We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Hong
Nearby Hotels
$88
$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
$70
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
$39
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Majestic Malacca(Melaka)
$136
$119
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Puri(Melaka)
$73
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
$49
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa del Rio Melaka(Melaka)
$176
$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveler rating
128
105
21
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
128
105
21
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmelaka sentralcurry puffsbudget hotelbus terminalcentral stationwater dispenserfree coffee and teajonker streetwonderful water pressurefree liftclean room and toiletfood recommendationsattached bathroomceiling fanmamak restaurantrooms are smallhalal food
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 260 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Nice hotel with really nice room. Friendly staff and owner. Nice social room on the roof. Hotel is close to chinatown, about 5 min. walk.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JindraStorek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This hotel is quite new, most important the room is very clean although it's quite small. The bed is comfy, toilet is clean. The reception is very friendly. But it was rained heavily during the night that we stayed, and caused the reception and some room got leaking problem, especially room 111. I believe the hotel will fix the problem soon. It is also quite near to the Jonker street, which is about 5 mins away. Overall, it is worth for value as a budget hotel.

Room Tip: make sure no roof leaking problem for room 111 if you stay there.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gladyscha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We discovered Hotel Hong as a last minute solution to an unexpected visit to Melaka and what a find! New, located just a stone's throw away from the historic centre, with nice, clean and fairly spacious rooms. The upstairs terrace overlooking the old town, with loungers and sofa with a big flat-screen tv was a nice little bonus. We were greeted with the offer of freshly made coffee and tea and very yummy curry puffs.
One of the owners, Mr. T, offered to drive us to where we wanted to go and took us to a very popular local spot for satay celup, the local Melakan delicacy meal, and also to the local mall, where we did our last minute shopping, even picking us up later and driving back to the hotel. All out of sheer friendliness and expecting nothing in return, which was very admirable and welcome on our part. His wife did us a great favour when she was willing to drive us to the local bus station at 5am in the morning so we could catch a very early bus to the KL airport, which otherwise we would have no chance of catching. Overall, this place has got heart and soul and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to experience a bit of local hospitality in a nice quiet, relaxed setting, not far from all the nice UNESCO sites.

Room Tip: all the rooms seem to be similar, perhaps the one at the very end for the most light...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Extremely clean. Room was tiny but perfectly formed and very new. Staff were particularly friendly and helpful and really made our stay. Good budget option for those who don't want to share a bathroom with the rest of Melaka.

Negatives: Noise from the communal area carried at night. Although well equipped, really only suitable for a one or two nights stay. Be aware the don't service the room during your stay.

Room Tip: Our room was at the corner and only had a tiny window, the others along the corridor had bigger windows.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelWriterSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

The Hong Hotel is located at the northern end of the historic Chinatown area, a block from the Melaka River. There aren't many dining options immediately nearby unless you like dubious stall food (hint: watch how they clean the dishes), but you can walk a couple of blocks to Jonker Street area. About the hotel: the reviews are correct, the staff are great, welcoming and friendly. Tea and Coffee and a hot/chilled water dispenser and free WiFi await. The hotel occupies the entire 1st floor of a traditional shophouse, which means it is long and narrow. You must walk up a staircase to the entry foyer, which isn't a foyer at all but a long hallway, on one side of which is the reception desk (and it is literally a desk) and a sofa and a toilet (enclosed). On the other side are all the rooms. They are small and clean. With a small bathroom containing sink, toilet and a hand shower (beware: the bathroom is the shower, so when showering, entire bathroom will get wet). Rooms have individual AC units. And ceiling fans. The front and back rooms have windows to outside, but these are half glass, with bottom part wooden shutters open to the air (caution: mosquitoes come in!). This makes it noisy. The back room benefits from an early wake up call - a 530am rooster from a neighboring Kampung house. The front is noisy from street, although the street itself isn't that busy. You will hear your neighbors open and shut their doors, use the water etc. The nice roof deck has chairs, table, is open to air. Parking available next door in a gravel lot. I hesitate to call this a hotel in the classic sense. I don't recommend this place for those seeking privacy (the front desk can see everyone entering and leaving their room), romantic stay, comforts of a traditional hotel, a lobby. It's also not for older persons who don't like stairs or those with mobility issues. Who's it good for: travelers who want to meet others, younger couples, other couples who want to "rough it", young friends traveling together, single backpacker types wanting a nice accommodation. I hope this is helpful in clarifying what the Hong Hotel is, and what it is not.

Room Tip: End rooms will be noisy from street and rear. Middle rooms will be noisy from entryway and reception desk. Take your pick!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bcbg68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews