We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Ranked #12 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average Experience”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The experience of staying in this hotel was pleasant. Rooms were big. However, the hotel has recently been receiving too many guests causing lifts jammed packed during breakfast, and hotel seemed to be understaffed. The lobby has a stench smell of the toilet located near the reception. Hotel should look into moving the toilets somewhere else or something. Food were alright, but the restaurant would be quite squeezy during its peak periods. An average hotel for a newly furnished property.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floor for better window views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeDi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    1,144
    400
    100
    73
See reviews for
927
530
52
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

First of all, a big thanks to Mandy Lay from the check in desk. It's Christmas right now, we are a party of 4 and we are still here. She looked tired and it was very busy. Despite all of that, she got us a fantastic rooms its views, and she overcame problems with the fact that the hotel was conpletely booked out and that we were late. Thanks Mandy! This is the kind of customer service you get here with almost everyone, its all down to your attitude towards people. Most guest here now are Chinese families.... They bring a lot of stress to this hotel because they demand a lot for their kids.

We are all adults and are having a great time here... Absolute bargain too. More to add when we finish our stay.....

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed with my folks over the weekend at Hatten Hotel Melaka during mid Dec 2012. We booked two rooms. We checked in late because there was an accident on the highway to Melaka and traffic going down to Jalan Merdeka on Sat evening at about 5pm was very heavy. We were about an hour late, but the hotel folks did call to check if we are still checking in.

Finding the hotel was quite easy when travelling along Jalan Merdeka. The hotel carpark was quite easy to reach too. After Mahkota Parade shopping centre, make a right turn, there is a pub on the ground floor Movida, make a left turn up the ramp into the carpark. The carpark was shared with Hatten Square shopping centre. Take a car park ticket as you can redeem the ticket at the hotel counter before leaving the carpark each time you need to go out.

The rooms are clean and we had a nice view of the Melaka Straits. Our unit is facing the Mahkota medical centre. The morning and evening view of the straits is nice. Getting around for shopping and meals was convenient too, there is plenty of shopping nearby. Mahkota Parade and Pahlawan mall are just across a street and there is sheltered cover pass over to these malls except that the Mahkota Parade Mall will have a short stretch that is not entirely covered.

Getting to Jonker Street is convenient too, I will walk over to Pahlawan and exit near the Malay Heritage Musesum, there are trishaws there that will take you over to Jonker Street, else you can take a stroll over.

Food is also quite easy to find, we tried Mah Ko, the Nonya restaurant a couple of street down along Jalan Merdeka. There is another Nonya restaurant which is also quite alright across the road from Mah Ko, The Cottage Spices is not too bad. Both these restaurants are about 8 mins leisure walk from the hotel.

The morning breakfast buffet at the Hotel Café is quite good. They have a good spread of local food and the selection does get changed each day.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay at the hotel, the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midreef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nilai, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Firstly I must say that our stay was during the peak holiday season in Malaysia.
As anywhere service levels differs during peak and non peak seasons.
Our overall expectation of the hotel was met.

Good location as it was nearby the old part of the city.
Connected to 2 shopping malls.
Covered car park in the complex building itself as it is a mxied shopping mall and hotel.
Lacked a proper concierge service for its size and rating.
The deluxe suite which I stayed in my view it does not match up to it.
It is basically a good sized room.
The 17th floor that i stayed in had a good view of the sea. The lower floors probably would be blocked by the hospital building next to the hotel.
The room and amenities were clean except that I did not like the reddish stain on the shower floor, could be mistaken for fungi.
The reception counters were very busy during the check-in and check-out times.
Staff were not rude but I would have liked it if they were more friendly. Some were not familiar with their systems. Needs a better system of registering check-in and collecting the keys which you can collect only at around 3pm. Got to queue up again.

Room Tip: Choose the upper floors as they give a better view of the sea and city. Travel during the non peak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Hotel's location is perfect in Malacca... but the stay wasn't that fantastic. The hotel lifts, the breakfast / and the staffing problems will be causing a lot of issues in the long run. Think the hotel is understaffed and the lousy planning to cater to weekend's 95-100% occupancy rate. The 6 + 2 lifts are jammed packed - will take you about 15-30mins to your level and another 15-30mins to get to lobby each time. This will be the start of frustrations for newly check in guests.
Rooms might be bigger than normal, but cleanliness is a huge minus. I can see spider cobwebs on the aircon openings & the bathroom has not been cleaned - can see stains on mirror and toilet seats and strands of hair all over in the bathroom. Sound proofing is bad... I can hear door slamming, doorbells from opposite my room, kid's running outside the corridor and people talking - all in the afternoon with my entrance closed while sitting at my bed about 3metres away! At night, it was even worse... practically can hear what is going on outside my door.
Breakfast is like a war zone. Once you come out of the lift, you will be greeted by a huge crowd and a long queue. Limited seats and the second ballroom breakfast is packed too...food quality is average.
Overall if you are paying a cheap stay here, then you will have to endure all this. But if you pay good higher bucks for a stay here, then sorry there are many much better hotels in Malacca!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joeykeong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

shop til you drop! way too close to the malls. other than late check, like an hour an a half... -.- otherwise the rest were ok. rooms were bigger than expected. while opposite room has got really nice pool view, the other only has got a view of the others' room. so when you are on that side you really have to draw your curtains. pillows could have been better.
otherwise very convenient. some lucky days you get wifi in room . other days just go to the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxie_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed 2D and 3N in a Deluxe Suite King room facing the sea. Almost new furnishings and a walking distance away to all tourist attractions and malls. We enjoyed the stay / trip. The wife also enjoyed the spa as the price was quite reasonable.

However, few minor improvements are required.
Parking was quite difficult. A dedicated space for hotel guests is highly recommended.
Big crowd during check in and only 3-4 counters were opened. Room was only ready at 1530.
Only 2 lifts serve the parking level and there was a long queue during peak hours.
Breakfast was not that good.

Do not think I'll choose this hotel during long holidays as I think there will be long queue / waiting time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yaroq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#13 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#9 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#14 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
0.1 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#10 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#8 of 167 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatten Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatten Hotel Melaka

Property: Hatten Hotel Melaka
Address: Hatten Square, Jalan Merdeka, Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatten Hotel Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 704
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hatten Hotel is set against a picturesque vista of Melaka’s most famous historical landmarks, surrounded by the hustle and bustle of Melaka Raya; close to the city center with its cheerful nightlife, and mere minutes from the acclaimed UNESCO World Heritage site. With 704 deluxe suites ranging from 32 square meters to 98 square meters in size, Hatten Hotel offers you the utmost comfort, style and convenience. Now you can step out and discover the true essence of Melaka as Hatten Hotel is strategically located for your convenience. Discover history and excitement literally just footsteps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hatten Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing