We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor maintenance of their facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Ranked #114 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Poor maintenance of their facilities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Room type was wrong in the first place, i booked for a 2 room apartment suite with 1 double bed and 2 single bedded room but the management claimed they only have 2 single bedded room.
Room was warm when we entered it took 30 minutes too cool down the room temperature.
Lift was slow.
The poor maintenance and poor cleanliness of the room leave a bad impression to us. Water hose was broken, tiles were dirty. water were yellowish or dirty. carpet with stain chio and broken wardrobe. The guest amenities was good but with the poor maintenance of the room it reduce the satisfaction to stay with the hotel.
Called operator for assistant, instead of assist the guest to direct the call but they told as the number to dial. have to rent or borrow the wine glass personally from the lounge. The pool was dirty patrons to the pool were not in proper attire and was very crowded.
The good point is the hotel was located at the major attraction.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dkny_y2d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    122
    168
    116
    139
See reviews for
324
60
18
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

Must wear swimming suit. No t-shirt and legging. Water dirty in bathrooms. Sliding door can open. Dangerous for kids. Not suitable for muslim and family with child. Staff and guard unfriendly and long face.

Room Tip: rooms corner more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nonialim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Hugh, nice and superb Hotel. Very comfortable for family. The stay was good but the bedsheet was torn.
Spacious room and helpful staff. Big pool. It will be good if there is free WI-FI.
Location is very convenience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veronglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Pleasant stay with walking distance to tourist attraction and shopping mall.
Staffs are friendly and helpful.
My favorite complimentary breakfast is Nasi Lemak with sambal chilli.
Hotel stay will be perfect with a WIFI connection.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beditoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Staffs are kind and helpful, hotel cleanliness is kept. Requested for 2 single-bed rooms but was given a complimentary suite so we can all stay together. Walking distance(about 15 to 20mins) to tourist attractions like Jonker Street, Pink City and Dataran Pahlawan shopping mall.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serenelizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Brownish water coming out of the pipes, beds very small. Something stinking really bad in the breakfast area. Worst thing; the filter grids around the pool are so rotten through that my 5 year old son fell through one into a half meter deep hole banging his head on the concrete. I count myself lucky nothing worse happened. When I went to reception to vent my anger they just stared at me with a vacant look as if they did not care one way or another. And they probably don't. Let alone that they secured the place so other guests would not fall into the Dave hole. This place should be used as target practice by the army. I travel a lot and have stayed at many sub standard places, but this joint beats them all.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Fritzy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We were there for a 2 days 1 night stay. The water was terrible as it looks like long time never use like tat and the yellowish water came out from the water pipe. The double bed was small but still ok to sleep. We only managed to get level 2 so can't comment for the view from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.4 mi away
The Straits Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#17 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
#30 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Imperial Heritage Melaka
Imperial Heritage Melaka
#31 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kings Green Hotel
Kings Green Hotel
#18 of 167 in Melaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#10 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahkota Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Property: Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Address: No. 16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mahkota Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahkota Hotel Melaka comprises one main hotel block & 8 blocks of hotel apartment. Located on the waterfront in the heart of historical Melaka, adjacent to the Mahkota Parade and Melaka Megamall - Dataran Pahlawan, the city's most popular shopping and entertainment complex, and within short walking distance to the business hub of Melaka as well as various historical places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mahkota Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaka Mahkota Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing