We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok so so Hotel...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Ranked #12 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ok so so Hotel...”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

nice new hotel, room is spacious and food is ok. hotel lift sucks, have to wait for more than 5 to 10 minutes each time, wasting time only! The room sound proof also not good, can hear the higher floor people foot steps clearly.
Parking is another issue at the shopping mall lot which is only accessible by 2 of the lifts (out of 8)

Room Tip: try staying between 14 floors and above so that you can have a pool view scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    1,172
    421
    105
    76
See reviews for
964
543
52
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (554)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Hotel allows pre-registration at 12pm and come back at 3pm to collect room key without a hassle. But still need to wait at least 20mins for pre-registrations.
Very comfortable and nice spacious room with good view. It will be nice if it comes with a bath-tub! Room comes with a king size bed with a seperate TV couch area.
Lovely swimming pool with steam room and suana room.
Hotel location is wonderful. Within walking distance to many tourist attraction places and shopping malls. Next to it is mahkota Medical Centre with walk-in clinic.
Breakfast has many choices and we don't have to wait for a table.
The hotel is link to 2 big shopping complex (Mahkota Parada and Pahlawan Shaopping mall) in melaka. Its a good location for shopping.
Take a taxi to Jonker Walk (pasar malam) at night (cost RM12) and lots of street foond can be found there.
Overall it is a nice hotel and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAXIM627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I got 2 rooms on Level 15: Rooms #71 and #73

PLUS POINTS:
- Wifi available throughout the hotel's public areas**.
- Internet in the room via Ethernet is supposedly available, but you need to bring your own laptop and Ethernet cable
- Complementary parking (unlimited entries) at the hotel car park on levels 3-9. You need to press for the ticket - DO NOT TAP YOUR TOUCH-N-GO CARD! Ticket has to be endorsed at the reception on the day you intend to drive out (after midnight will be considered a new day). Thereafter, it has to be inserted into the Autopay machine @ levels 2,3,4,6,8 no more than 15 minutes before leaving the car park.
- Alternatively, valet parking on ground level is available @ just RM10
- Rather large room which was partitioned into two sections - had a sofa and 2 lcd TVs!
- Had a refrigerator and a small safe
- Spanking new and clean facilities - swimming pool / gym @ level 12 complementary for all hotel guests.
- Location is a dream with link to 3 malls - Datahran Pahlawan Megamall, Mahkota Parade, and Hatten Square. 15-20min walk to Jonker area though.
- Polite and helpful staff (when you finally manage to get them)**

**more details below

NEUTRAL/MINOR POINTS:
- Breakfast was decent but boring. I certainly wouldnt breakfast there more than once, although I cant pinpoint anything absolutely wrong with the breakfast here. (Priced @ MYR35++, with a 50% discount for senior citizens and 40% discount for children)
- No bathtub
- Lifts require long waiting time during peak periods (namely noon-3pm when everyone checks-in and -out)
- Was not able to get adjoining rooms or even side-by-side rooms, even though I booked 3 weeks in advance.

MINUS POINTS:
- Long queue @ Check-in/out counter which can take from 20-40 minutes - and remember you need to queue to endorse your parking ticket there each time after you drive in / before you drive out!
- No one answered the calls to the reception/housekeeping in-room line when there was a missing towel
- ** Generally slow service after a staff member was finally available
- Drilling and construction work at the hotel lobby and some other places
- Pool facing window is untinted and privacy may be an issue if curtains aren't shut
- ** NO IN-ROOM wifi, not even a paid option. (HINT: Pool facing rooms like mine are not very far from the public facilities where wifi was available, so I was able to piggyback on the hotspot from the gym =) However I had to sit really near to the window in my room)
- Apparently there was no smoke dectector (or it didnt go off?) so there was a slight smell of cigarette smoke left behind by the previous occupant, despite being a fully non-smoking hotel.

CONCLUSION:
Overall a great and clean hotel with mainly manpower issues.
Hopefully these will be fixed when the rest of the hotel opens (it is only partially open currently, with just 222 of 695 rooms available). It is good value for money (just check the neighbouring and comparable hotel Equatorial Melaka to see what I mean), and will easily usurp Equatorial's customers when all the manpower issues are ironed out...

P.S.: ... and the breakfast too

Room Tip: I booked 2 pool view rooms 1571 and 1573. Was able to piggyback the free wifi hotspot provided by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cowfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Hatten Hotel Melaka is located right smack in the middle of the town centre in Melaka. It is connected to Pahlawan Melaka Megamall and beside Mahkota Parade.
The hotel itself has a mall which houses mostly digital and electronic stores.
At first glance, it is most likely the tallest hotel in Melaka beside Holiday Inn which is located much further and more inconveniently compared to Hatten Hotel.
The Hotel shares the car park with the mall. But once you are staying in the hotel, the parking is free. Check in was quick and we were given a high floor that overlooked the city. The view was magnificent to say the least. The lobby was still under refurbishment at the time so it was partially closed. The chandeliers would be amazing when it is completed. The room was huge with everything still new and unused as the hotel had just opened in April. All the amenities in the room were of a 5 Star hotels standard which was very surprising with the low rates. I guess the rates would go up once the hotel has completed its refurbishment. The pool was amazing which had view that overlooked St Paul's hill and the Fort. Breakfast was also quite satisfying with many choices of food.
Hatten hotels's location was just a 15minute walk to Jonker Street and all the attractions in Melaka can be accessed by your own two feet. It was really tiring but you can really appreciate the sights and surroundings.
Furthermore, it is a shoppers paradise with the 2 major shopping malls in Melaka at your door step.

Overall, i would rate this hotel as the hottest and newest 5 Star hotel in Melaka. And would definitely come back to enjoy this beautiful hotel whenever i am in Melaka.

So long Holiday Inn!! Haha

Room Tip: Request for a city view as the harbour view is not as impressive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SpikyBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Hotel is located in the heart of histroric Melaka.Walking distance to most of the attractions.Sleek & stylish room that comes with 2 flat LCD TV,1 TV in the sleeping area & 1 TV in living area .Great view of the City & the Sea from the room. Buffet breakfast was very good & Yummy with plenty of choices. On the whole a great experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benson8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Take a taxi from bus station cost me RM20.
I had no problem with check in, because I reached there at 10pm, the lady is polite.
The staff should have told me how the lift works, because I didn't notice that I need to use my room card to use the lift! At first I thought the lift is not working!
The room (deluxe suite) on the 15th floor, with sea view(30%), it is a good view from the room, but the window was not cleaned properly. I like the design, the bed is separated from the sofa, and with separate tv, with Singapore Channels and Chinese Channel. The bed is comfortable but I think the sofa is a bit old ...Coffee, tea and 2 bottles of drinking water is provided.
The toilet is cleaned, tooth brush is provided too. But no bathtub!!!
Newspaper is provided and the buffer breakfast is good, but you have to go early, on our way back to our room after the breakfast, there is a long long que at the entrance!

Room Tip: If you check in early, ask for higher floor and with better sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mengyew8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Booked 3 rooms for a night stay with family, they couldn't accommodate all on the same floor but at least the front desk did put us staying on higher floor upon our request. Our room was facing the pool, most room were quite big with 2 tv. But bathroom has no bath tub, just a shower head.
The aircon was working well too, breakfast was ok with plenty of choices but they failed to fill up the food as it was very crowded even on a weekday morning,!
The lobby area were still under renovation and was very messy and crowded with constraint space when many people checking in at the same time.
Hotel linked to two big malls, mahkota and dataran pathlawan mall ,walking distance to Newton food court and most attraction..

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jooei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#13 of 166 in Melaka
1,601 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#9 of 166 in Melaka
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#14 of 166 in Melaka
754 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#11 of 166 in Melaka
493 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 166 in Melaka
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatten Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatten Hotel Melaka

Property: Hatten Hotel Melaka
Address: Hatten Square, Jalan Merdeka, Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatten Hotel Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 704
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hatten Hotel is set against a picturesque vista of Melaka’s most famous historical landmarks, surrounded by the hustle and bustle of Melaka Raya; close to the city center with its cheerful nightlife, and mere minutes from the acclaimed UNESCO World Heritage site. With 704 deluxe suites ranging from 32 square meters to 98 square meters in size, Hatten Hotel offers you the utmost comfort, style and convenience. Now you can step out and discover the true essence of Melaka as Hatten Hotel is strategically located for your convenience. Discover history and excitement literally just footsteps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hatten Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing