We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice river view hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wana Riverside Hotel
Ranked #105 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice river view hotel”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our friend recommended this hotel to us. And we were not disappointed at all. The check-in was quick and smooth, the hotel staff very friendly. We received complimentary internet access as well. We requested a river view room, which we got. The room is a bit small, but that doesn't bother us. It is clean and comfortable. Breakfast was ok. We would have loved to have more varieties, but being the beginning of Ramadhan, we were told not expect too much. All in all we enjoyed our 2 days in Melaka.

Room Tip: Definitely request a river view room. The view of the river at night was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sayang98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    78
    91
    41
    35
See reviews for
87
85
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stayed 2 nights with my family members with total of 21 ROOMS. Very bad impression during my check in. Staff was very arrogant which they are not suppose to have that attitude as a front liner. Given a room, 729. Please do not stay at this room. It is just a few step to the staff room. Right opposite my room. They will stare at you every time you go out. I really dont feel comfortable. The security staff has worst attitude, he scream at me and my sister for taking the trolley without informing him. I dont see any security so i just take the trolley to put all my things to my room. Feel like want to scream back at him but lucky my sister stopped me from doing that. That was very RUDE !! Lucky i dont get his name !!
Carpet is dirty and old. Its not a Best Western standard.
Location is near to the attractions with the Melaka River Cruise view and it was really a amazing view. Cant sleep because of the noisy surrounding from the 2 karaoke spot near the hotel. They will only stop singing at 3AM !!! This is actually beyond the hotel control but still the Malacca government should do something about this matter.
Worst thing when one of my sister left her watch worth USD300 at her room during check out and the housekeeping said there's nothing at the room :-(
Check out time is another challenge for me...when i have to wait for almost one hour to get back my deposit. It is because there's ONLY 1 STAFF incharged at the reception during the peak hours.
I actually read the trip advisor before i book a hotel...i saw a lot of bad things happen at this hotel and now i experienced it !!! Good Job Best Western Wana Riverside Malacca !!!

Room Tip: Dont stay at room 729.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuTLMTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melaka hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My roommates and I, three person shared a room for 3 days. As it only has two single beds, we had to have the staff bring in an additional bed. That additional bed was hard and noisy and very uncomfortable to sleep in, in addition to that the air conditioning in that room was VERY POOR, it took more than 40 minutes to produce that miserable amount of cool air. What's even ridiculous is that the cable of the water boiler was so short we had to use the dustbin to act as a platform to reach the power point!
We were also promised wifi connectivity in our room yet not a single of our devices could detect any wifi except when we're in our friend's room which was nearer to the lift lobby. The bathroom was a major disappointment as well; the toilet had a loud flushing noise, the tap water wasn't clean (brown-yellowish liquid!) and there's sharp pointy needle-like stuff at the edge of the carpet leading towards the bathroom which I got stabbed a few times on my feet that I ended up wearing slippers while walking in and out of it. Thank goodness I've had spent most of my itinerary exploring the city and not cooped in this hell hole for most of the day. Overall, if I ever chose to come back to Malacca, I won't and never would choose this hotel to stay in again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheryl Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

PRONS: The room was average. relaxing atmosphere, friendly staff and the breakfast was good. the check in and check out was fast, the location of the hotel is beside the river so if your looking for a river cruise you can buy it in the reception counter itself. walking distance from the tourist spots like Jonker Street (10 to 15mins walk via river walkway).
CONS: Scratch every way at the corridor of the rooms. Lacks of maintenance. The internet connection not available in the room. Very bad WIFI connection at lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing Melaka city center views / Menara Taming Sari view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taycp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2013

10-min walk to the nearest sights. The beds were comfortable but the bedsheets were stained.Staff was helpful and recommended good places to visit and dine. It was lovely to get a table by the window with nice view of the river for breakfast. Wifi was available in the lobby and the room, though a bit slow.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Booked this hotel via Booking.com. My first thought when I saw the room: BIG disappointment. The room had a moldy smell to start with. The sheets had tears and holes on parts of it. There was no safety deposit box in the room. And the advertised free wifi was only true for the lobby. The reception personnel said there was poor wi-fi connections in the rooms. Poor was an understatement. There was no wi-fi at all.

Some of the staff were also rude.

The Riverside Cafe on the ground floor did not have a lot of choices. And there were a lot of flies in the cafe which was really annoying as we cannot even eat in peace. And the staff never even bothered to do anything about it. Breakfast spread was also very limited.

The only good thing about the hotel is it's location. Not the best, but the river cruise does stop outside the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GIAJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

There's nothing to complain about the hotel. The check-in was swift. We asked for a higher floor and the lovely receptionist obliged and gave us a room at the seventh floor with an awesome view of the Malacca River. The room was average with sufficient necessities. It is also quite centrally located- just about 10 to 15 minutes walk to Jonker by the river.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors, with river view. You'll have a scenic view of Malacca city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizardqueen57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
906 Riverside Hotel
906 Riverside Hotel
#34 of 166 in Melaka
90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seri Costa Hotel-Resort
Seri Costa Hotel-Resort
#61 of 166 in Melaka
111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sentral Riverview Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hallmark Inn
Hotel Hallmark Inn
#96 of 166 in Melaka
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#33 of 166 in Melaka
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sentral Melaka
Hotel Sentral Melaka
#89 of 166 in Melaka
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wana Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wana Riverside Hotel

Property: Wana Riverside Hotel
Address: No. 2 Jalan Munshi Abdullah, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 166 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wana Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wana Riverside Hotel is centrally located by the Melaka River in the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage Site, a title bestowed in July 2008. Rich in history, culture and diverse cuisine, Melaka which dates back to the 1400's, is a melting pot of Malay, Chinese, Indian and European influences that reflects the essence of modern Malaysia. Melaka is truly unique in what it has to offer and whether it is for business or pleasure, the Wana Riverside Hotel is central to an enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Wana Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing