like revisiting the early 80s all over again. The apartment room was tidy but dirty and there were holes in the ceiling in the bathroom. Found hair in the bed. Security also looked dodgy.

Thankfully, I had cancelled a night and forfeit our accommodation prior so we only stayed there that one night. My partner and I were so disgusted that we stayed out as late as possible to avoid going back to the room.

The only positive about this hotel, is that it's walking distance to the sights.

Service was also terrible.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selangor
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2011

It was strategically located where merely walking distance to the shopping malls, pahlawan, tourism spots and even nearby drinking session at Jetty. I was lucky and felt pleased when i saw heavy traffics everywhere. Furthermore, the pool facilities were beautiful surrounded by greenery and plants. Overall, i would grade it as above expectation and hope for more on my next visits.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OngSL83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

We were walk-ins. On the exterior, the hotel looks decent with a nice pool. Past the pool, we saw the first signs of age. The room was worse than we thought. The sofa and bed were old and smelled damp. The toliet was leaking. The air con was dirty and smelled bad. Overall the place is old and in terrible condition. The condition of the room was so bad that we did not want to stay in the room. Do not be deceived by the exterior. This place is dirty in need of an overhaul.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cityhontas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2010

1) We are given two keys to open the door but it cannot be open. This is due to the damage or loose of the key loop. We tried several times and finally managed to open by the help of the next door people.
2)The flow of water in the bathroom was extremely little when we flush the tiolet or use the basin tap. When we called the front service counter, they told us they will send the technician to check on it immediately. Waiting for about 10 mins, there is still no sign of the technician. Therefore, we called again and was told that they are still on the way....... They promised to change the room for us the next day but never call also.
Their service is very very bad, if you ask me whether I would recommend anyone to book this hotel, my answer is NO!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IL898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Booked a two nights stay at Casa Del Rio Melaka. Upon arrival, found that hotel is still under construction!!! (But that is another story...) it's already 5pm so did a quick one night booking at Arenaa De Luxe. Quite a nice little hotel but family hopes to upgrade to a bigger 4 or 5 stars hotel. Next morning, did a quick internet search and chance upon Mahkota Hotel, a so called 4 star award winning international hotel. Strange that it still has rooms available, as many others 4/5 stars hotels are fully booked. Should have been warned. But running close to check out time, so went ahead to book a 2-bedroom deluxe at Mahkota. Worse ever holiday decision! Basically went thru same experience as all the other reviewers here. My kids didn't dare to take their bath!! I had to preach to them about going thru hardships in life to grow as a person, before they reluctantly took their bath!!!! And wife scolded me for not warning her about the tap water - she drank some of it and it taste horrible, like from the drain. Holiday mood gone. Lesson learnt- check out tripadvisor before making your hotel booking.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SGtravellerlah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.5 mi away
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
#32 of 166 in Melaka
178 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Straits Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#15 of 166 in Melaka
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#9 of 166 in Melaka
367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Imperial Heritage Melaka
Imperial Heritage Melaka
#26 of 166 in Melaka
239 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kings Green Hotel
Kings Green Hotel
#20 of 166 in Melaka
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahkota Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Property: Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Address: No. 16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mahkota Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahkota Hotel Melaka comprises one main hotel block & 8 blocks of hotel apartment. Located on the waterfront in the heart of historical Melaka, adjacent to the Mahkota Parade and Melaka Megamall - Dataran Pahlawan, the city's most popular shopping and entertainment complex, and within short walking distance to the business hub of Melaka as well as various historical places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mahkota Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaka Mahkota Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing