We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chatterz Restaurant serve halal food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Ranked #13 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed February 14, 2013

It was a last minute getaway with my elderly folks. To get to the lobby entrance you will need to drive a whole loop around the block. Free parking on level 3 to 9 but you need to validate ticket at reception before you leave the car park. There are 2 TV one remote control in the nice modern rooms. No Wifi in rooms only wired internet. Lan cable is available on loan at reception or housekeeping.
We arrived around 8pm and had our dinner at the Chatterz restaurant on the 11th floor which serves halal meals either buffet style or ala carte. MYR30 per head for ala carte. We had satay, nasi goreng istemewa, mee goreng seafood and kway teow goreng.
The breakfast buffet spread has lots af variety. Cereals, fruits, juices, tea n coffee, bread & pastries, muffin, cakes, nasi lemak, roti canai, tim sum, porride, egg station etc. It was Chinese New Year and there was a lion dance troupe performance in th lobby.
The shopping centres and tourist attractions are all within walking distance. Melaka river cruise is MYR10 for adults 45 mins and you get commentaries on board.
Melaka is a nice weekend getaway destination for Red Dotters.

Room Tip: Weekend rates are more expensive. Book early for cheaper room rates
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank szmeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,401)
There are newer reviews for Hatten Hotel Melaka
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,106 - 2,112 of 2,401 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

I was travelling in Penang, malacca and KL, among all the hotels I stayed, this was the worst.

We only stayed 2 nights here with my husband and my 1 year old son. We have a king sized bedroom with a pool view. Very nice when we first walked in. When we start unpacking, however, We found lots of dust on the bedside table..

It was even worst the second day after returning from a long day out... I found the bin with nappies, baby wasted food... were still sitting there. A glass of water I left from the night before still left unwashed. All cleansing gel and shampoo were not replaced at all. And I also found ants on the dressing table..... Very unacceptable!!

I insisted not to make a complaint on site since I did not want to spoilt our holiday.. I rang up housekeeping asking them to bring me a replacement set of the bath gel and tidy up the bin without any sign of blaming them. However, after 10 mins waiting this guy turn up at the door telling my husband that he did clean up the room... Oh! No! we did not want any argument and we felt like he was there to challegue us. I have him the dirty bin and asked him to come back with one contain no rubbish...

If he can call this clean, you all can imagine their cleanliness standard..

Anyway, although I agreed this is a very new and modern hotel, NO recommendation at all... If a room is so dirty, how on earth can this make people feel comfortable??!!!and I also found that he was very rude coming to argue he did clean the room.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rhailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Located in the midst of shopping areas however is approximate 15 min walk to jonker street. Good variety of breakfast but menu did not change. Comfortable room with full lenght windows and two flat screen tv. Access from the carpark to hotel is a hassle, we have always have to wait quite long for the lift from the carpark to lobby.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kohald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Whilst our stay at the Hatten hotel was good, we found the hotel rather impersonal and the public areas very spartan. The staff on reception didn't seem too clear on the check in procedure. Breakfasts were very good and overall the rooms were clean and very modern, but there was just something lacking.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kritigirl325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed here as part of a week in malacca having taken the bus down from KL. This whole area is being developed so there is a lot of air conditioned shopping and from the look of things it is an area which will be very developed in the next few years. The room I had at the Hatten was very comfortable and very well decorated. Breakfast at the hotel is on a lower floor and is based on a multinational buffet. The lobby is enormous - you could play football in it and when I was there was decorated for chinese new year which was beautiful. In my imagination I thought that Melacca would be a little more laid back and tropical than it actually is - this area is definitely heading towards being a shopping and err 'lifestyle' destination although funnily enough the shopping is not very interesting - an infinite variety of t shirts and mobile phone covers - (to be honest it looked as if the shopping capacity far outweighs likely customers and most of the staff are guarding shops empty of customers) across the road one of the malls has a local product section which is probably the highpoint. The hotel is very handy for the colonial attractions of Melacca (easy walking distance) and there are a range of museums within walking distance. There is a cinema opposite the hotel which was good for a couple of evenings and various bars around although Malaysian prices for alcohol meant that I just bought a bottle in the supermarker and had a drink in my room. I would recommend the Hatten though, very comfortable, nice food, well organised.

Room Tip: I think the rooms are probably all much the same here - the views are not super inspiring and the ho...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Timmy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

On the plus side: nice rooms, comfty bed, good location, good breakfast.
Minus: service quality (especially check-in took ages), cleanliness only ok for such a new hotel.
As a whole the stay was nice, especially the value for money was very good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Harry833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights (13-15 jan '13), got a room on the 18th floor, facing the pool & the city.
+ very spacious room! two TVs (though not very useful); comfortable bed and pillow!
+ nice bathroom (never had a rain-like shower head - i don't know what it's called)
+ wide range of nice tasting breakfast (american, asian, cakes, even had hard & soft boiled eggs).
+ great location!!! next to a mall selling gadget stuffs. 2 malls across the street. famous tourist sites are within walking distance (even the sites are located quite near to each other). bring umbrella though, it can get quite hot.
+ air conditioner can be adjusted on temperature. not just high - med - low.
+ receptionists and restaurant staffs are friendly :)

- no wifi except on public areas. WHY??? it's a five-star hotel! better exchange that other TV to have wifi in each room... the only reason it's 'very good', not 'excellent'.

additional:
it has gym, pool, sauna, etc. many facilities & great room/service, but I spend most of my day outside. so... didn't try any of it. you might want to take it into consideration if you're staying in this hotel.
it costs me around 400myr/2 nights. a really good price compared to hotels in SG & KL. but then again, melaka is a small town.
a taxi from the hotel to melaka sentral costs around 15-20 myr.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lexadk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#14 of 167 in Melaka
1,633 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
1,425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#10 of 167 in Melaka
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 167 in Melaka
605 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
1,439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#16 of 167 in Melaka
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatten Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatten Hotel Melaka

Address: Hatten Square, Jalan Merdeka, Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $52 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatten Hotel Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 704
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hatten Hotel is set against a picturesque vista of Melaka’s most famous historical landmarks, surrounded by the hustle and bustle of Melaka Raya; close to the city center with its cheerful nightlife, and mere minutes from the acclaimed UNESCO World Heritage site. With 704 deluxe suites ranging from 32 square meters to 98 square meters in size, Hatten Hotel offers you the utmost comfort, style and convenience. Now you can step out and discover the true essence of Melaka as Hatten Hotel is strategically located for your convenience. Discover history and excitement literally just footsteps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hatten Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing