We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little hotel!”
Review of Hotel Hong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Hong
Ranked #3 of 222 Melaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2012

When searching the listings (admittedly hurriedly) Hotel Hong was one of the very few in the price range that offers rooms with their own toilet/shower room. The close location to the Jonker Walk area and the free parking on offer were also plus points,so we booked!

On arrival, the exterior isn't particularly impressive. The hotel is on the first floor above a small wholesale warehouse. The street is mostly commercial, and for Malacca fairly quiet.

Once inside, any misgivings are dispelled by the friendly informal welcome and the sight of the spotlessly clean rooms and facilities. From then on the experience is most pleasant. The beds are as comfy as 4/5 star hotels. The shower pressure is invigorating to say the least! (It is adjustable though!). The window blinds are so effective that it is easy to sleep in if you don't set an alarm.
The roof terrace is a real bonus, and a pleasant place to spend a little time. You can see across the quaint roof top scenery down a little lane, right to the entrance of the Cheng Temple.

The staff are all wonderfully friendly and cheerful and happy to offer advice on
the locality. There is a definite family atmosphere. The tea and coffee making facilities are out in the reception corridor area which to some will seem an inconvenience, but it actually usually turns into a social occasion with interaction with the staff and other guests. When we were there, there were also tcomplimentary bananas for the taking.

The location is great! A very short walk to the Jonker Walk area with all the interesting shops, temples, mosques, museums,eateries etc etc. You can also walk across the river to the numerous other attractions.

To conclude, for the price this little place would be hard to beat, and if they can maintain the high standards we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: As it is a small hotel, conversations do tend to travel from the reception area. If you can get one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smifnsmif2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 247 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2012

It's near to Jonker Walk. Location is good. It's new, clean, though the rooms are small & basic.

I really liked the roof top living area with big flat screen TV :) complete with nice sofa & even dining tables/chairs to eat & chill out. Free flow coffee, coffee & filtered water. The staff, and boss were very friendly & helpful in telling you where to eat :P

Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Book early. Weekend are always fully booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b14w4k42p41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Pros:
Location is definitely a big plus! You are just less than 5 mins walk away from jonker walk, Where nice foods and night market is! The hotel has a carpark just next to it and you park for free ... or rather for the price of a car-wash! haha, the birds there like to spit on my car!
The staffs are very friendly and helpful. The room is very clean and in tip top condition. Comes with DVD player and flat screen tv! Air-con + ceiling fan makes it a cool stay.
Pricing is very competitive!

Cons:
Room size is a bit small, I had a triple sharing, a queen size + a single and there is not much room left for walking. Travelled with wife and my 2 toddlers ... so was not too bad. 3 adults would have been squeezy. But I seen pictures of other rooms that seems larger ...
Lack of shelves for put toiletries.
If you are into shopping centres, this location is a bit far from the 2 large shopping complex, nonetheless, everything is walking distance.

Conclusion:
worth the price tag. Malacca is also a nice place for a short visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoseidonLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I'm enjoy my peaceful & relaxing holiday stay in hotel hong. worker & lady boss was kind & nice. Location near jonker st, easy to get nice foods. If you are driving a car, don't be worry. they have a car park for your car.

Room Tip: room have window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dickie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Melilimelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Dominique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
14
Reviewed June 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Puri
Hotel Puri
#11 of 168 in Melaka
1,235 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
Sunflower Hotel Malacca
#35 of 168 in Melaka
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard @ Heeren Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Settlement Hotel
The Settlement Hotel
#3 of 168 in Melaka
653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Layang Layang Guest House
0.3 mi away
Wayfarer Guest House
Wayfarer Guest House
#6 of 222 in Melaka
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hong

Address: 7B Jalan Masjid | Kampung Hulu, Melaka 75300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 222 B&Bs / Inns in Melaka
Price Range: $16 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Hong 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Hong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing