We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, nothing to shout about hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wana Riverside Hotel
Ranked #104 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, nothing to shout about hotel”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel is located right along the Melaka River and has its own river cruise pick-ups at 10am, 3pm and 8pm, but be sure to book your tickets early at the hotel reception. It's also convenient to walk along the river banks to get to the main historical areas of Stadthuys and Jonker Street. It'll probably take about 20 mins. The hotel room was just OK although it must be said that lightings and plumbing did all work. However, the aircon control didn't seem to work as it was pretty chilly whether at 10 or 25 and worse still they don't have blankets for extra beddings - they will send you several bedsheets instead. Get the higher river facing rooms and you'll get a free view of the fireworks that are set off after the sound and lights show at the Padang Pahlawan, and if you're lucky, you'll be able to catch large cruise ships entering the Straits of Melaka. The breakfast buffet was nothing to shout about by Malaysian standards, though they did have fresh milk and low fat milk for cereals (honey stars, coco crunch and corn flakes). Instead I would suggest that you walk out to the main road, turn right and look for an Indian banana leave restaurant, a few doors away that serves awesome thosai and roti canai with what my kids called "grandma's fish curry" and great teh tarik (pulling tea - a must have when in Malaysia) and local coffee.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSinKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    78
    88
    40
    35
See reviews for
87
84
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
176 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Nothing to complain about, but the standard is a bit lower than the usual Best Western standard (the price as well, to be honest). However, it is fairly clean and at walking distance from the main attractions; breakfast matches the usual BW standard.

Room Tip: The riverside rooms are (just a bit) more expensive but more quiet than the other rooms, which are m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgialdini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru District, Malaysia
Level Contributor
224 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 348 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend break from JB. Hotel position is really good with great views of the river and Jonka Street in the distance. Check in was very good, albeit no porter to take you bags to your room. Rooms are a little bit tired and sparce , could do with sprucing up and perhaps have a picture or two of Melaka on the walls. Bathroom was adequate with all the necessary toiletries. Breakfast on our 1st night was good, fair selection of both western and oriental food. However the same could not be said for our 2nd night. We had to leave early for a flight to catch, so we needed breakfast early. Room literature states that breakfast starts at 6.30am. We arrived at 6.40 to find nothing had been set up. No tea, coffee, juice, toast, eggs etc. Not impressed. Took this issue up at check in and was told to email the manager. I have since emailed Best Western Directly and 8 days later have still not received a response. It's a shame, good hotel, good location but with very poor customer relations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Had the opportunity to stay here recently for a quick family get-away over the weekend. Found a great deal on Booking.com and went ahead with the reservations.

The hotel was not that difficult to find, seeing that we drove from Kuala Lumpur entering Melaka without a map nor GPS. We just headed towards 'Pusat Bandar' and used our instincts - look for rivers...The hotel has its own underground parking bay with ample parking space (or maybe it was low peak when we stayed). Unfortunately, there seemed to be no direct access to lobby from parking, so we had to drag our bags up the ramp (watch out for incoming/exiting vehicles!) to the lobby entrance.

First impression? Bare and cold. As we entered the doors, I noticed the small empty lobby. To our left there was a small counter marked 'Concierge' with two gentlemen in uniform there, who merely acknowledged our entrance with a quick glance - who then continued with their discussion in what seemed to be a shift hand-over. No assistance for luggage. Luckily we travelled considerably light.

The check-in was smooth with minimal eye contact by the receptionist who also seemed to be doing his shift take-over from the other staff while checking us in. We then got our keys hassle-free and were directed to the lifts accordingly.

The room we got had a bit of the river view and more of the city (the Pirate Park and Ferris wheel view) despite us not booking the River view rooms, which was ok for us. Quite spacious with a huge queen sized bed. Comfortable and just nice for a family of four.

The hotel is definitely located by the river and you can have a nice stroll towards all the attractions in town accompanied by the beautifully painted murals on the old, or rather ancient shoplots and B&Bs lining the river. Definitely a MUST-DO. The hotel also has arrangements with the River Cruise management where they organize special pick-ups from the hotel for the 45 minute river cruise at 3-times a day at quite an affordable price per person. We took the 8pm session and the boat arrived on time and we had fun.

Food-wise, we enjoyed the 'Thai Promo' that was advertised almost everywhere in the hotel and it was indeed good and greatly affordable. Compliments to the chef! The only downside was that at 8.45pm by the time we finished the cruise, we were told that the buffet had ended, or rather there was not enough food replenishment on the line - hence we opted for the Thai Promo. The 2 Breakfast buffets we had were also good and we noticed there was difference in menu for both days.

Service: There were indeed smiles everywhere and the staff were efficient - but as guests, we noticed that the hotel seemed to be quite under-staffed -especially in the Restaurant area. There were only 2 visible staff covering the dining area at breakfast, one seemed to be the manager and the other a staff in a chef uniform. Also noticeable was the other young chef manning the egg counter/cooking area who seemed to be more interested in his mobile phone then listening to guests requesting for lesser oil in our fried eggs...

The kids were quite disappointed though, that the hotel had no swimming pool, but I heard this will all be added on soon.

Will I be staying here again? I would say yes - if I can still get the same price I was quoted for and also because of it's strategic location. If I wanted service, I'd look elsewhere and pay more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boo_tofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
359 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked 7 rooms for a large group of friends. Booking was done over the phone and was quite easy. The staff are helpful. Check-in was easy and fast, all required rooms were ready as we reached. Clean, fresh rooms, with great view of the river or city. Breakfast was adequate, everything else was perfect. Located along the famous river, which is very clean and nice to view at night. You can also catch the famed river cruise along the banks.

Room Tip: Riverview rooms are great, if you like to sit and watch
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tsashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us recently. It is with comments like these that we are able to improve our services.

We look forward to welcoming you again to BEST WESTERN Wana Riverside Hotel the next time you are in Melaka.

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 526 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The taxi desk at Melaka Sentral didn't know where this hotel was, nor did the taxi we took from the street; But - when we finally found it - the location of this hotel is actually very good: Right on the riverside, and around 15 minutes walk to Jonker Street and Hard Rock Cafe.

The bed was comfortable. The air-con was effective. A small refrigerator and kettle, a couple of sachets of coffee, and two bottles of drinking water, are provided.
There is a flat-screen TV in the room, though I don't know why they bothered as there are only 6 channels!

The bathroom was clean, and the water pressure and water temperature were good; Although the shower is over a bathtub with a fixed glass shower-screen, meaning there's not much room to manoeuvre.
The free toiletries provided were limited to a very tiny plastic bottle of shampoo,shower gel & body lotion. Not worth bothering with. There was no toothbrush or shower soap as is standard even in budget hotels these days. Luckily there is a supermarket nearby where these can be purchased.

Breakfast is certainly nothing to write home about - We've had better in budget hotels...Chicken sausages, baked beans, rice, noodles, one fruit item only, some bread, some bread & butter pudding (!?!!).. The breakfast area was noisy & overcrowded, and you have to walk to your table carrying a hot coffee whilst dodging dozens of uncontrolled kids running around! This really needs to be addressed.

We tried the restaurant food in the evening - steamboat - and it was actually very good food and good value; But people's kids were still being allowed to run around the restaurant at 10pm, thus spoiling any attempt for a couple to have some quiet/romantic time.

One thing we noticed is that - although this seems to be quite a new hotel (the signs outside still say 'now open'), it is becoming old extremely quickly... The walls of our room were stained and damaged, and the carpet in the room and hallway were very dirty and stained.

Another point of note is that previous reviewers had said that you can 'flag down' the river cruise boats that pass every couple of minutes... You can't!!!...
There are jetties all the way along the river, including one outside this hotel, with signs which also proclaim that you can wave down the boats and hop-on/off. However, having spent around an hour waving at boats like idiots, we were told by a local that this was no longer the case and that you had to walk (25 mins) to the ticket counter.

Taxis in Melaka are not metered, so be careful! We were quoted 20RM, 15RM and 10RM for the same journey between here and the bus station, which is actually quite near as Melaka is quite a small place.... In hindsight, I'm not sure if the drivers were pretending not to know this hotel to see if I did!!

An good location, but basically a budget hotel charging full price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WorldBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us recently. It is with feedback like that that we are able to improve our services and facilities.

We will be in touch with the River Cruise people to re - confirm with them on the hop on / hop services that they have.

As for the taxi services, there is a premium taxi that works by the meter but not many are willing to use that taxi as the charges are higher. Hence we are eft with the normal budget taxis.

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel is situated on the edge of the river about a 15 minute walk from Junker Street and the tourist centre of Melaka.

The room I had was large by European standards and it and the en-suite was clean enough but it still felt drab and in need of something special. I was able to go for a 30 minute run each morning and the shower worked well. The fancy plug in the basin needed a helping hand in order to let the water away after a shave.

I ate breakfast in the restaurant for both mornings. Service starts at 7am. It is a free for all buffet style service and the staff didn't attempt to keep up with the table turn over - you find everything you need like cutlery and glasses as you track down your food. The later you leave getting to breakfast the more stained the table covers get.

The food ranges from cereals through to more local noodles and rice porridge. When in Rome ... was the motto I followed. I had to reject a few cups to use for coffee before I found one that wasn't stained or looking grubby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Modest-Stout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a comment about your stay with us recently. It is with positive comments like this that we are able to improve our services and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Wana Riverside Hotel on your next visit to Melaka.

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
906 Riverside Hotel
906 Riverside Hotel
#27 of 167 in Melaka
87 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seri Costa Hotel-Resort
Seri Costa Hotel-Resort
#86 of 167 in Melaka
107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sentral Riverview Melaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Prima Hotel Melaka
Prima Hotel Melaka
#111 of 167 in Melaka
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swiss Hotel Heritage Boutique Melaka
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hallmark Inn
Hotel Hallmark Inn
#99 of 167 in Melaka
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wana Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wana Riverside Hotel

Property: Wana Riverside Hotel
Address: No. 2 Jalan Munshi Abdullah, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 167 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wana Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wana Riverside Hotel is centrally located by the Melaka River in the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage Site, a title bestowed in July 2008. Rich in history, culture and diverse cuisine, Melaka which dates back to the 1400's, is a melting pot of Malay, Chinese, Indian and European influences that reflects the essence of modern Malaysia. Melaka is truly unique in what it has to offer and whether it is for business or pleasure, the Wana Riverside Hotel is central to an enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wana Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing