We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit was Slightly Below Expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Ranked #12 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Second Visit was Slightly Below Expectation”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

After a ravishing first impression Hatten Hotel gave us during our first stay around June 2012, we happily hopped for a second visit in August 2012. Nevertheless, we were profoundly disappointed with the turtle-speed check-in and worst of all, the LATE check-in, which is totally absurd. We arrived at the hotel lobby(which is still not furbished and does not even look like a proper posh hotel lobby) at around 3pm, which was about time for check-in and collection of room keys. Only 2 counters were opened and there was a long queue. Receptionists took a long time to handle each customer. We stood there in line for almost half an hour. When it was finally our turn, we tried to make it fast as there were a lot of people behind us waiting impatiently to check-in too. However, our actions were not fruitful as the staff took an exceptionally long time handling all the documents and stuff. Then they told us off that the rooms were not ready yet! It was already 3.30pm by that time. We were told that we can only get our keys by 4.30pm! It was totally absurd. The staff asked for my number so that she could call me once the rooms are ready.

We had no choice but to loiter around the nearby shopping malls, which were kinda run-down. We had an elder along and she needs to lie down on her back-to no avail. We waited and waited..at 4.30pm, no calls were received, YET. So we just went back and kinda complained to the person-in-charge. Thankfully she was really helpful in locating our room. By that time, my grandmother was already craving for rest and her afternoon nap - at 5pm.

Once inside the room, our frustration skewed out. It was superbly clean and spacious. The only turn-down was that the floor of the shower cubicle was tainted with dirt, which was rather disgusting. View (city view) was astounding. The swimming pool added much to the excitement and satisfaction. Quietly located at the 13th floor, this infinity pool offers MORE than just a pool. Opens early in the morning, a quiet reading time on the pool deck followed by a morning dip was nothing but PERFECTION. Friendly breeze soothed our faces while relaxing on the reclining chair located inside the pool. Just fantastic. Breakfast spread was equally good with really friendly staff. Chefs were seen doing responsible rounds very frequently to make sure everything was okay and above standard. Kudos to them!

All in all, wonderful historical Malacca still makes up for our former frustration. Asking whether we would be back? Still under consideration. The pre-opening room promotion is out and now the room rates are high. Nevertheless, the wonderful location, food, room and pool definitely outweighs the drop-outs like late check-in and all. Oh and did I forget to say, we claimed a late check-out of 1.30pm too hahah! It was definitely reasonable. Would consider coming back. Lets just hope it would get better after its official opening!

Room Tip: I personally prefer the city-view rooms. It gives a wonderful picture of the city and the pool locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Celinell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    1,158
    413
    103
    75
See reviews for
951
536
52
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Close to shopping complexes & Melaka Raya where you can find good Nyonya food, banks and convenient store. Close to historical structures like A' Famosa & Saint Paul Church. Very good selection of buffet spread specially dinner. Room comes with 2 flat screen TV and free Internet. Good water pressure in bath room with large shower head. Safe box provided in room. However be prepared for long queue for check in and out especially on weekends.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justinyyhong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel is very new. it is very clean and comfortable. Most amazing part is the location where it is just next to shopping malls and tourist spots. The breakfast is awesome in terms of varieties, taste and the decoration of the dining halls. Having good quality of sleep due to brand new and high quality bed.

everything is ok....clean, comfort, nice room but the bathroom clogs la....
spoilt....

Room Tip: 1630 bathroom clogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank review123456_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Specially to Christian(Front Office)... 2ladies ( Hostess).... It's a best hotel that i ever stay...the view,the room and everything was wonderful... Could be better on restaurant service that staff should talking to the guest with just a simple words by greeting or other then that... But it just a minor thing...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaryGracePacifico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kepong, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The hotel is very new, thus, it is very clean and comfortable. Most amazing part is the location where it is just next to shopping malls and tourist spots. The breakfast is AWESOME in terms of varieties, taste and the decoration of the dining halls. Having good quality of sleep due to brand new and high quality bed. It's value for money. I will come back for my next visit to Melaka. :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luckyngan1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have read negative reviews in here and quite surprised about it. I think I'm lucky coz I haven't had a bad experience yet. My check-in was awesome with Christian and Dorthy. I've got my room within 10 mins and it's just a perfect to start my day.

The room service was excellent too, within 20-30mins the foods already there to eat. The foods is delicious compare to Equatorial Hotel. Carpark - you can choose parking hotel or valet.

I tried several room from swimming pool view, city view and sea view. I prefer swimming pool view, city view and they told me I can request the same room number next time I check-in.

Yes I'm going to check-in in Oct again. 'fingers cross'

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mslvoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed here as a family, mid August, and really, I wished I had stayed in one of Malacca's quaint boutique hotels.

The only reason I checked into this hotel is because of the reviews on TripAdvisor, which at that point, was brimming with positivity. Well, not anymore I suppose.

Check-In: BIGGEST nightmare, i felt i was checking-in under some nasty tour company. The wait was impossible. Once i reached my turn, the front desk officer was not at all friendly. I was there slightly after 3pm, and was told my room was not ready, and i'd have to wait half an hour in their massively crowded 'waiting area' *if you can even call it that*. I was traveling with my 4 yr old, who was extremely tired after her trip to the zoo and wanted only to lay down, and was made to wait. I had to speak to the manager, who promised to speed up the process, and rightfully she did, within 15 mins we were checked in.

Swimming Pool: It was alrite. I found the swimming pool rather big only thing is the bar is not operational yet, so pool snacks had to be ordered thru the towel-tenders.

Room: Big and spacious. All in all, the rooms are good.

I requested for a late check out, chargeable at half day rate, the DAY BEFORE i checked out. This was agreed upon, and i had an early morning, sightseeing with my kids. We got back to the hotel at 3pm and as expected, our key cards were not operational, so we had to backtrack to the reception, ask for an extension of the key card, and when i got into the room, the room had NOT been done (althogh i reminded Housekeeping at 9am that morning, that i was checking out late and I'd be back after lunch, to which they agreed to sort my room out). I summoned for the manager to my room, no way was i going all the way back down to see her, and flatly refused to pay the half day charges, to which she agreed.

All in all, the property in itself is good. But the staff has much to learn, in terms of hospitality and service. Would i go back to the Hatten? I'm afraid not.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shobiee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 166 in Melaka
1,312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#13 of 166 in Melaka
1,595 reviews
0.1 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#9 of 166 in Melaka
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#14 of 166 in Melaka
740 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Pines Melaka
The Pines Melaka
#10 of 166 in Melaka
479 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 166 in Melaka
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatten Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatten Hotel Melaka

Property: Hatten Hotel Melaka
Address: Hatten Square, Jalan Merdeka, Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatten Hotel Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 704
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hatten Hotel is set against a picturesque vista of Melaka’s most famous historical landmarks, surrounded by the hustle and bustle of Melaka Raya; close to the city center with its cheerful nightlife, and mere minutes from the acclaimed UNESCO World Heritage site. With 704 deluxe suites ranging from 32 square meters to 98 square meters in size, Hatten Hotel offers you the utmost comfort, style and convenience. Now you can step out and discover the true essence of Melaka as Hatten Hotel is strategically located for your convenience. Discover history and excitement literally just footsteps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Hatten Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing