We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality good, location great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hatten Hotel Melaka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hatten Hotel Melaka
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hatten Square, Jalan Merdeka, Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 161 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Quality good, location great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Like the title says, I've no complaints about the hotel's quality. I was in a twin share but a third bed might be tough to squeeze in. The location is superb. Connected to Palawan mall and diagonally across from makhota.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schumi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    958
    320
    83
    61
See reviews for
731
436
44
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in June 2014 and the overall experience was good. Although it could be better during check in, but it was acceptable especially we were checking in on Sun and everyone was checking out.
Lots of shopping nearby and walking distance to Jonker Street. Good exercise after eating chicken rice and assam laksa. Rooms are well furnished and spacious. We thought that the complimentary breakfast is going to be a mad rush but they handled it quite well. The spread was good and quality acceptable.
Parking is a little inconvenient as it is shared between the hotel and the mall but a little patience is all you need. Will stay at Hatten again, perhaps offering some discounts during low periods will be good.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcus_Chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

After reading the past positive reviews on this new hotel, our expectations were high. We check-in exactly at 3pm, hotel check in time, the room wasn't ready yet. We were given a room only at 4pm!!! No apology or what-so-ever. Overall the room is ok for Malacca standard. Personally I think it's NOT worth SGD165 per night (Deluxe)!

These are the few things we like and dislike about the hotel:

LIKE
1) Free parking
2) Sky bridge linking to the 2 big malls, but not really near Jonker street
3) Room view
4) Staffs are friendly and helpful
5) Strong water pressure

DISLIKE
1) The hotel is more for the big travel group
2) Poor breakfast which dine inside the big ballroom and sharing table with big travel group
3) Have to go down to Ground floor to valid parking ticket before you exit the car park at 5-6th floor which you'll normally ended up parking at
4) Need to pay at the ground floor first prior to every call you intend to make from your hotel room
5) Busy front counter, slow check in
6) Cleanliness can be improved

Room Tip: Higher floor can have a glimpse of the Straits of Malacca.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahfook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Am impressed with the room with two TV. It's great when the man decides to watch world cup and I could have what I want to watch as well. The bed was comfy (and huge for two skinny bones) and the staffs were really nice qnd friendly. Location was good with an overheadbridge linking the hotel to the shopping mall across the street. Pretty near all the attractions around. This hotel stay was a plus point to our short getaway.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Penny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
137 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Wow, 2 TVs in a room? Enjoyed the gym as it has decent equipment and the pool. Loved that H&M and Pacific Coffee was co-located at the hotel. Breakfast was way too crowded for me, fd so-so. Hotel was abt 15-20min walk to Jonker st but very near to Amy's heritage cuisine which served great Peranakan fd.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hedgiebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Overall the hotel has been one of the best hotels in Malaysia. While the breakfast isn't always the hottest, the selection is good. Beware, while there don't seem to be many options for laundry in the area, you will spend a fortune to have it done by the Hatten. Not only are the per piece prices ridiculous, they add a service charge and many taxes. All in all, what would normally be one load at home cost us about $90US!!!

Room Tip: The higher up you are the longer it takes to get an elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Hatten is a beautiful hotel, with a good location in the centre of city. The lobby is very impressive. The interior was beautiful and rather massive. We stayed at the premier floor in the junior suites. Check in was done at the 12 Floor. The staff at the check in was great. They tried to accommodate us and provided fantastic service. There is where it stopped. Due to the unbelievable number of people patronizing the hotel, it becomes like a busy shopping centre at sale time! All day! My advise is not to go during long weekends or school holidays. The service staff were kept on their feet 24/7 literally! Breakfast was a nightmare! You either jostle with the crowd or queue for a table. The premier floor was no different from the other floors as compared to other hotels where there is an age limit. It became more like a playground for kids and families. Despite all this, the service staff were calm, courteous and accommodating. On the plus side, the shopping centre is connected to the hotel offering easy access. The room was good and beds were comfortable. Many eateries available outside the hotel. Hotel high tea and steamboat buffet priced reasonably and is substantial. Overall stay was good minus the crowds.

Room Tip: Select the premier rooms from 19 floor upwards. Far from the 'maddening' crowds and also qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MBA23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 161 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 923 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#13 of 161 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 1,353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#12 of 161 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#10 of 161 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 161 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 464 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 161 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatten Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatten Hotel Melaka

Property: Hatten Hotel Melaka
Address: Hatten Square, Jalan Merdeka, Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 161 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatten Hotel Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 704
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hatten Hotel is set against a picturesque vista of Melaka’s most famous historical landmarks, surrounded by the hustle and bustle of Melaka Raya; close to the city center with its cheerful nightlife, and mere minutes from the acclaimed UNESCO World Heritage site. With 704 deluxe suites ranging from 32 square meters to 98 square meters in size, Hatten Hotel offers you the utmost comfort, style and convenience. Now you can step out and discover the true essence of Melaka as Hatten Hotel is strategically located for your convenience. Discover history and excitement literally just footsteps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hatten Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing