We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Ranked #114 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Avoid this hotel.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2009

Although the grounds of the hotel are decent, our hotel room was awful. I have the feeling that this was originally an apartment block that was converted into a hotel, as the room design is poor. Take for instance the kitchen - there is a stove hot-plate, but you are not allowed to use it for cooking... what else would you use it for?

Also, the air-con was poor, and the rooms were not clean (there was a finger nail on the floor - gross!).

Location isn't great either. It is difficult to cross the roads and the streets smell like excrement. Foul.

Unless there are no other options, don't stay here.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gargoMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    122
    168
    116
    139
See reviews for
324
60
18
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2009

let's start with the room. I saw a Lizard and the room was infested with mosquitoes. I wasn't sure if the bed has fleas. The fan in the living room is so noisy. The sofa was fine. the hot pot is rusty. the worst is the TOILET!! when you first step in, take a look at the toilet bowl. the water is yellow as if people urine in it before. I don't know if the water is yellow or the shower head was rusty. My family members keep scratching their body after bathing and its not because they did not bathe clean. While, but at least its just a 5 min walk to food and shopping centers. the swimming pool is lovely. At least they have two swimming pool to prevent over crowding. But this trip was very disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItsmeEnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2009

Stayed just one nites in a 2 bedrooms premier with 3 other friends on 8 December 09. Great location and easy access on road shopping malls and shops across the road. Room is acceptable at RM400. Its a hotel with families.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeRoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2009

The rooms are really horrid. I read the reviews and i thought to myself well they can't be that bad right, after all, it's a hotel. But no, the fridge was spoilt, like a dungeon for rats, the floors of the apartment looked dirty, the furniture was old, there was no air con in the living room, the view from the balcony was of a swamp, or remains of a mangrove plantation, the water was yellow for a while, the lift looks like a cargo lift which is really slow. I know the rooms aren't cheap so these are just unacceptable.

Good point about it though was that it is very near to good makan places about 5-8 minutes walk out. Then again, the walk out had to be fast because the canals/drains along the hotel smelt like s h i t. Literally.

It's also close to Mahkota Parade and another shopping centre next to it. You can also walk to Jonker's street which is probably about 10-15 minutes walk. The roads are dangerous though, the hotel is just outside a high way road so running across the roads is inevitable.

The pools are the only thing we were happy with. Oh yes and the rooms are huge too.
I only went because my friend had free rooms. And we only had fun because we made it to be fun. Other than that, the hotel could have been a disappointment.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Livingbythehighway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
846 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 552 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

We were with my office colleagues on a company sight seeing trip to Malacca. The company reserved two bedroom units for us since we were with our kids.

This is the first time Ive stayed in a two room bedroom in Malaysia and it was very spacious two bedroom unit. The kids love our room.

My kids specially love the swimming pool which was sort of a wading pool.

It is also very near a big mall and near to the tourist attractions in Malacca.

If u every visit Malacca with your family I suggest you book a two room apartment like ours.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

We really enjoyed our 4 nights at the hotel. We are a family with young children and enjoyed the large 2 bedroom appartment and the swimming pools and the price. We mainly came to Melaka for the sites rather than the resort lifestyle so the lovely swimming pools for the kids and the 2 bed appartment were an added bonus when we turned up. The place has a faded elegance and has seen grander days but everything was clean and comfortable and we met a number of malaysians who were staying there that said that they loved staying at the place.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank youngkidsinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2009

Initially when I read those reviews, i was thinking maybe those are of higher expectations.I am someone who is easy with hotel. First night we managed to book Equatorial Hotel and spend a wonderful night there. However, the next day the hotel was fully booked so no choice we went to Mahkota. The lobby for Mahkota was nice, swimming pool and surrounding was nice... BUT to our horror when we opened the door to our 1 bedroom apartment...no aircon in living room (was so hot) and the bedroom was old and small. Worst is the cupboard and bathroom. So retired. We are so disappointed and all our holiday spirits are gone immediately. When we wanted a bath, the light bulb is spoilt. Called 4 times within an hour and the maintenance is still not here. My hubby asked for the manager and immediately 2 maintenance guys appeared. Sigh... what a holiday.... be careful of what you are chosing... they are not cheap too!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amamenilec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.4 mi away
The Straits Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#17 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
#30 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Imperial Heritage Melaka
Imperial Heritage Melaka
#31 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kings Green Hotel
Kings Green Hotel
#18 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#10 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahkota Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Property: Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Address: No. 16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mahkota Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahkota Hotel Melaka comprises one main hotel block & 8 blocks of hotel apartment. Located on the waterfront in the heart of historical Melaka, adjacent to the Mahkota Parade and Melaka Megamall - Dataran Pahlawan, the city's most popular shopping and entertainment complex, and within short walking distance to the business hub of Melaka as well as various historical places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mahkota Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaka Mahkota Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing