We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must wear swimming suit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Ranked #119 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must wear swimming suit”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Must wear swimming suit. No t-shirt and legging. Water dirty in bathrooms. Sliding door can open. Dangerous for kids. Not suitable for muslim and family with child. Staff and guard unfriendly and long face.

Room Tip: rooms corner more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nonialim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    124
    172
    122
    141
See reviews for
335
62
19
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Hugh, nice and superb Hotel. Very comfortable for family. The stay was good but the bedsheet was torn.
Spacious room and helpful staff. Big pool. It will be good if there is free WI-FI.
Location is very convenience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veronglee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Pleasant stay with walking distance to tourist attraction and shopping mall.
Staffs are friendly and helpful.
My favorite complimentary breakfast is Nasi Lemak with sambal chilli.
Hotel stay will be perfect with a WIFI connection.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beditoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Staffs are kind and helpful, hotel cleanliness is kept. Requested for 2 single-bed rooms but was given a complimentary suite so we can all stay together. Walking distance(about 15 to 20mins) to tourist attractions like Jonker Street, Pink City and Dataran Pahlawan shopping mall.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serenelizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Brownish water coming out of the pipes, beds very small. Something stinking really bad in the breakfast area. Worst thing; the filter grids around the pool are so rotten through that my 5 year old son fell through one into a half meter deep hole banging his head on the concrete. I count myself lucky nothing worse happened. When I went to reception to vent my anger they just stared at me with a vacant look as if they did not care one way or another. And they probably don't. Let alone that they secured the place so other guests would not fall into the Dave hole. This place should be used as target practice by the army. I travel a lot and have stayed at many sub standard places, but this joint beats them all.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Fritzy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We were there for a 2 days 1 night stay. The water was terrible as it looks like long time never use like tat and the yellowish water came out from the water pipe. The double bed was small but still ok to sleep. We only managed to get level 2 so can't comment for the view from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

About 30 colleagues of mine and I stayed at this hotel for 1 night and 2 days to attend our organisation's retreat. As some of our senior staff came down from Kuala Lumpur, the nation's capital, the purpose of our short stay was just right as our hotel package was an excellent one. The check-in was effortless as the hotel staff took great care to make us comfortable. We have the advantage of two seminar rooms provided by the hotel management for our deliberations. For us as a group it was indeed a pleasant stay.

I stayed in a junior suite which was clean and no complaints here. Good airconditioning and shower but no bathtub. However, while the food spread in the main restaurant, both at breakfast and dinner, was quite good I find the quality needs some upgrading. Two of the staff in the restaurant were however excellent and took great care that our group enjoyed the food. On the first day, I went to the gym where I found the exercise gadgets are relatively old. Perhaps the management can spare some budget to upgrade the whole place and ambiance.

The hotel is also part of the Mahkota Apartment which is at a distance from the main lobby. I observe that there are many guests there with their families and small children. However, they are seperated by having their own restaurants and a swimming pool. Quite useful if you like to bring your own family members but can be quite noisy there.

If one likes sightseeing, Melaka is a fantastic place to visit as this is an historical city which was colonised for more than 400 years in succession by the Portugese (beginning in 1511), the Dutch and lastly the British. Thus one can visit historical places such as A Famosa, St Paul's Hill, Stadhuys, and old churches built during those days. Some of them are within walking distance from the Mahkota Hotel. One is also accessible to two shopping malls nearby.

Room Tip: If one likes a bit of quiet, then the hotel section will be more comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnuwarBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.5 mi away
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
#34 of 166 in Melaka
183 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Straits Hotel & Suites
1.1 mi away
The Shore Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#18 of 166 in Melaka
484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#9 of 166 in Melaka
375 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kings Green Hotel
Kings Green Hotel
#22 of 166 in Melaka
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahkota Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Property: Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Address: No. 16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mahkota Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahkota Hotel Melaka comprises one main hotel block & 8 blocks of hotel apartment. Located on the waterfront in the heart of historical Melaka, adjacent to the Mahkota Parade and Melaka Megamall - Dataran Pahlawan, the city's most popular shopping and entertainment complex, and within short walking distance to the business hub of Melaka as well as various historical places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mahkota Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaka Mahkota Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing