We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strategic location at Malacca”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wana Riverside Hotel
Ranked #112 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The hotel along the Malacca riveside. It's nice during the evening and convenience access to the nearby happening places. There are 3 schedules of the river cruise by the hotel jetty, Great!
Room was clean and quiet, we stayed at the 7th floor with the river view. Marvelous view of Malacca town from the room!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robojsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your stay with us recently.

I am glad to note that you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family again to BEST WESTERN Wana Riverside Hotel, Melaka on your next trip here.

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 268 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with family in 2 rooms.

Good points
- Just 10-15min walk to Jonker along the Malacca River (across 2nd bridge) -> scenic view too with mural paintings on buildings that line the River
- Clean and spacious rooms
- Some breakfast items are changed daily
- Cheap local supermarket within walking distance from hotel and another across 1st bridge
- Food stalls line the street opposite the car park at night - but we didn't get to try them but they look crowded with locals
- Short walk to Madam Kings dept store (and the yummy-and-not-to-be-missed non-halal Popiah stall outside Mdm Kings!)
- Musical fountain just at entrance of hotel car park..nice open space area to enjoy the night view for free
- Safe, ironing board, hairdryer provided in rooms

Areas to improve
- Poor maintenance of room - we had leaking ceiling just outside the toilet of one of the rooms and another room, door could be opened from outside though it was locked (faulty lock)
-Inconsistency of room key vs sensor card - card is also used for power supply (modern vs traditional)
- No one to find table for guests at breakfast - find your own table and guess if it has been taken. Avoid early breakfast if there're school groups else be prepared to wait longer for food to be replenished.
- no bedroom slippers provided -> BYO if you don't like stepping on carpeted floor

Other comments
- It seems like this is the hotel of choice for school trips for overseas students -> we met 2 big groups on the days we were there. So, book early during school holidays season to avoid disappointment.

Room Tip: - Avoid top floor (9th floor) especially on hot days - air conditioner takes a long time to cool dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piggie_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for givig us your feedback on your stay with us recently.

Thank you for highlighting both our good and not so so good points during your stay here. The school holidays for both Malaysia and Singapore is when the groups travel and stay with us.
As for the room defects, we are in the process of repairing these issues. As for the locksets issue, we are in the process of sourcing for a new vendor and will be chaing all the locksets in due course.

We do hope you will consider us again for your stay on your next visit to Melaka.

Thank you and best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed here dec 2012 whilst on our 5 month trip away, lovely hotel in a great location on the river and only a 10 minute walk to the centre of Melaka. The one big complaint is that we were on the highest floor that was open and the floor above had building work taking place all through the night. After complaining many times to reception via the phone they assured us there was no work being done, however at 2 in the morning we had enough so we took the lift up to the next floor to see a hallway door that was locked and the workmen making noise behind it. In the morning we told the receptionist we were not happy but we had already paid for the room and he assured us that the manager would contact us by e-mail and the money would be refunded but after 2 months now it still has not been returned to our account and we have heard nothing from the manager. So our advice is make sure you are on a lower floor and you will then love this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SouthamptonTerry1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Checkin was smooth (booked through Agoda). Nice, clean rooms, and the hotel is located just outside Chinatown and Jonker Street (about 10 minute walk). Breakfast was good, so was the free wifi.No shuttle to and from Melaka Central, but the folks in the reception helped arrange a metered cab. There is a "Heritage Tax" in addition to what you've already paid, which you are made aware of on check out :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Mr. Sanjay,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us recently.

I am pleased to note that you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again to BEST WESTERn Wana Riverside Hotel, Melaka soon.

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Well priced, large rooms with a view. Utilitarian, but what one would expect for the price. Has everything needed. On the river so you can walk along peacefully and not overwhelmed by traffic noise and unrelenting heat.

Room Tip: Facing east is best, but 1/2 rooms do. So you might be challenged. Definitely choose a higher room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelW49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you ver much for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback on your stay with us recently.

My team and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please do come back soon and we look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Wana Riverside Hotel Melaka

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus, Mr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

The room is clean and big enough . Staffs are friendly and the breakfast was ok . Good wifi speed . Recommend !
The air-cond is abit noisy as it needs to warm up . That's the weirdest thing I've seen in a hotel .

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Samuelang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Mr. Ang,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback on your stay with us recently.

I am glad to note that you enjoyed your stay with us except for the noisy air - con.

We will look into this and see that it is rectified. It is with positive feedback like that that we are able to imporve our services to serve you better.

Meanwhile, we look forward to welcoming you back to BEST WESTERN Wana Riverside Hotel on your next visit to Melaka.

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus, Mr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel is good, generally it is clean, and very easy to walk to jonker. It has nice view of the city and next to the river. Breakfast and free wifi is excellent. We got our request to have double bed for each room, and it is next to each other. However when we checked in, one of the room has strong smoke smell, it seems like the previous stayer smoke alot, eventhough it is a Non-Smoking floor. I don't have time to make a complain as it was late night, and thus just open the window to get fresh air, it helps a bit only. During that time, there was also loud music from outside, which only stops after midnight. It disrupts my family's sleep time. For the price that was paid, i think this is a not so great deal after all.

Room Tip: Choose room with River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ferry_mulyadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWWanaRiverside, General Manager at Wana Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Mr. Mulyadi,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay with us recently.

My apologies on the cigarette smell in your room as though we have designated Non - Smoking floors but sometimes we do have cases of guests smoking in their rooms. As for the external music, we have been informing the operator to lower down the volume of the misuc but as it is not in the premises of the hotel, we cannot force them to stop the music.

I do sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us on your next visit to Melaka and we will do our best to allocate you a room far away from the external music.

Thank you and best regards

Ravi Firdaus
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melaka hotels
0.1 mi away
906 Riverside Hotel
906 Riverside Hotel
#54 of 168 in Melaka
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mimosa Hotel
Mimosa Hotel
#48 of 168 in Melaka
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
RC Hotel
RC Hotel
#23 of 168 in Melaka
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Avillion Legacy Melaka
Avillion Legacy Melaka
#111 of 168 in Melaka
277 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kings Green Hotel
Kings Green Hotel
#27 of 168 in Melaka
175 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fenix Inn
Fenix Inn
#24 of 168 in Melaka
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wana Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wana Riverside Hotel

Address: No. 2 Jalan Munshi Abdullah, Melaka 75100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Melaka State > Central Melaka District > Melaka
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 168 Hotels in Melaka
Price Range: $73 - $703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wana Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wana Riverside Hotel is centrally located by the Melaka River in the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage Site, a title bestowed in July 2008. Rich in history, culture and diverse cuisine, Melaka which dates back to the 1400's, is a melting pot of Malay, Chinese, Indian and European influences that reflects the essence of modern Malaysia. Melaka is truly unique in what it has to offer and whether it is for business or pleasure, the Wana Riverside Hotel is central to an enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wana Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing