We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Hotel, Huge Rooms & Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Ranked #12 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Modern Hotel, Huge Rooms & Good Location”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Good - the room was huge as we upgraded to a junior suite because the normal rooms were booked during the weekend we stayed in the hotel, plus only junior suite rooms have king beds.
- room is very clean with a very comfortable bed and comforter
- bathroom was modern and a good size
- TV had a lot of channels
- location is good. right beside 2 huge malls with a covered walkway. also very near to the tourist attractions such as georgetown and the famous church.

Bad - the lobby is reeking of toilet smell. like a public toilet i must say, not hotel toilet smell. and i found out that at the end of the lobby are the restrooms which don't have doors and Im guessing this was causing the smell throughout the lobby.
- the front desk officers seems tired or bored with their jobs. the front desk officer who assisted us had long dirty nails which were very inappropriate. although, in general, i noticed most hotels don't give much emphasis on appearance anymore of their front office staff unlike back in the day when front office staff had to look like flight attendants, or at least that standard.
- breakfast was a mess. i think they couldn't accommodate the crowd that weekend that they made the next door ballroom as a makeshift restaurant. food selection was bad and the food served in the main restaurant was different and had more choices compared to the makeshift restaurant in the ballroom. we found this out when we finished eating and walked into the restaurant beside the ballroom.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a junior suite. It's worth the minimal cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shan_Abellaneda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    1,172
    421
    105
    76
See reviews for
966
543
52
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel is centrally located with malls and several places of interest nearby. Managed to booked a night at Hatten Hotel after recommendation by friends. The check in time is 3 pm while check out time is 11.30 am. My partner and I arrived at the hotel at about 5 pm on Sunday, checking in took a while as there were plenty of guests checking in. After a 20 mins wait, we received our room access card and proceeded to our room. When we opened up our room at the 17th floor, the room was in a mess. In fact, it was not ready and we were rather disappointed and rang up the reception and requested for a immediate room change. Took the staff about 30 mins to get this mistake sorted out and we were given another room on the 13th floor.

The room was nice and clean but the bathroom appeared to be a little run down. Overall, we are quite satisfied with the room. Breakfast was average although a variety was offered. The dining area was crowded when we were there around 8.30 am and I would recommend to have breakfast earlier to avoid the long queue just to get a table.

Do note that smoking within the building is not allowed. If you smoke, you may have to do it outside the building. The swimming pool is located at level 12. Overall, I rate my stay as average due to the crowd as well as the hiccup upon checking in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hansolow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I had a good stay at Hatten hotel. Room was fabulously furnished and clean, breakfast was awesome and it's better to head down earlier to avoid the queue, pool and spa amenities also totally awesome. Not overcrowded at the pool area and ideal place to relax and get away from all the stress of work life. I booked the spa package which was good although slightly on the pricey side. Short walk to shopping malls and also to the main town although it's advised that you do not venture too far late at night on foot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leadfreelament
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Good points: Hotel staffs were friendly. Room was nice and clean. No complains. It was very near to 3 shopping malls (Hatten Square, Dataran Pahlawan and Mahkota Parade), connected via pedestrian bridge. Close to restaurants and cafes. Improvement points: Check in was not really smooth, waited for about 15 mins to check as the queue was very long. I have problems to find parking (probably because it was a Saturday and the parking spaces is actually for both the hotel guests and the shopping mall visitors), waited approximately 25-30mins to get parking and went on from level 3 up to level 9, yet still waited for parking space. Lifts were very slow to the extent I waited almost 15 mins to get into the lift to go down from 13th floor to the lobby. Overall, parking and lifts are 2 main points of improvements for this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank as_yaacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Not bad, as I view around, the premises is new and clean and the large chandeliers hanging over the heads.... no other hotels had such vast many chandeliers displayed, not even in Equatorial which I had been staying for many times before I switched to Hatten. Staff have knowledge the hotel rates and rooms etc. there should be a coach bay for travellers as boarding up and down on the main road is quite unsafe for elderly folks and children... the breakfast menu could change a litter daily would help a better appetite.. .. the staff are efficient and quite a pleasant stay I had... but I realize the price had gone up RM50 since I came back 3 weeks ago.. how come???

Florence chua

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank florence c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I went to this hotel for a short stay (i wish i could have stayed longer) after work and planned to leave early the next day. Check-in was easy and the staff was really helpful. The car park was a bit confusing as you need to park your car at the mall's parking lot and have to take the elevator down to the lobby before you need to swith to the hotel lifts for you to get to your room. The room I've got was next to the pool which was a really nice view. The hotel setting was really nice and they are all new. Bed was superb that I dozed off immediately after i lay on it! Price was okay, quite affordable with the locatiion near to the makan place and Mahkota Parade. You can even walk to the historic places like Dataran Pahlawan (it is actually a mall but the place is historic too), the museums, old castle etc2. Just dont forget to put your shades and sunscreen on because if it's not raining, the weather could grill your skin (it is so near to the sea and the hot wind will burn your skin..did i say HOT?) Okay back to the hotel, it is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Any room will offer you great view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micheliachampaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Good Hotel - Clean,and well furbished. Rooms are spacious.
Long line to check in, but luckily, the room was available by 2pm.
Breakfast buffet was full - but luckily they set up the ball room as a make shift breakfast area.
If you plan to bum around in the room - the TV selection is very limited and quite crappy, so you're better off exploring the historical city rather than staying in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonjawarriorprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#13 of 166 in Melaka
1,602 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#9 of 166 in Melaka
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#14 of 166 in Melaka
757 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 166 in Melaka
567 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatten Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatten Hotel Melaka

Property: Hatten Hotel Melaka
Address: Hatten Square, Jalan Merdeka, Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatten Hotel Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 704
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hatten Hotel is set against a picturesque vista of Melaka’s most famous historical landmarks, surrounded by the hustle and bustle of Melaka Raya; close to the city center with its cheerful nightlife, and mere minutes from the acclaimed UNESCO World Heritage site. With 704 deluxe suites ranging from 32 square meters to 98 square meters in size, Hatten Hotel offers you the utmost comfort, style and convenience. Now you can step out and discover the true essence of Melaka as Hatten Hotel is strategically located for your convenience. Discover history and excitement literally just footsteps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hatten Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing