We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wana Riverside Hotel
Ranked #113 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

It all started great - I made the reservation (via booking.com) for the wrong date and realized it when free cancelation or change wasn't possible anymore. Nevertheless, when I contacted the hotel, my booking was changed without additional costs. We were even upgraded from the city view to a river view room. And the panorama was really nice.
Unfortunately, hotel is not the newest and some refreshment in the rooms is needed. The air condition and the fridge were pretty loudy. There are stains on the walls, furniture are rather old fashioned... Moreover the room wasn't as tidy as you would expect but from my experience that's normal in Asia.
On the other hand, the room was really spacious. And it is located only a walk from the main town attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caryca_Katarzyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your comments on your recent stay with us. It is with constructive feedback like this that we are able to improve our services and facilities.

Please note that your comments are being looked into for improvements.

Once again thank you

Bes regards

Ravi Firdaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 268 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

The hotel is located 10 minutes walk along the riverside to christchurch. From here, all tourist attractions are closeby. Except for one dead cockroach, the room was excellent. Shower area is slightly cramped. Toiletries were provided.The ac made noise without seeming to work initially but later became quiet and was working fine after some time.The paintwork in the hallway area of the 8th floor was peeling off and didnt give a good initial impression. We specifically booked two non-smoking rooms but were given only one(we checked in at 2 am) which was disappointing. I would expect them to be allocated as i had paid in advance and my check-in time shouldnt make a difference. breakfast was fairly good. one of the lockers was locked and no one was sent to fix it.we availed their travel services for our transfer to KL. Little on the expensive side but assured service(timely, friendly and helpful).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ixigo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your comments about your stay with us recently.

It is with this constructive feedback that we are able to improve our services and facilities for our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again to BEST WESTERN Wana Riverside Hotel, Melaka on your next visit here.

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

The condition of the room was so unpleasant.the curtain in 1of the room was not hung properly.bed lining was not properly placed.the fridge was not working tat well.even the safebox in the room was locked.How am i supposed to place my valueable if it is lock.some room uses old tv set while some rooms use flat screen tv.can it be standardise in all room to use flat screen tv?now im like 50/50 to come back...

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vogui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us recently.

We have taken note of your concern and will be looking at making the necessary improvements in due time.

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The hotel along the Malacca riveside. It's nice during the evening and convenience access to the nearby happening places. There are 3 schedules of the river cruise by the hotel jetty, Great!
Room was clean and quiet, we stayed at the 7th floor with the river view. Marvelous view of Malacca town from the room!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robojsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your stay with us recently.

I am glad to note that you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family again to BEST WESTERN Wana Riverside Hotel, Melaka on your next trip here.

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with family in 2 rooms.

Good points
- Just 10-15min walk to Jonker along the Malacca River (across 2nd bridge) -> scenic view too with mural paintings on buildings that line the River
- Clean and spacious rooms
- Some breakfast items are changed daily
- Cheap local supermarket within walking distance from hotel and another across 1st bridge
- Food stalls line the street opposite the car park at night - but we didn't get to try them but they look crowded with locals
- Short walk to Madam Kings dept store (and the yummy-and-not-to-be-missed non-halal Popiah stall outside Mdm Kings!)
- Musical fountain just at entrance of hotel car park..nice open space area to enjoy the night view for free
- Safe, ironing board, hairdryer provided in rooms

Areas to improve
- Poor maintenance of room - we had leaking ceiling just outside the toilet of one of the rooms and another room, door could be opened from outside though it was locked (faulty lock)
-Inconsistency of room key vs sensor card - card is also used for power supply (modern vs traditional)
- No one to find table for guests at breakfast - find your own table and guess if it has been taken. Avoid early breakfast if there're school groups else be prepared to wait longer for food to be replenished.
- no bedroom slippers provided -> BYO if you don't like stepping on carpeted floor

Other comments
- It seems like this is the hotel of choice for school trips for overseas students -> we met 2 big groups on the days we were there. So, book early during school holidays season to avoid disappointment.

Room Tip: - Avoid top floor (9th floor) especially on hot days - air conditioner takes a long time to cool dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piggie_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for givig us your feedback on your stay with us recently.

Thank you for highlighting both our good and not so so good points during your stay here. The school holidays for both Malaysia and Singapore is when the groups travel and stay with us.
As for the room defects, we are in the process of repairing these issues. As for the locksets issue, we are in the process of sourcing for a new vendor and will be chaing all the locksets in due course.

We do hope you will consider us again for your stay on your next visit to Melaka.

Thank you and best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here dec 2012 whilst on our 5 month trip away, lovely hotel in a great location on the river and only a 10 minute walk to the centre of Melaka. The one big complaint is that we were on the highest floor that was open and the floor above had building work taking place all through the night. After complaining many times to reception via the phone they assured us there was no work being done, however at 2 in the morning we had enough so we took the lift up to the next floor to see a hallway door that was locked and the workmen making noise behind it. In the morning we told the receptionist we were not happy but we had already paid for the room and he assured us that the manager would contact us by e-mail and the money would be refunded but after 2 months now it still has not been returned to our account and we have heard nothing from the manager. So our advice is make sure you are on a lower floor and you will then love this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouthamptonTerry1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Checkin was smooth (booked through Agoda). Nice, clean rooms, and the hotel is located just outside Chinatown and Jonker Street (about 10 minute walk). Breakfast was good, so was the free wifi.No shuttle to and from Melaka Central, but the folks in the reception helped arrange a metered cab. There is a "Heritage Tax" in addition to what you've already paid, which you are made aware of on check out :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Mr. Sanjay,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us recently.

I am pleased to note that you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again to BEST WESTERn Wana Riverside Hotel, Melaka soon.

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
906 Riverside Hotel
906 Riverside Hotel
#53 of 169 in Melaka
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#48 of 169 in Melaka
159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avillion Legacy Melaka
Avillion Legacy Melaka
#112 of 169 in Melaka
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
RC Hotel
RC Hotel
#24 of 169 in Melaka
114 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kings Green Hotel
Kings Green Hotel
#26 of 169 in Melaka
175 reviews
1 mi away
Midcity Hotel Melaka
Midcity Hotel Melaka
#97 of 169 in Melaka
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wana Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wana Riverside Hotel

Address: No. 2 Jalan Munshi Abdullah, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 169 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $73 - $703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wana Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wana Riverside Hotel is centrally located by the Melaka River in the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage Site, a title bestowed in July 2008. Rich in history, culture and diverse cuisine, Melaka which dates back to the 1400's, is a melting pot of Malay, Chinese, Indian and European influences that reflects the essence of modern Malaysia. Melaka is truly unique in what it has to offer and whether it is for business or pleasure, the Wana Riverside Hotel is central to an enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wana Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing