We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely owner, central location, cheap and clean!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bala's Place

Bala's Place
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bala's Place
77 Jalan Hang Kasturi, Melaka 75200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Sardinia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely owner, central location, cheap and clean!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Ok, so this isant the Ritz but owner very nice chap and night porter very hospitable even with his limited English. Great location, basic but clean rooms - I had an upstairs one which was perfect for me. Owner must realise past problems with mosquitos as when I mentioned I couldn't sleep one night he said "are the mosquitos bothering you" - they hadn't been a problem at all but he offered to spray my room to eradicate them, which the night porter came as promised to do at dusk.

If you want somewhere quiet, clean, friendly and not too far away from everything this place is ideal. Would definitely recommend it.

I'd say the only downside with this guesthouse is that there is no inside air con communal area - but there is 2 outside areas where you can sit and chill out in relative peace.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    14
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
11
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at Bala's place back in April this year and we loved it. Bala was incredibly welcoming and accommodating. He was very helpful and polite and leant us bikes to ride around the town on. The night watchman was really lovely too. Very limited english but he knew how to offer us coffee on a regular basis, and was always friendly and welcoming when we arrived home each day.

Bala's Place has a very homely feel, with only a few rooms it had a really nice atmosphere and a really nice open air area upstairs to hang out in, meet other backpackers, etc. We stayed in one of the upstairs room which was very clean and comfortable. The location was great, nice and central and easy to navigate. REALLY GREAT PLACE TO STAY.

Room Tip: Opt for an upstairs room, a bit more air ventilation in the hot weather!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Josie-Josh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is a great, clean, friendly place to stay. The family are really wonderful, kind and warm. I fell over when staying with them and need a doctor. Bala drove me to his family doctor and paid the bill until i could assess a bank. They care about their guests and this was great after six months on the road. Also great tips of where to eat, hang out and such as. Would recommend to any backpacker without hesitation.

Room Tip: Just look first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkyBinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The location is good, but very difficult to find in a small lane. There is no air condition and a large number of mosquito... The room is not clean at all, water stain at wall... moreover, there is no towel...and you can't get back too late since the gatekeeper go to bed around 10 pm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

At 40 Ringgit per night during non-peak times, Bala's represents very good value for money. It is well located for Jonker walk, the river front promenade and most of the major attractions. Also, Bala and his family are very nice and extremely helpful with restaurant suggestions, etc. If you can, secure an upstairs room as they have much better air circulation than the rooms on the main level.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregandGuylaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peristeri
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed for one night at Bala's, in the heart of Malacca's Chinatown, and were really touched from their hospitality. Our room (last one on the first floor) was basic but very clean. Wi-fi was great, and the bathrooms were as clean as it gets (first two hours that we sat at the hall, we saw the lady of the house cleaning them after each time they were used!). Bala gave us lots of info on what to do and how to get around, everybody was warm and welcoming and we will certainly go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThomaLam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

My girlfriend and me were staying with Bala's family for 11 days in June '12.
They offer:
-6 standard-sized Fan-Rooms with attached Bathroom, all very clean and with comfortable double-bed (2 rooms on ground floor, 4 on first floor)
-4 Bathrooms (very clean!) two with hot shower
-Nice veranda on first floor
-Two kettles to boil your own water
-Laundry service
-Standard WIFI
-1 Computer (Ubuntu) with internet connection
-loads of useful information about Melaka and surroundings

We were very pleased with our choice for this guesthouse since we really love the family atmosphere. Bala's family is really super-friendly and welcoming. You can definitely feel home at their place :)

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor are cooler
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanction4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#9 of 161 in Melaka
4.0 of 5 stars 992 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 161 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#5 of 161 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#4 of 161 in Melaka
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bala's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bala's Place

Property: Bala's Place
Address: 77 Jalan Hang Kasturi, Melaka 75200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally Located in the heart of the Chinese Quarter, Bala's Place offers good clean budget accommodation with friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere. Newly renovated and decorated, we offer single, double and twin rooms with fan.Join us for movie night in or enjoy the charm and tranquility that Melaka town has to offer, we will happily make recommendations on where to go and what to eat. 6 double rooms with shared bathroom/hot showers. We can accommodate singles at a discounted rate ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bala's Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing