We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but very bad services!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Ranked #13 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The good points staying here is the room cleanness and size. Plus the location which is very close to everything.

Other than that it doesn't deserve to be a 4 stars hotel.

Even with all front counters open it still took them almost 45 mins to check in one customer, furthermore there is no system in place or any indication to tell customer where to queue up for checking in. To make the customers more angrier were the supervisors or managers cant seem to take control of the whole situation or step in when customers were getting angry and started jumping queue.

And there is no sign to tell customer where to queue up to validate their parking ticket which mean customer have to wait in line with those customer who is checking in and out. Wasted almost 10 min ( will be even longer if i didnt jumped the queue) for just a 10 sec services.

As for the room, the shower drain was not working properly and the room safe is already lock. I needed to call the Front desk 3 times for them to take any action and it almost took them 1 hrs and with 3 reminder call for the maintenance staff arrive to fix the problems

Will no recommend to anyone unless they make a major improvement!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCCL1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,395)
There are newer reviews for Hatten Hotel Melaka
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,131 - 2,137 of 2,397 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

My girl and I stayed at this hotel just last weekend and my word it was great!
Breakfast was so good great variety plus they served cheese (brie). Enjoyed my stay there plus it's a walkable distance to the attractions around. Also all taxi drivers and rickshaw riders know this hotel which made it easy for us to get back no matter where we are!

If you're traveling with your special someone, that tv in your room has these radio stations channel. Turn on channel 20, forgot the name of the station but they air some really great 70s-80s love songs, perfect for your night after a long day out.

I would deffo go back here again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elijah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The experience of staying in this hotel was pleasant. Rooms were big. However, the hotel has recently been receiving too many guests causing lifts jammed packed during breakfast, and hotel seemed to be understaffed. The lobby has a stench smell of the toilet located near the reception. Hotel should look into moving the toilets somewhere else or something. Food were alright, but the restaurant would be quite squeezy during its peak periods. An average hotel for a newly furnished property.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floor for better window views.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeDi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

First of all, a big thanks to Mandy Lay from the check in desk. It's Christmas right now, we are a party of 4 and we are still here. She looked tired and it was very busy. Despite all of that, she got us a fantastic rooms its views, and she overcame problems with the fact that the hotel was conpletely booked out and that we were late. Thanks Mandy! This is the kind of customer service you get here with almost everyone, its all down to your attitude towards people. Most guest here now are Chinese families.... They bring a lot of stress to this hotel because they demand a lot for their kids.

We are all adults and are having a great time here... Absolute bargain too. More to add when we finish our stay.....

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed with my folks over the weekend at Hatten Hotel Melaka during mid Dec 2012. We booked two rooms. We checked in late because there was an accident on the highway to Melaka and traffic going down to Jalan Merdeka on Sat evening at about 5pm was very heavy. We were about an hour late, but the hotel folks did call to check if we are still checking in.

Finding the hotel was quite easy when travelling along Jalan Merdeka. The hotel carpark was quite easy to reach too. After Mahkota Parade shopping centre, make a right turn, there is a pub on the ground floor Movida, make a left turn up the ramp into the carpark. The carpark was shared with Hatten Square shopping centre. Take a car park ticket as you can redeem the ticket at the hotel counter before leaving the carpark each time you need to go out.

The rooms are clean and we had a nice view of the Melaka Straits. Our unit is facing the Mahkota medical centre. The morning and evening view of the straits is nice. Getting around for shopping and meals was convenient too, there is plenty of shopping nearby. Mahkota Parade and Pahlawan mall are just across a street and there is sheltered cover pass over to these malls except that the Mahkota Parade Mall will have a short stretch that is not entirely covered.

Getting to Jonker Street is convenient too, I will walk over to Pahlawan and exit near the Malay Heritage Musesum, there are trishaws there that will take you over to Jonker Street, else you can take a stroll over.

Food is also quite easy to find, we tried Mah Ko, the Nonya restaurant a couple of street down along Jalan Merdeka. There is another Nonya restaurant which is also quite alright across the road from Mah Ko, The Cottage Spices is not too bad. Both these restaurants are about 8 mins leisure walk from the hotel.

The morning breakfast buffet at the Hotel Café is quite good. They have a good spread of local food and the selection does get changed each day.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay at the hotel, the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank midreef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Firstly I must say that our stay was during the peak holiday season in Malaysia.
As anywhere service levels differs during peak and non peak seasons.
Our overall expectation of the hotel was met.

Good location as it was nearby the old part of the city.
Connected to 2 shopping malls.
Covered car park in the complex building itself as it is a mxied shopping mall and hotel.
Lacked a proper concierge service for its size and rating.
The deluxe suite which I stayed in my view it does not match up to it.
It is basically a good sized room.
The 17th floor that i stayed in had a good view of the sea. The lower floors probably would be blocked by the hospital building next to the hotel.
The room and amenities were clean except that I did not like the reddish stain on the shower floor, could be mistaken for fungi.
The reception counters were very busy during the check-in and check-out times.
Staff were not rude but I would have liked it if they were more friendly. Some were not familiar with their systems. Needs a better system of registering check-in and collecting the keys which you can collect only at around 3pm. Got to queue up again.

Room Tip: Choose the upper floors as they give a better view of the sea and city. Travel during the non peak...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mathew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Hotel's location is perfect in Malacca... but the stay wasn't that fantastic. The hotel lifts, the breakfast / and the staffing problems will be causing a lot of issues in the long run. Think the hotel is understaffed and the lousy planning to cater to weekend's 95-100% occupancy rate. The 6 + 2 lifts are jammed packed - will take you about 15-30mins to your level and another 15-30mins to get to lobby each time. This will be the start of frustrations for newly check in guests.
Rooms might be bigger than normal, but cleanliness is a huge minus. I can see spider cobwebs on the aircon openings & the bathroom has not been cleaned - can see stains on mirror and toilet seats and strands of hair all over in the bathroom. Sound proofing is bad... I can hear door slamming, doorbells from opposite my room, kid's running outside the corridor and people talking - all in the afternoon with my entrance closed while sitting at my bed about 3metres away! At night, it was even worse... practically can hear what is going on outside my door.
Breakfast is like a war zone. Once you come out of the lift, you will be greeted by a huge crowd and a long queue. Limited seats and the second ballroom breakfast is packed too...food quality is average.
Overall if you are paying a cheap stay here, then you will have to endure all this. But if you pay good higher bucks for a stay here, then sorry there are many much better hotels in Malacca!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joeykeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#14 of 167 in Melaka
1,632 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
1,423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#10 of 167 in Melaka
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 167 in Melaka
604 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
1,434 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#16 of 167 in Melaka
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatten Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatten Hotel Melaka

Address: Hatten Square, Jalan Merdeka, Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $52 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatten Hotel Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 704
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hatten Hotel is set against a picturesque vista of Melaka’s most famous historical landmarks, surrounded by the hustle and bustle of Melaka Raya; close to the city center with its cheerful nightlife, and mere minutes from the acclaimed UNESCO World Heritage site. With 704 deluxe suites ranging from 32 square meters to 98 square meters in size, Hatten Hotel offers you the utmost comfort, style and convenience. Now you can step out and discover the true essence of Melaka as Hatten Hotel is strategically located for your convenience. Discover history and excitement literally just footsteps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hatten Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing