We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price slightly steep. Not worth what you pay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mahkota Hotel Melaka
Ranked #119 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night. Free parking provided. Strictly check in after 2pm. Counter staff service was good. Received rooms keys but only 1 room able to access. Stuck outside for the other room as the key seems to have error. Bathroom was not that clean. Shortage of soap and shampoo and water from the bowl is yellowish after flush. Shower water pretty small. Overall feel not worth for the price paid.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weijie1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
There are newer reviews for Mahkota Hotel Melaka
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

367 - 373 of 611 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

Food sucks like s***:-\
Room had 2 cockroaches(flying ones)
Lights cant work.
Had yellow one in the toilet bowl.
Dosen't give free water.
Extreamly Dirty.
Air corn made sounds
Key card slot dosen't work.
Rusty Tap.
Stayed with the school for 1night.
Hotel staff very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CLWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Location very good...
Room spacious, tidy and well maintain.....newly renovated
Aircond superb
Bathroom not so ok with tub a bit dirty and tear out
Limited tv channel....out dated tv
Restaurant and breakfast average
Pool clean
Ample basement parking

Room Tip: Ask for city view.....lovely night scene
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tungau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Visited for 2 nights, business. Great improvement from last stay over 5 years ago. However quality of finishes/fittings could have used better attention to detail. Food adequate, service good. Greatest positive is the superb location, walking distance for great shopping, food and "touristy spots "

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramli27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Price is affordable and room is spacious for its value and pricing. Considering around RM228++ per room per night for 1 Bedroom (Twin Bed) with a living room hall is pretty affordable when converted back to Singapore dollars / per person / per night (about RM114 per person per night is equivalent to about S$50 per person per night and is inclusive of buffet breakfast). It has nice swimming pool, service was pretty good (concierge), easy access to 2 major shopping malls (Mahkota Parade and Dataran Pahlawan) within walking distance.

The cons are the door access key cards, or rather, the door access reader is spoilt, hence every time we use the key card to open the door, the next time we have to go to reception to get a new key card and reset. Also, the water from the shower is very little and the heater requires 10 minutes beforehand to heat up and is not stable (sometimes too hot and sometimes too cold), hence it is not possible to have quick showers. Room service foods can be better though. Also, the executive spa is rather expensive and not so worth it as it was a normal type of massage spa (in my opinion).

Room Tip: It helps to get the rooms at Block 5 or 6, which are nearest to the main lobby in case you need to c...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena_Woo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Mahkota hotel is not very good at facility, the water was quite yellowish and the wardrobe was broken when i opened it. But, the good point is that this hotel was very close to the center attraction of the city. such as Jonker street, various museum, and Dataran Pahlawan Mall Center, but anything beside the strategic location it's not that worthed for relaxing inside the hotel , just good for stay over night.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank KingsenYan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear Kingsen Yan,

Thank you for choosing Mahkota Hotel Melaka during your recent trip in Malacca.
We regret to learn that you and your family have experienced some difficulties during your recent stay.
We normally will advice to all our guests to run the tap water for few minutes before use, because some apartments were not occupied for more than 48 hours hence there will be some yellowish water.
Hope to welcome you and your family back to the Hotel during your next trip in Malacca.


Thank you & have a pleasant day!

From The Management & Staff of Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

well, despite the fact that the room are quite outdated, both me and family are impressed with the staff. They are both cheerful and helpful, and help me to babysit my 8-month old boy so both me and my wife can enjoy a nice dinner, with our gem in sight . . . thanks so much

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaxximo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahkota_Marcom, Marcom at Mahkota Hotel Melaka, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear jaxximo,

Thank you for choosing Mahkota Hotel Melaka during your recent trip in Malacca.
We are pleased to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We will definitely share your kind comments with our department heads.
Once again, appreciate your valuable time to share your experience and evaluate us.
We hope to welcoming you and your family back to the Hotel during your next trip in Malacca.


Thank you & have a pleasant day!

From The Management & Staff of Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Crown Hotel - Melaka
1.1 mi away
The Shore Hotel & Residences
0.5 mi away
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
#36 of 167 in Melaka
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Hatten Hotel Melaka
#13 of 167 in Melaka
2,395 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Straits Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#18 of 167 in Melaka
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahkota Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahkota Hotel Melaka

Address: No. 16 Jalan Syed Abdul Aziz, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Melaka
Price Range: $36 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mahkota Hotel Melaka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 376
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mahkota Hotel Melaka comprises one main hotel block & 8 blocks of hotel apartment. Located on the waterfront in the heart of historical Melaka, adjacent to the Mahkota Parade and Melaka Megamall - Dataran Pahlawan, the city's most popular shopping and entertainment complex, and within short walking distance to the business hub of Melaka as well as various historical places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mahkota Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melaka Mahkota Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing