We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Ranked #13 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed in the Premier Suite which was a 2-bedroom suite.

The hotel is decent overall.

Public areas: Large, functional, gaudy lighting with friendly check in-staff.

Room: Big comfortable, functional rooms. If I had the choice of 2 Deluxe Rooms or 1 Premier Suite, I might just choose the former. The Premier Suite while had the added living room, dining area and a powder room, the premium wasn't justified at all.

The rooms are starting to see quite considerable wear & tear, and housekeeping definitely had plenty of room for improvement. For example, there was hair in the bathroom upon check-in, and the towels smelled musty. Housekeeping even tried to bargain with me offering 1 new towel in exchange for 4 which were clearly not washed properly.

Breakfast: Breakfast spread was ho-hum. Standard cereals, egg station, plenty of starch (porridge, friend noodles, nasi lemak). Nothing spectacular that stood out.

Spa & Pool: Staff were friendly. Advisable to visit the spa to make the booking as opposed to calling them from your room. The packages are affordable which explains why they were quite booked over the weekend. Opens from 10am to 10pm.

Location: While a 20mins hike away from Jonker Street, the hotel makes up in terms of location by being connected to 2 malls via sheltered linkways. The malls are decent. Just behind the hotel is by far the best Peranakan restaurant I've eaten in called Amy's (?). Food was better than Singapore. Be sure to book in advance though. She only has 7 tables available in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nimbostratus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,401)
There are newer reviews for Hatten Hotel Melaka
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,926 - 1,932 of 2,401 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed at Hatten Hotel Melaka from 13-15 July 2013. We have a little hiccup when we check in the hotel. When we made our booking, we have requested for connecting rooms but they gave us 2 rooms side by side. However, at the end, they managed to give us a connecting rooms. Just take note, all the connecting rooms does not have sea or city view. The windows are facing the windows of the opp rooms. The front desk staff that served us seems like a new staff and he is a bit blur and nervous. Next is the breakfast buffet; it has a lot of varieties but the food are not hot. Queue for the buffet can be quite long. If you stay over weekends, it tends to be very crowded. Also,the toilet door is malfunction and you have to force close the door. Wi-fi is not fully accessible in this hotel, I was told that only L21 has wi-fi connection at the moment. The lifts also very slow :(

However, I love the lobby and reception area - very elegant and nicely decorated. I also love the refreshing smell when you enter the hotel lobby. The room is very spacious! One plus point is that the hotel is linked to Hatten Square and Dataran Pahlawan Mall. It is within walking distance to Mahkota Parade Shopping Centre.

Hope the management will make some improvements to the lift, food at buffet counter, train the front desk staff.

Room Tip: Connecting rooms has no city or sea view. L21 has wi-fi connection at the moment.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Setay168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Hatten is located about 15-20minutes away from the popular Jonker street. The hotel is connected to its own shopping center but as the building is still rather new, there is nothing much yet. Beside the hotel, there is another shopping center which is fully opened and there is a lot of things. There is also a crepe cake shop at the corner of the shopping center, it seems popular though. There is also a link connecting the hotel to another shopping center in front. But there's also nothing much there.
One important thing, I cannot find any rubbish bins inside the hotel! The only one is located outside the hotel, I believe, for smokers to put out their cigarette.
Inside the hotel, it looks very modern. The reception staff are not very friendly, asking sharp close ended questions and not smiling at all. I understand that there is endless of people checking in but I was expecting good service since the hotel is new, and the staff are young people.
There is only free wifi in the lobby, not in the room, not in the dining area. For a big hotel, it would be good for the management to provide free wifi in the rooms as well. The room is quite spacious, there's two tvs, one tv at the bed area, and a partition for sofa and tv. You can see the sea from the room, but there was also quite abit of construction outside. I can see the crane from my room.
The next day, we had our breakfast at the hotel, package from the booking. However, there was so many people that they had to open the ballroom to cater for all the patrons. For the first time, we had to share table with other people to have our breakfast because there is still not enough seats!
After we check-out, we stayed in the lobby to wait for our bus. While waiting, we wanted to use the wifi but we found out that it was disconnected the moment one checks out of their room. I requested for password for the access. They had limited one password per person and the password was limited for only one gadgets' access. Even after I logoff the wifi, my friend cannot use the password again to login. It looks quite stingy for a big hotel to be so particular on such small service.
Also, opt for higher level rooms. We had a hard time waiting for the lifts to get down to the restaurant during the breakfast time. There is about 8 lifts, but not all seems to be in service. We waited for almost 10-15mins and finally decide to get the staff to direct us to their stairs to get down.
Overall, it is worthwhile to stay though there's some small issues. The hotel's still new, more room for improvement.

Room Tip: Choose high level rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnieTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Overall it's a great place to stay.
I love the room arrangement and the two TV.
Nice gym though quite simple and small.
Lifts are slow though.
Breakfast menus; the same everyday- stayed for 3 days; the same dishes everyday. May be they could make some minor change here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WDYF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Having been a regular visitor to the nearby "E" hotel, i finally tried this hotel after all the opening problems are probably resolved. Well, the location is good, the rooms are big and new. In terms of pricing, almost unbeatable and certainly giving a run for the competitors nearby. The only issue will be that the reception is poor, evidently catering to the masses and lack the warmth. The breakfast area was crowded and there was a long queue . The hotel is clearly functional and for those who want value for money but for the discerning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaymanSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

My sister was staying and I went to visit. We toured the beautiful poolside, huge gym with a great view and can see the sea.. the room was nicely furnished in a modern style. Just the toilet door was abit tough to lock and open. Otherwise good and convenient location. Fast wifi at lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yiweilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

ROOM
- the room was spacious and well organized. There was a daybed-type couch in the room, as well as a work desk with a comfortable chair. The daybed itself can fit an adult - can be used as another extra bed. The beds are firm but comfortable. No bathtub but really nice rain shower. Carpet in the room is well maintained.

POOL
- nice pool but the water seems very cold. the place itself a bit windy.

This hotel is just fantastic for families and I highly recommend it. Hopefully your experience will be as good as ours.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanyALGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#14 of 167 in Melaka
1,633 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
1,425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#10 of 167 in Melaka
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 167 in Melaka
605 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
1,439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#16 of 167 in Melaka
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatten Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatten Hotel Melaka

Address: Hatten Square, Jalan Merdeka, Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $52 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatten Hotel Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 704
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hatten Hotel is set against a picturesque vista of Melaka’s most famous historical landmarks, surrounded by the hustle and bustle of Melaka Raya; close to the city center with its cheerful nightlife, and mere minutes from the acclaimed UNESCO World Heritage site. With 704 deluxe suites ranging from 32 square meters to 98 square meters in size, Hatten Hotel offers you the utmost comfort, style and convenience. Now you can step out and discover the true essence of Melaka as Hatten Hotel is strategically located for your convenience. Discover history and excitement literally just footsteps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hatten Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing