We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4.5 Really (maybe 5 even!)”
Review of Hotel Hong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Hong
Ranked #3 of 220 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Booked 2 rooms in this hotel because of all the positive reviews on Trip Advisor, but when we arrived and saw the small doorway with stairs I thought maybe we had made a mistake. There were three of us and two largish bags. From out of nowhere some young chap grabbed a bag and said "let me help you" and proceeded to take one bag up the stairs. Being ever cautious I wondered if I would ever see the bag again but it didn't take long to find out the people of Melaka are of lovely spirit.

The girl at check-in was delightful and could not have been more helpful. She apologised that our room was not ready as the air conditioner had a problem but we were happy enough to leave all our gear in the other room that was booked.

The hotel is quite new and tastefully decorated. The rooms are small but this never bothers us as we only use our room as a refuge at night after a day full of exploring. There is a roof area with a large table and chairs plus lounge suite to watch a large tv. There was also an area where you could hang out clothes to dry.

This hotel is a block away from Jonkers Street so we were amazed to pay so little for such a good position. It just shows how the operators of Hotel Hong feel about their place.....good vibes without being greedy. There is even a water cooler and hot water available 24 hours a day.....plus, free wi-fi!

We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Mackasx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 242 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

To give it credit it is very convenient in Chinatown. Very clean and modern rooms albeit very small. Large TV. only for DVD as no clear channels available. Clean and modern bathroom again small. Tea and Coffee available 24hrs along with free water. Upstairs a small open air lounge with TV and ironing board with iron available at reception. Entry to this hotel is via a large narrow staircase with slippers available at the top, which leads to a narrow hallway with a reception of sorts. Hence the resemble of a backpackers. The whole upstairs has been converted into a hotel. Staff are friendly and will drive you to the bus station if needed. They will also make local calls for you in the reception.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Missed the bus, I took a taxi directly from LCCT Kuala Lumpur to Malacca for about 200 ringgit. The KL based taxi driver was not familiar with the Malacca China Town area. In hindsight, should have drawn an area map with highlight of Jonker Street.

The owner provides free pickup/drop-off from/to the bus central (Sentral) station.

Hong Hotel is in a very convenient location.

The owner understands and furnishes almost everything in great details to the guests’ needs.
The rooms are quite small, so don’t expect to have spaces for a lot of luggage.

A small friendly cat from the neighbourhood visited guests frequently and may follow you out for a stroll.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
Thank tripfeb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay in Hong hotel, it's in a central position in chinatown Melakka, you can reach the city centre in few steps. Owners are reaaly kind and smiley, they help you with everything, for example they took us to the restaurant we choose and picked up from there. They also take you to the Sentral Bus Station if you have to take a bus. Coffee and tea are offered in the small hall and there is also a computer with internet connection (if you have a device, wifi internet is free of charge and fast).
Rooms are small and walls too thin, there is ac and fan, a little bit noisy though.
It's really cheap for the service and the position, I highly recomend for those who don't look for luxury but only for confortable and affordable places.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Faniapes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights! The chinese owners are very friendly!
The hotel is situated just near Chinatown in a calm street, which is nice.
The room was a bit small, but very clean aswell as the bathroom.
No breakfast offered by the hotel, but you will find some cafés close by (such as the Geographers café) to have a nice breakfast.
On the roof is a very nice terrace, with a big table and some sofas to Watch TV, read a book or just relax with a cup of tea.
The hotel owner dropped us at the airport, so we didn't have to take a taxi!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edithBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and although a fairly small room, found it to be very clean and comfortable with very friendly staff. It was good value for money and only a short walk to Jonker Street. The owner took the two of us and another couple on a tour around the area and we were driven to the bus terminal on departure day. Would definitely stay there again on any future trips and will recommend it to friends

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelista50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Excellent little hotel about 5-10 mins walk from the main road (Jonker St). The room was clean and bug-free which was great. The lady on reception didnt speak much English but she was so lovely and made every effort to advise and help us. We arrived really late and she gave us directions to some cheap but delicious local cafes. Each morning there was a local pastry or fruit for guests which was a nice gesture. The lady explained what was in them and they were always really tasty! The free internet, computer, printing facilities and bus transfer back to the bus terminal was a bonus. The driver refused the tip and insisted it was all part of what we paid for already so we really felt like they cared about us as guests.

Cons would be that the room was quite small so we struggled with space for suitcases - though it is worth mentioning that it was the biggest room out of Singapore and KL hotels of a similar standard. It wasn't smack bang in the centre either but to be honest it is so close to the main street it hardly made a difference. I highly recommend this cheaper option hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#12 of 167 in Melaka
1,228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jonker Boutique Hotel
Jonker Boutique Hotel
#6 of 167 in Melaka
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Rucksack Caratel - Garden Wing
0.4 mi away
The Majestic Malacca
The Majestic Malacca
#2 of 167 in Melaka
1,446 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa del Rio Melaka
Casa del Rio Melaka
#1 of 167 in Melaka
1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hong

Address: 7B Jalan Masjid | Kampung Hulu, Melaka 75300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range: $15 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Hong 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Hong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing