We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Room, Great Rates”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Ranked #12 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Big Room, Great Rates”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed at Hatten for a night.. location is convenient and ample parking... Hotel is linked to nearby malls and shops.. rooms are clean and spacious (surprisingly).. its comfortable for business as well as family..

breakfast could have been better.. The sky bar lounge offers great views and good place to lounge if you prefer not to step out of the hotel.. Check in / out was quick..

They need to sort out the plumbing / piping issue in the toilet as parts of floor was wet in the morning..

I would return but only for the better nightly rates...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abdvad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    1,191
    426
    106
    78
See reviews for
976
552
55
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Location was good. Next to shopping centre and walking distance to local attractions. Fast Check-in. Rooms were spacious with sofa and 2 TVs. Lift to parking was extremely slow and very full. Long queue at breakfast area as private group are having on the same place. A lot of outsider use the swimming pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Superb city location, next to Mahkota Parade and Mahkota Medical Centre. We booked two Deluxe Suite rooms, each with one king size bed and stay overnight for our visit to Melaka on Mar 16 (Sun). Was allocated the room at 15th floor facing the hotel swimming pool (4ft depth) on 11th floor. From the windows of our rooms, we can see Dataran Pahlawan and the historic Melaka Sultanate Palace. Relatively huge room. The king size bed can comfortably sleep two adults and a child under 12 years old. There is also a 6 ft sofa inside the room. Buffet breakfast can be quite crowded in the morning. There is a linkway bridge from Hatten Sq Level 2 to Mahkota Parade but will need to walk through flight of steps. Similarly, there is a linkway from Level 1 to Dataran Pahlawan. During our stay, we shopped mainly at Mahkota Parade and Dataran Pahlawan. Will definitely stay back in this hotel when we are back in Melaka next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the swimming pool or city centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KM_SGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
766 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Hatten is definitely well located for easy access to all the malls and food nearby. They also provide free shuttle to Jonker street. The staff is very attentive and helpful. We stayed at the junior suite which has its own premier checkin and breakfast floor. Will most definitely come back again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Erico2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

In my opinion, it's the best modern hotel in Melaka - but also one of the more expensive ones. I had a room on the 21st floor and so got some noise from the 22nd storey nightclub till past midnight. Decent breakfast on the 22nd storey; nice view. The room was spacious, comfy and clean. Bathroom was spacious, shower was nice size (though the rainshower water pressure could have been stronger). The lifts tended to be slow becos of the number of guests. Getting to the carpark (free parking provided) from the hotel was a hassle mainly becos of the slow lifts. Hotel is located next to two large malls and not too far from Jonker Street. Plenty of restaurants in the vicinity. Overall, highly recommended.

Room Tip: 21st storey rooms can get noisy late at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EYeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

On short trip to Malacca, decided to stay nearer to town and shopping centers.

Large modern hotel which charged budget rates. Check-in by pleasant smiling female staff was quick even though on a busy Saturday.

Room was clean, well-fitted with comfortable bed and 2 types of pillows. 2 distiiled bottles plus
kettle for coffee/tea were provided free. Toilet was spacious with usual tolieteries. Towels were
clean with absorbent, soft quality.

There were 6 lifts in the hotel tower so didn't waste time getting around. Taxis were readily
available but as close to shopping centres, restaurants; recommend to walk around to enjoy
the various shops and eateries.

Although near to main roads, not much sound detected. American breakfast came with both
western and local dishes were similar to a lunch buffet so noticed many stuffing themselves
to save on eating lunch.

Get your money's worth and stay here next time you visit Malacca.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms facing town as those facing back only see air-well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Overall the hotel comfort is good but i wouldn't say it's a 5 star hotel, if you compare a 5 star hotel with singapore or europe. E.g bath towels were inconsistently replaced - some days lack of one towel, coffee table was dirty and full of stains, not sure if it could be cleaned off or not.

Worst off is the attitude of the staff, and the points to be aware of being cheated :
1. at the breakfast table, I couldn't finish the coffee and wanted to take the coffee cup to the pool area and take fresh air, but the staff ran all the way to the lift just to tell me I cannot take any food out of the breakfast area. I know the policy of not taking food but it's only a cup of coffee. I've always done this at big 5 star hotels in europe.

2. well if the hotel is so strict on rules, I hope they also be strict with their own behavior - I went to the spa for a massage, on the brochure it says "arrive 10mins earlier to prepare for the appointment", and so I arrived 8.50pm for the massage at 9pm. It probably took the rest 10mins for them to prepare the room, and I changed, but when the massage ended, changed and I walked out for the payment, I looked at the same clock and it was only 9.45pm. it was supposed to be a one hour massage. I told the staff and she even tried to argue that it's because I arrived at 8.45pm (which is not true). In the end, she suggested a 10% discount when I said it was in their paper stated that clients arrive 10minutes before session. what nonsense! this never happened before in any massage places I've been to.

3. beware also of the blue taxi parked outside the hotel. I asked the staff if the taxi out there accepted RM20 flat rate for going to the Malacca Central, they said yes indeed. But when I walked out, no staff helped you flag down a taxi. Then I noticed something strange - although there were taxis all lined up outside on the road, no one approached you EXCEPT the blue color taxi - the rest of the taxi drivers just watched what happened. 2 men from the blue taxi walked towards us and said they are the legal , authorised metered taxi that charged by the meter, so can be less than the flat rate RM20 or 1/2 ringgit more. DO NOT BELIEVE what they said. first of all the meter started a RM2 surcharge they couldn't explain, then when you get out of the taxi the driver didn't stop the meter. So upon our taking down picture of the taxi license plate ( which is broken) and the picture of the driver, he said " ok ok it's RM24" - which is RM2 discount. whatever our questions he refuse to answer, complete change from when he approached us to take the taxi.

just be aware of these points.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ling A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#13 of 166 in Melaka
1,614 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#9 of 166 in Melaka
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 166 in Melaka
585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#14 of 166 in Melaka
775 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatten Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatten Hotel Melaka

Property: Hatten Hotel Melaka
Address: Hatten Square, Jalan Merdeka, Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatten Hotel Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 704
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hatten Hotel is set against a picturesque vista of Melaka’s most famous historical landmarks, surrounded by the hustle and bustle of Melaka Raya; close to the city center with its cheerful nightlife, and mere minutes from the acclaimed UNESCO World Heritage site. With 704 deluxe suites ranging from 32 square meters to 98 square meters in size, Hatten Hotel offers you the utmost comfort, style and convenience. Now you can step out and discover the true essence of Melaka as Hatten Hotel is strategically located for your convenience. Discover history and excitement literally just footsteps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hatten Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing