We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thieves among the house keeping staff - management ignores complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Ranked #13 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed for our last days of our malaysia trip in this hotel. The frist impression was quite good: Big room with view over the coast line (but also construction areas).
At the 2nd day of our stay we came back to the room earlier than expected. The house-keeping staff was in the room, it was blocked with the card with the cleanigng utilities. When I entered the room I caugth the personal red-handed searching quite professional through our zipped bags.
I took the person to the management. The management ignored our complaints and we ourselves had to go for reporting the incident to the police.
Over all, the management "found their staff not guilty" and keeps employing him.
Be aware!

Room Tip: Be aware that house keepers might search through your bags!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Flo2013181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,126 - 2,132 of 2,477 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

It is a new hotel, smack in the middle of everything you need. Just name it and its a stone away. Even the Jonker's Street is not too far to walk in the hot sun, just use the malls to walk to end of road.

The rooms spacious, check in counter staff are excellent and the breakfast has so many varieties and great food!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlepods18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This could probably be one of the longest queue in my life time I ever seen! Honestly speaking. Rooms are great and kudos to the team. SInce everything is new in the hotel, there is probably no equipment issues but when it comes to service, it was bad.

Queue to check in and out takes approx 45 minutes during my stay (weekend). I heard they have like 500+ rooms so kinda acceptable. However, for guests like us, the queue is definitely a no-no stay especially on peak periods.

Also, parking is terrible there. Many floors of parking but it is hard to find parking during busy days. Maybe it was because it is linked to the mall.

Location wise, it is definitely strategic and good. Close to shopping malls and Jonker Walk.

Overall: If they can have a shorter queue or queue buster (some sort), then they could probably get a better rating. I stayed in many hotels in Melaka and this is definitely shocking to see such a long queue! Good for business but not so good for the customers.

Room Tip: Ask for king bed and seaview. Also, ask for rooms nearer to lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T3chnology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I consider the rates cheap, especially if you are sharing the room. We stayed in a room facing the pool, we left the curtains open when we slept, it felt so peaceful.
Buffet breakfast is so great, i wish i had eaten more. Staff are nice and helpful.
Now, the hiccups. I understand that the check in time is at 3 pm, but we were able to check in early and just come back at 3 pm to get the keycards. When we came back though only 1 room was ready (we booked 2). For us, at least one room was ready, so we could dump our things there and go out to see the city, but had it been 1 room and not yet ready, it would have been a disaster weekend.
Elevators don't work well, but maybe because there are too many people using that's why.
overall, it still a nice hotel, and so near to all the places to see.

Room Tip: choose the one with king size bed, the view is of the city and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Hatten Hotel is one of the newer Melaka hotels and it feels very modern and comfortable. It's in a good location right next to the Mahkota Parade and Dataran Pahlawan malls with Jonker Street a 20–30 minute walk away.

I stayed in a junior suite (twin) on the 21st floor and the room was definitely the best thing about the hotel, being spacious and well-equipped with all the modern comforts you could possibly need on your holiday (even a second flatscreen TV in case you and your roommate can't agree on what to watch). It's divided into the sleeping space, a small living room area that is the first space you enter, and a bathroom. Large windows let lots of natural light and the sea view was great too. Up on the 21st floor, the air-conditioning wasn't great in the stuffy and warm common areas and the room air-conditioning wasn't particularly powerful as well, but still passable. Free LAN internet access is available in the room (bring your own LAN cable) but it would have been so much more nicer if there were free WI-FI instead. The majority of Melaka tourists are probably weekend trippers with their smartphones and tablets and not laptops.

The biggest annoyance with the hotel is the very slow check-ins and check-outs. There are many, many guests at this hotel and the volume and high weekend turnover rate probably is something the hotel is struggling to cope with. Having dedicated check-in and check-out counters might probably help ease the traffic a bit. Right now it feels like you're picking a line and queueing up to clear immigration.

Our two rooms weren't ready when we reached the hotel at 2.30pm and were asked to return at 3.30pm. At 3.30pm, only one room was ready but that wasn't so bad as that meant we could park our belongings in a room and not at the concierge. A few of the other reviews also mention this problem and you notice that the other hotel guests in line with you are also facing the same problem so this seems to be a regular problem.

This annoyance is compounded when you finally get your keycards and head to the lifts, of which there are a number but are all temperamental and slow, and usually have a horde of hotel guests waiting to use. Lift rides are mildly alarming with irregular lags and surges in speed, and a sensitive over-capacity alarm that needs exxagerated recalibrating by having many people exit the lift each time the alarm is triggered. Waiting for the lift is a confusing experience as well as the lift arrival chimes are loud and ring and echo through the different levels, meaning you will be turning around many times thinking the lift is here.

The breakfast was passable with a good variety of cuisine. Due to the high number of guests, the restaurant was full and the Grand Ballroom was used as an alternative breakfast venue with its own breakfast buffet spread. This wasn't unpleasant although having a Japanese anime blaring on screens all around the ballroom during breakfast is a strange choice. The restaurant is situated on the 11th floor and not the ground floor so that meant the lifts were also in great demand, resulting in guests having to spend more time waiting for and using the lifts.

If Hatten Hotel can work out its operational issues and the wonky lifts, this will be an exceptional place to stay in when you're in Melaka as their rooms are a huge plus point.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eightysixxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for 1 night on a Saturday. The main selling point for the hotel is its location - just beside Makota Parade and Dataran Palawan where you can get easy access to old town white coffee and Mille crepe from nadeje. It is also a 10-15 mins walk to jonker but as you can cut through Palawan, it's not that hot in the humid weather. However, there are some things that can be improved. It was a cattle race to get into the lift in the morning and at check-out ...I must say that's a first in any hotel I have ever stayed in. The room was ok for the price but the towels were worn out/torn for such a new hotel. Shower also went hot/cold unexpectedly so beware. Breakfast was like a wedding banquet with strangers. We had some fried noodles and decided to make our way to more edible food.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toffeebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Pros : Good location, city center, nice pool, variety breakfast menu, large rooms with 2 lcd tvs.
Cons : no wifi, maxis receiver data plan also problem on15th floor, long wait for elevator, long queue check in /checkout, no carpet in lobby area

Room Tip: please choose swimming pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#14 of 168 in Melaka
1,672 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 168 in Melaka
1,488 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 168 in Melaka
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#10 of 168 in Melaka
423 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 168 in Melaka
1,462 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#16 of 168 in Melaka
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatten Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatten Hotel Melaka

Address: Hatten Square, Jalan Merdeka, Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $52 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatten Hotel Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 704
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hatten Hotel is set against a picturesque vista of Melaka’s most famous historical landmarks, surrounded by the hustle and bustle of Melaka Raya; close to the city center with its cheerful nightlife, and mere minutes from the acclaimed UNESCO World Heritage site. With 704 deluxe suites ranging from 32 square meters to 98 square meters in size, Hatten Hotel offers you the utmost comfort, style and convenience. Now you can step out and discover the true essence of Melaka as Hatten Hotel is strategically located for your convenience. Discover history and excitement literally just footsteps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hatten Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing