We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Ranked #13 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed December 23, 2012

shop til you drop! way too close to the malls. other than late check, like an hour an a half... -.- otherwise the rest were ok. rooms were bigger than expected. while opposite room has got really nice pool view, the other only has got a view of the others' room. so when you are on that side you really have to draw your curtains. pillows could have been better.
otherwise very convenient. some lucky days you get wifi in room . other days just go to the lobby.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foxie_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,401)
There are newer reviews for Hatten Hotel Melaka
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,142 - 2,148 of 2,401 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed 2D and 3N in a Deluxe Suite King room facing the sea. Almost new furnishings and a walking distance away to all tourist attractions and malls. We enjoyed the stay / trip. The wife also enjoyed the spa as the price was quite reasonable.

However, few minor improvements are required.
Parking was quite difficult. A dedicated space for hotel guests is highly recommended.
Big crowd during check in and only 3-4 counters were opened. Room was only ready at 1530.
Only 2 lifts serve the parking level and there was a long queue during peak hours.
Breakfast was not that good.

Do not think I'll choose this hotel during long holidays as I think there will be long queue / waiting time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yaroq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed 3D2N in Hatten Melaka, a new property right in the heart of Melaka town. We were totally astonished by the interior of the room itself. However, pool was too small to cater for all guests as it gets overcrowded. Toiletries were kept to the minimal. Hotel is well connected to all major shopping malls, breakfast was a wide spread and spacious seating area. Carpark for hotel guests needs to be cordoned off to give priority for carpark space instead of mixing with the public carpark spaces. However overall, we had enjoyed our stay here and look forward to come back again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rossha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Those three things sum up what is great about the Hatten Hotel - it has big rooms, great facilities that range from a good breakfast area, to a decently-sized swimming pool and an ambient spa, as well as a central location in the heart of Melaka. We stayed here for two nights from 19 December in what they called a "deluxe suite", and found the rooms to be very big and spacious. There was one TV in the "living space" and another in the main area, which was great if two people wanted to watch different programmes. Rooms were clean, bright and airy, although our view of the city faced the wrong way and was nothing to shout about. I loved the rain shower in the bathroom. Housekeeping did a meticulous and thorough job - they even neatly folded up some clothes I had left outside the wardrobe.

We had a 60 minute massage at this hotel's spa, which was recently constructed. The massage was relatively decent, and it had a great ambience and was very well appointed. The swimming pool also looked inviting, but unfortunately was constantly crowded during our three days at the pool - this was the same for the breakfast restaurant, which was always crowded.

The hotel's central location also facilitated lots of walking - we could walk to Mahkota Parade across the street, as well as the other megamall, the Dataran Pahlawan. A 10 minute walk just up Jalan Merdeka will bring you to the various maritime museums, as well as the historic sites of Christchurch and the A Famosa fort - a bit to the west and Jonker Walk is also accessible by foot.

Overall, except for the crowds at breakfast and the pool, and the long waiting time for check-in and the lifts, this hotel was impressive, and it was a welcome sight to return to at night.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the pool; you might be able to see the historic church and fort at the foot of...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timothyseanfang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed one night in Hatten Hotel Melaka with my family.

What I like:

- Nice and spacious lobby with awesome lighting feature on the ceiling.
- Good location. In the same building as Hatten Square (a mall specialised in IT stuff) and connected with a link-bridge to Dataran Pahlawan Melaka Megamall. Hatten Square is also connected to Parkson Mahkota Parade through an overhead bridge.
- 10 minutes walk to A'Famosa port through Dataran Pahlawan. Another 10 minutes walk to reach the Dutch square. 10 minutes walk to Menara Taming Sari, and 10 minutes walk to all the good restaurants along Melaka Raya. Becak ride from Dutch Square to the hotel costs RM 25.
- Nice swimming pool, although a bit small for such a crowd.
- Great breakfast spread in Chatterz, 11th floor. When I came there was no queue but after we settled inside, long queue is formed outside the restaurant. So better to have your breakfast early to beat the crowd.
- Free Wi-Fi, although only restricted around lobby area.

What I don't like:

- Long queue to check-in, and to check-out. They need to add the number of reception counters.
- Only two lifts can be used to go to the carpark. Long waiting time for the lifts.
- Crowded restaurant during breakfast time, long queue for the egg station and prata station.
- It seems that the overall capacity of the reception, the restaurant and the number of lifts is not sufficient to cater all the guests and the number of rooms.
- No baby cot for my baby, either they don't provide or running out.
- No wi-fi coverage in the room, only in the lobby.

I would recommend this hotel because of the great location. However, I might not want to stay there during busy/peak time, due to the capacity issue I mentioned earlier.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The location is great for shopping, right beside Hatten Square, Makhota Parade and opposite Dataran Pahlawan Megamall. It is a new hotel and has a luxurious feel to it. The room view overlooks the Straits of Melaka. Bed is King size for Deluxe room and it felt spacious, although it does not come with bath tub. A wide breakfast selection with great hotel facilities and free parking. The staff at the reception and concierge were polite and professional. However, the housekeeping is questionable as there's mould in the bathroom, chip on the furniture and bathroom tile and stain on the bedsheet. One of the lights was out of order too. Overall it is a great stay despite the housekeeping issue as the value we got out of it far surpass the price SGD$ for a deluxe suite.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelene3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Great location and easy accessibility to the malls and heritage places. Very friendly and helpful staff. Another plus point is that there is free WiFi on groundfloor and level 11,12. Overall, it was a good experience for my family.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JairusYuen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#14 of 167 in Melaka
1,633 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
1,425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#10 of 167 in Melaka
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 167 in Melaka
605 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
1,439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#16 of 167 in Melaka
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatten Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatten Hotel Melaka

Address: Hatten Square, Jalan Merdeka, Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $52 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatten Hotel Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 704
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hatten Hotel is set against a picturesque vista of Melaka’s most famous historical landmarks, surrounded by the hustle and bustle of Melaka Raya; close to the city center with its cheerful nightlife, and mere minutes from the acclaimed UNESCO World Heritage site. With 704 deluxe suites ranging from 32 square meters to 98 square meters in size, Hatten Hotel offers you the utmost comfort, style and convenience. Now you can step out and discover the true essence of Melaka as Hatten Hotel is strategically located for your convenience. Discover history and excitement literally just footsteps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hatten Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing