We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and and sleep well”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hatten Hotel Melaka
Ranked #13 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The location is very good .walking distance to shopping centre Dataran Pahlawan and Mahkota Parade.15 min walk to major attactrion ,St Paul's church,Porte de Santiago,The Stadthuys,Taming Sari Tower,Maritime Museum and Jonker Street.
Dining area for breakfast are big and have varity food.Bed are very confortable.
The only things is the reception have only 3 counters only and very slow check in and check out .
When we back at 11pm,there arent any staffs in the information counter nor the reception counter.
We bought the hotel voucher from the Groupon website.Its offer a great discount for us.

Room Tip: some room have the access to each other room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessee2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,401)
There are newer reviews for Hatten Hotel Melaka
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,227 - 2,233 of 2,401 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

It's my 4th visit to Melaka and I've always stayed in Hotel Equatorial and this time round happen to see the promotional rates that Hatten is offering and decided to give it a try. When I arrived at the hotel, it was still under partial renovation but everything still looks fine. Just that the friendly service at the frontdesk is a bit slow and they were short-handed so it takes a longer time for my check-in. Room was big and spacious and my room was facing the swimming pool, nice. But the towels and glasses were not properly cleaned. The toilet was decent but seems like the flushing system's a little faulty and the water was not able to drain off from the shower. Convenient location. Will stay in again if they offer attracting promotional room prices. :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NetteJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were there during Spore National Day for a short trip - 2D1N.
Booking 2 deluxe room with extra bed via email is no problem.
Very dissapointed during the check-in process. We arrive early, so decide to enquire and check in at 11am. There is only 3 receptionist at the front counter, the staff was polite and do all the necessary for the registration. She told us 1 room is ready while the other still under housekeeping. She offer to call me when its ready, so we can walk around and explore the area. So we decided to walk to Jonker Street for lunch first & walk around the historic places. Time passby so fast that it was 5pm, there is still no phone call. So we walk back to the hotel and enquire again. To my surprise the other room still not ready! i've waited for 20-30 min at the reception area while the staff call and ask. To our dismay, they should have do something not wait till i enquire at the counter again at 5pm. I have 2 children and they have been waiting for so long to play at the swimming pool. So we have no choice but to check-in to 1 room first while waiting for another half hour for the other room. Dissappointed again, the room does not have the extra bed which i request early via email.
My kids only have 2 hours to play at the pool, sadly. This encounted left a very bad impression for all of us, even my kids also say not to come here again.
The staffs at the swimming pool also not informative about the wifi, gave wrong information, that every room have wifi access.
The receptionist staff also advice wrongly - can validate the parking card anytime, which is NOT, by right it can only validate when you about to leave. This has cause some jam at the carpark exit as we had validate early.
The only good things is that the hotel is at good location, new, room is big & bed is comfortable, there are 2 TV in the room.
Breakfast spread was good too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jusl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had shopped in Melaka and it was too late to travel back to singapore so we decided to find a hotel to stay a night. Hatten hotel was our first choice as we had a pleasure experience on our last trip on Mother's Day this year. Luckily, we had gotten one room and need not find another hotel to stay.

The experience was again good, room and bed were comfortable, Courteous staffs, wonderful breakfast spread etc. The swimming pool had not yet in use so no chance to try. This time we had a room facing the other side and still the view was nice. The location is great as it is near to various shopping mall.

The chef in the restaurant is still very responsible, I can see him coming out of the kitchen to check and supervise. But one thing not very pleasant is, the bench of the restaurant had already been dirtied by users, it will be worsen if the hotel did nothing to maintain its cleanliness.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the sea~!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clanceroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed a night in July and I absolutely love the place! So much so that I'll be booking a trip and 2 nights stay soon. Hatten Hotel is linked to Dataran Pahlawan megamall, so it's very convenient.

Hotel is new, and modern, since it just opened this year. The room has 2 TVs, and a lounge area with a sofa, so it's really awesome! Personally I love the swimming pool as you can just chill by the pool and it overlooks the town scenic view...nice.... Free wifi available at the lobby and swimming pool as well which is good enough. THE BREAKFAST SPREAD IS SOOOOOOOOOOO GOOD !!! Great variety and yummy.

Hatten hotel will definitely be the hotel I go to when I hit Melaka!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angielovesred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Had a great 2-night stay at this hotel. Rare to find rooms with a sitting area and very comfortable king size bed.

Staff were very friendly and helpful from the Concierge, the Bell Boy, Receptionist, Room Service staff to the Managers. When we were allotted a room which smelt of smoke, Room Service staff were quick to acknowledge this and found another room which was clean and smelt better.

Excellent spread of buffet dishes for breakfast in a large dining area.

Only setback is the small reception area and slow check-ins. Another thing is that the key card did malfunctioned quite a bit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller9931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Read some rave reviews about Hatten and decided to drive up to Melaka for a short stay. Being a soft launch, we were prepared for a not too perfect experience, but the stay turned out not too bad.

The reception was really tiny, and the waiting area was generally not very spacious and not well positioned altogether. The lobby simply lacked the grandeur of a true blue 4 star hotel (Hopefully the renovation work covered by the partition boards are going to solve the problem). The staff were generally overwhelmed, I guess the massive group check in described by a fellow reviewer might have contributed to the problem (on top of the lack of counters and staff).

When we reached the first room we were given, we were very impressed by the space and layout of everything. The hotel is supposed to be smoke free, HOWEVER, the room 1368 did reek strongly of cigarette smoke and we had to call the front counter for a room change. The change did not happen until an hour later but the second room we received was perfect.

There was a living area with a TV and a "bedroom" area with another BIGGER TV. Lovely! The bathroom was perfect with a rain shower. The bedding was very comfortable, pillows were big and fluffy micro-gel ones. There was lots of room for moving around and to store the luggage. Just one minor observation, the living area felt very much like a void, it only had the TV, sofa and minibar, and felt a tiny bit empty.

The breakfast spread was good, but the breakfast hall reminded me very much of a huge huge hotel in Genting ;) . It was just too crowded and too messy. Again, didn't feel like a 4-star hotel. Perhaps some furniture rearrangement might help.

The location couldn't be better. Right across the road is Makohta Parade and Palawan. The historical area is 5 minutes walk away. The traffic is typical Melakan, congested one-way streets and more congested one-way streets, survive those and you'll be at Hatten.

Finally, the swimming pool was lovely, good size and good views.

Generally, I thought the hotel facilities and rooms (minus the lobby) was very good. The people (software) had to be improved. It was understaffed and many tiny quirks and gaps in the service but I guess being a soft launch, these can be forgiven. Great job and I'll definitely choose Hatten for my next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChunMeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
Hotel Equatorial Melaka
#14 of 167 in Melaka
1,633 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
1,425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Estadia Hotel
Estadia Hotel
#10 of 167 in Melaka
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ramada Plaza Melaka
Ramada Plaza Melaka
#7 of 167 in Melaka
605 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
1,439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melaka
Novotel Melaka
#16 of 167 in Melaka
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatten Hotel Melaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatten Hotel Melaka

Address: Hatten Square, Jalan Merdeka, Bandar Hilir, Melaka 75000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $52 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hatten Hotel Melaka 4*
Number of rooms: 704
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hatten Hotel is set against a picturesque vista of Melaka’s most famous historical landmarks, surrounded by the hustle and bustle of Melaka Raya; close to the city center with its cheerful nightlife, and mere minutes from the acclaimed UNESCO World Heritage site. With 704 deluxe suites ranging from 32 square meters to 98 square meters in size, Hatten Hotel offers you the utmost comfort, style and convenience. Now you can step out and discover the true essence of Melaka as Hatten Hotel is strategically located for your convenience. Discover history and excitement literally just footsteps away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hatten Hotel Melaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing