We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad compared to last time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wana Riverside Hotel
Ranked #110 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The hotel was under BEST WESTERN previously and I realised that it has changed. It was really good when the hotel operated under BEST WESTERN but now, I'm really disappointed with the room especially cleanliness. They don't even clean the toilet bowl ! Yellowish spots everywhere ! Oh my god. Frankly speaking, I thought it was the best hotel in Melaka and it had great potential to be the best in Malaysia ! Unfortunately, it's totally different story now. No more WANA RIVERSIDE for me. Not even once.

Room Tip: Nothing to shout about. Major disappointment. Wouldn't recommend anybody here. Sorry to say that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samuelang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 268 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2014

i stay 2 nights in this hotel, the location is beside the river but too far from jongker street,
the lobby is average,but the room is very bad, we cannot adjust the aircon, also the tecnician says that all aircon in this hotel cannot be adjusted! , we move to another room ( after a hard complaining with the manager) but still the same, breakfast is average, the worst thing is the hotel service and the room

Room Tip: all aircond in all room cannot adjusted
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimmy_stef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Overall, the hotel is very,very basic. The room is nothing to shout about and the view (although i requested for a river view) was dismal as the window was a small odd-sized one, although it offered a somewhat unsatisfying view. Air-con doesn't work (thermostat set at 30 degrees still feels like 18). Additional towels were charged at RM10 each (although when i booked the room,i did indicate 2 adults and a child without bed). Breakfast was passable. Redeeming factor was its proximity to Jonker street. Aside from that, nothing great. Go for this only if you have no intention to stay in the room except to sleep and bathe and try to get a good price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zaszon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Really enjoyed our stay at the Riverside hotel. Its a 10/15min walk from Jonker st and all the action, a peaceful walk along the riverside which is interesting in itself. The staff were helpful and friendly and the room was clean and everything worked. Great views in the riverside rooms. Breakfast was great - lots of choices including a steamboat and currys as well as nasi lemak etc, toast, fruits, all drinks and best of all the omelette chef. Combined with location, good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cat-Nature-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

The room is big and comfortable. The river view is nice. Able to enjoy the firework of 2014. Location is good and near to Jonker street. A bit dusty at drawer n hidden place. Food normal with less varity. Having bad experience during check-in. A few staff no smiling face - reception and chef. Some are friendly.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Chee Wei S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

so after reading other reviews about the cleanliness of the hotel I was skeptical. the hotel facade and its surrounding is nice and its right on the river. got 2 riverside view rooms and was pleased with them. clean towels and decent fittings etc. only thing I could fault was the shower which was a bit grimy. riverside views are nice room and with good views. once we left our room we tried to re-enter using the RIF card but we could not enter, turns out we were given a room in which the lock was not working so our stuff was stuck inside, approached reception and was given another room promptly once they got into our room so we could remove our belongings. given that I think they knew there was problems with that room lock we should have never been given it in the first place. the breakfast spread was adequate for a 3 star hotel consisting of fried eggs to order, bread, jams. make your own noodles, juice, noodles curry etc. given the price we paid we were satisfied with the hotel, it was a bout a 7min walk to jonker st were all the action happens on a friday, saturday and sunday. walking along the river was nice too.

Room Tip: stay on the 6th floor and up for good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arcade_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Got the room on the spot.

Pros
- good and friendly service
- fast checkin and checkout
- room faces the river and city area (nice)
- room comes with king sized bed
- with breakfast
- good location (use side door, walk the boardwalk, cross the first bridge. Turn left, walk for few hundred meters, cross opposite, walk thru a lane where there is this Hello Kitty lookalike cafe and Jonker st is right ahead. Route is much shorter than what the hotel advised; to use the third bridge)
- basement carpark with 24hr security guards (office @ B1)

Cons
- felt we paid a bit on the high side for the room we stayed (MYR210). Wonder if its rack rate or holiday rate?
- a big corner of the room was empty with nothing installed
- does not provide slippers, safe box
- needs to request for hair dryer, toothbrush etc
- carpet felt sticky when barefooted
- used shampoo, body wash found in the shower area
- bottom of the bathroom door is tearing
- limited tv channels
- have to turn the shower for few mins before there is hot water (advised by the operator)

Conclusion
It's a pity that despite the friendly services from the front desk and the good location, it seems that the room/ hotel is in need of renovation or upgrading.

It is glad to know that the hotel emphasizes and places manpower to take care of security issues such as minding the cars.. However, the hotel should take extra caution about its side staircase (leads to side road) which is accessible to all levels and the lifts which are not security aided. As there is no safe in the room, guests need to make sure they doublelocked the door or bring any valuables out if they are not in the room.

Overall, I would say if the room looks more inviting, i will come back for another short stay. After all, a goodnight sleep and an enjoyable holiday is what every holiday maker is looking for. : )

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clara81Singapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
906 Riverside Hotel
906 Riverside Hotel
#44 of 168 in Melaka
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
7 Days Premium
7 Days Premium
#79 of 168 in Melaka
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
Emperor Hotel Malacca
Emperor Hotel Malacca
#108 of 168 in Melaka
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
1.0 mi away
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
Eco Tree Hotel Melaka
#39 of 168 in Melaka
194 reviews
0.8 mi away
ND Hotel
ND Hotel
#50 of 168 in Melaka
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wana Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wana Riverside Hotel

Address: No. 2 Jalan Munshi Abdullah, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $24 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wana Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wana Riverside Hotel is centrally located by the Melaka River in the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage Site, a title bestowed in July 2008. Rich in history, culture and diverse cuisine, Melaka which dates back to the 1400's, is a melting pot of Malay, Chinese, Indian and European influences that reflects the essence of modern Malaysia. Melaka is truly unique in what it has to offer and whether it is for business or pleasure, the Wana Riverside Hotel is central to an enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wana Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing